TEXAS PACIFIC LAND TRUST

EDGAR

110 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1995-05-08 to 2020-11-05. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

74.4 million USD

2020 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

76.29%

2020 Q3 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 56748000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 74383000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

60.6 million USD

2020 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 161449000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 100833000 USD Source

Free cash flow

60.3 million USD

2020 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 161449000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 100833000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 353000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
316 million USD Source
Exact value

315759000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
7.76 million shares Source
Exact value

7756156 shares

Reported share-count change

0.00% · 0 shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 7756156 shares · 2019-09-30· Source
  • 7756156 shares · 2020-09-30· Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2020-11-05.

Financial data available through: 2019-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Operating income: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Net income: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Total assets: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • current assets: No compatible figures in this window
  • current liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • Shares outstanding: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +63.4%

    Prior period

    USD 300.22 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 490.5 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    490496000 − 300220000 = 190276000 USD

    300220000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    490496000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +52%

    Prior period

    USD 209.74 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 318.73 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    318728000 − 209736000 = 108992000 USD

    209736000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    318728000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +75.4%

    Prior period

    USD 195.45 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 342.79 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    342790000 − 195448000 = 147342000 USD

    195448000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    342790000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -32.7%

    Prior period

    USD 47.88 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 32.21 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    32209000 − 47878000 = -15669000 USD

    47878000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    32209000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

  • Revenue USD 490.5 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 90.92 million 19% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 399.57 million 81% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 80.85 million 16% of revenue
  • Net income USD 318.73 million 65% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 342.79 million 70% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 32.21 million 6.6% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 310.58 million 63% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2009 53%24%24%
  • 2010 56%25%18%
  • 2011 60%30%10%
  • 2012 60%30%10%
  • 2013 62%29%9%
  • 2016 64%31%
  • 2017 63%31%
  • 2018 70%17%13%
  • 2019 65%16%19%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-3113084860 3093524 Derived 9991336 3077293 Derived 6914043 Unavailable
Source
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-3120065965 3667491 Derived 16398474 5089763 Derived 11308711 11668949 Derived
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-3134300508 3563118 Derived 30737390 10142621 Derived 20594769 23893947 Derived
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-3132587456 3284005 Derived 29303451 9655633 Derived 19647818 19861085 Derived
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-3144109074 3978501 Derived 40130573 12912065 Derived 27218508 30010744 Derived
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-3166109000 3198000 Derived 62911000 20636000 Derived 42275000 39980000 Derived
Source
2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31154634000 9687000 Derived 144947000 47716000 Derived 97231000 75083000 Derived
Source
2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31300220000 39386000 Derived 260834000 51098000 Derived 209736000 147570000 Derived
Source
2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31490496000 90923000 Derived 399573000 80845000 Derived 318728000 310581000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 490.5M 2019
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.529.7M397.3M264.9M132.4M0.0200920132019
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2009Revenue13084860
2010Revenue20065965
2011Revenue34300508
2012Revenue32587456
2013Revenue44109074
2016Revenue66109000
2017Revenue154634000
2018Revenue300220000
2019Revenue490496000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

63.4% 2019
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.145%105%64%24%-16%200920132019
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2010Year over year53.4%
2011Year over year70.9%
2012Year over year-5%
2013Year over year35.4%
2016Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2017Year over year133.9%
2018Year over year94.1%
2019Year over year63.4%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 81.5% 2019
Net margin 65% 2019
Free cash flow margin 63.3% 2019
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.103%77%51%26%0%200920132019
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009Operating margin76.4%
2010Operating margin81.7%
2011Operating margin89.6%
2012Operating margin89.9%
2013Operating margin91%
2016Operating margin95.2%
2017Operating margin93.7%
2018Operating margin86.9%
2019Operating margin81.5%
2009Net margin52.8%
2010Net margin56.4%
2011Net margin60%
2012Net margin60.3%
2013Net margin61.7%
2016Net margin63.9%
2017Net margin62.9%
2018Net margin69.9%
2019Net margin65%
2009Free cash flow marginNot reported
2010Free cash flow margin58.2%
2011Free cash flow margin69.7%
2012Free cash flow margin60.9%
2013Free cash flow margin68%
2016Free cash flow margin60.5%
2017Free cash flow margin48.6%
2018Free cash flow margin49.2%
2019Free cash flow margin63.3%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 342.8M 2019
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.370.2M277.7M185.1M92.6M0.0200920132019
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2009Operating cash flow9392938
2010Operating cash flow11696619
2011Operating cash flow23931208
2012Operating cash flow19911490
2013Operating cash flow30065354
2016Operating cash flow40957000
2017Operating cash flow93830000
2018Operating cash flow195448000
2019Operating cash flow342790000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 310.6M 2019
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.335.4M251.6M167.7M83.9M0.0200920132019
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2009Free cash flowUnavailable
2010Free cash flow11668949
2011Free cash flow23893947
2012Free cash flow19861085
2013Free cash flow30010744
2016Free cash flow39980000
2017Free cash flow75083000
2018Free cash flow147570000
2019Free cash flow310581000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

