ALDERWOODS GROUP INC

EDGAR

23 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2002-03-28 to 2006-11-15. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest fiscal year

Revenue

749 million USD

2005 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

9.76%

2005 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 73083000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 748914000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
7.46 million USD Source
Exact value

7455000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2006-11-15.

Financial data available through: 2005-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • Operating income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • Net income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • operating cash flow: No compatible figures in this window
  • Capital expenditure: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • Total assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +4.4%

    Prior period

    USD 717.11 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 748.91 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    748914000 − 717111000 = 31803000 USD

    717111000 USD · 2004-01-02 – 2005-01-01

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    748914000 USD · 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +340.5%

    Prior period

    USD 9.35 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 41.18 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    41183000 − 9349000 = 31834000 USD

    9349000 USD · 2004-01-02 – 2005-01-01

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    41183000 USD · 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +14.3%

    Prior period

    USD 37.18 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 42.51 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    42510000 − 37183000 = 5327000 USD

    37183000 USD · 2004-01-02 – 2005-01-01

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    42510000 USD · 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Operating cash flow.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31

  • Revenue USD 748.91 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 675.83 million 90% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 73.08 million 9.8% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 31.9 million 4.3% of revenue
  • Net income USD 41.18 million 5.5% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Capital expenditure USD 42.51 million 5.7% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2001 Operating loss: operating costs were 120% of revenue.
  • 2002 Operating loss: operating costs were 121% of revenue.
  • 2003 9.9%89%
  • 2005 90%
  • 2005 90%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31706148000 847089000 Derived -140941000 92803000 Derived -233744000 Unavailable
Source
2002 2001-12-29 – 2002-12-28691997000 837682000 Derived -145685000 88059000 Derived -233744000 Unavailable
Source
2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31720762000 638379000 Derived 82383000 71576000 Derived 10807000 Unavailable
Source
2005 2004-01-02 – 2005-01-01717111000 645211000 Derived 71900000 62551000 Derived 9349000 Unavailable
Source
2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31748914000 675831000 Derived 73083000 31900000 Derived 41183000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 748.9M 2005
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.808.8M606.6M404.4M202.2M0.020012002200320052005
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2001Revenue706148000
2002Revenue691997000
2003Revenue720762000
2005Revenue717111000
2005Revenue748914000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

4.4% 2005
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.4.9%3.1%1.2%-0.7%-2.5%20012002200320052005
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2001Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2002Year over year-2%
2003Year over year4.2%
2005Year over year-0.5%
2005Year over year4.4%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 9.8% 2005
Net margin 5.5% 2005
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.15%2%-11%-24%-37%20012002200320052005
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2001Operating margin-20%
2002Operating margin-21.1%
2003Operating margin11.4%
2005Operating margin10%
2005Operating margin9.8%
2001Net margin-33.1%
2002Net margin-33.8%
2003Net margin1.5%
2005Net margin1.3%
2005Net margin5.5%
2001Free cash flow marginNot reported
2002Free cash flow marginNot reported
2003Free cash flow marginNot reported
2005Free cash flow marginNot reported
2005Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2001Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2002Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2003Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2005Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2005Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2001Free cash flowUnavailable
2002Free cash flowUnavailable
2003Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2005Free cash flowUnavailable
2005Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2001-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2002-12-28Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2003-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2005-01-01Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2005-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.06× 2005
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.0.33×0.25×0.17×0.08×0.00×20012002200320052005
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2001Current assets / current liabilities0.08×
2002Current assets / current liabilities0.26×
2003Current assets / current liabilities0.31×
2005Current assets / current liabilities0.13×
2005Current assets / current liabilities0.06×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31
−USD 523.44 million
Exact value

Exact value: -523439000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: -523439000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 39.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 39703000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: 39703000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31
−USD 1.04 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -1044095000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: -1044095000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 24.02 million
Exact value

Exact value: 24024000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: 24024000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31
−USD 233.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: -233744000 USD

2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31: -233744000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 18.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 18712000 USD

2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31: 18712000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2002 2001-12-29 – 2002-12-28
−USD 233.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: -233744000 USD

2001-12-29 – 2002-12-28: -233744000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 21.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: 21636000 USD

2001-12-29 – 2002-12-28: 21636000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31
USD 10.81 million
Exact value

Exact value: 10807000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 10807000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2004 2003-01-04 – 2004-01-03
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 25.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 25202000 USD

2003-01-04 – 2004-01-03: 25202000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2005 2004-01-02 – 2005-01-01
USD 9.35 million
Exact value

Exact value: 9349000 USD

2004-01-02 – 2005-01-01: 9349000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 37.18 million
Exact value

Exact value: 37183000 USD

2004-01-02 – 2005-01-01: 37183000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31
USD 41.18 million
Exact value

Exact value: 41183000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 41183000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 42.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: 42510000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 42510000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

23 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000927914, 927914, edgar:927914

Also known as LOEWEN GROUP INTERNATIONAL INC