14.4% 2019
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.28.9%21.7%14.5%7.2%0.0%200920132019
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009Liabilities / assets26.4%
2010Liabilities / assets26.8%
2011Liabilities / assets25.1%
2012Liabilities / assets26.4%
2013Liabilities / assets19.8%
2016-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2017Liabilities / assets12.4%
2018Liabilities / assets14.2%
2019Liabilities / assets14.4%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2010-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2011-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2012-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2013-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2016-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2017-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2018-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2019-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31
USD 6.91 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6914043 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 6914043 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 9.39 million
Exact value

Exact value: 9392938 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 9392938 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable The mapped spending value is negative, so its direction is unclear.
Source
Unavailable

Capital expenditure has a negative mapped value; spending direction is unclear.

2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31
USD 11.31 million
Exact value

Exact value: 11308711 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 11308711 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 11.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 11696619 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 11696619 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 27,670
Exact value

Exact value: 27670 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 27670 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 11.67 million
Calculation and evidence

11696619 − 27670 USD

Exact free cash flow: 11668949 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
USD 20.59 million
Exact value

Exact value: 20594769 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 20594769 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 23.93 million
Exact value

Exact value: 23931208 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 23931208 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 37,261
Exact value

Exact value: 37261 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 37261 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 23.89 million
Calculation and evidence

23931208 − 37261 USD

Exact free cash flow: 23893947 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
USD 19.65 million
Exact value

Exact value: 19647818 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 19647818 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 19.91 million
Exact value

Exact value: 19911490 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 19911490 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 50,405
Exact value

Exact value: 50405 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 50405 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 19.86 million
Calculation and evidence

19911490 − 50405 USD

Exact free cash flow: 19861085 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
USD 27.22 million
Exact value

Exact value: 27218508 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 27218508 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 30.07 million
Exact value

Exact value: 30065354 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 30065354 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 54,610
Exact value

Exact value: 54610 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 54610 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 30.01 million
Calculation and evidence

30065354 − 54610 USD

Exact free cash flow: 30010744 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
USD 42.28 million
Exact value

Exact value: 42275000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 42275000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 40.96 million
Exact value

Exact value: 40957000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 40957000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 977,000
Exact value

Exact value: 977000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 977000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 39.98 million
Calculation and evidence

40957000 − 977000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 39980000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
USD 97.23 million
Exact value

Exact value: 97231000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 97231000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 93.83 million
Exact value

Exact value: 93830000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 93830000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 18.75 million
Exact value

Exact value: 18747000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 18747000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 75.08 million
Calculation and evidence

93830000 − 18747000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 75083000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
USD 209.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: 209736000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 209736000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 195.45 million
Exact value

Exact value: 195448000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 195448000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 47.88 million
Exact value

Exact value: 47878000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 47878000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 147.57 million
Calculation and evidence

195448000 − 47878000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 147570000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31
USD 318.73 million
Exact value

Exact value: 318728000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 318728000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 342.79 million
Exact value

Exact value: 342790000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 342790000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 32.21 million
Exact value

Exact value: 32209000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 32209000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 310.58 million
Calculation and evidence

342790000 − 32209000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 310581000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

110 filings · 2,897 latest values · 2,897 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000097517, 97517, TPL, edgar:97517, tpl

Also known as TEXAS PACIFIC LAND TRUST, Texas Pacific Land Trust