INVESTMENT TECHNOLOGY GROUP, INC.

EDGAR

242 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-05-13 to 2019-03-14. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

129 million Unit12

2018 Q4 · Unit12

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 509476000 Unit12 Source
  • Revenue: 380730000 Unit12 Source

Free cash flow margin

8.55%

2018 Q4 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 509476000 Unit12 Source
  • Revenue: 380730000 Unit12 Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 68317000 Unit12 Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 53762000 Unit12 Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 13801000 Unit12 Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 10250000 Unit12 Source

Operating cash flow

14.6 million Unit12

2018 Q4 · Unit12

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 68317000 Unit12 Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 53762000 Unit12 Source

Free cash flow

11 million Unit12

2018 Q4 · Unit12

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 68317000 Unit12 Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 53762000 Unit12 Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 13801000 Unit12 Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 10250000 Unit12 Source
Cash and cash equivalents
268 million Unit12 Source
Exact value

267843000 Unit12

Long-term debt including current maturities
25.8 million USD Source
Exact value

25787000 USD

Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Net income

-174 million USD

2010-10-01 – 2011-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 23980000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 22150000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 9549000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-03-31 Source
  • Net income: -196143000 USD · 2011-04-01 – 2011-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 10477000 USD · 2011-07-01 – 2011-09-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2019-03-14.

Financial data available through: 2018-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • operating income: No compatible figures in this window
  • Net income: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2010-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Total assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • current assets: No compatible figures in this window
  • current liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +5.3%

    Prior period

    Unit12 483.69 million

    –

    Current period

    Unit12 509.48 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    509476000 − 483694000 = 25782000 Unit12

    483694000 Unit12 · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    509476000 Unit12 · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +49.6%

    Prior period

    Unit12 45.68 million

    –

    Current period

    Unit12 68.32 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    68317000 − 45680000 = 22637000 Unit12

    45680000 Unit12 · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    68317000 Unit12 · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -28.9%

    Prior period

    Unit12 19.4 million

    –

    Current period

    Unit12 13.8 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    13801000 − 19402000 = -5601000 Unit12

    19402000 Unit12 · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    13801000 Unit12 · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Net income.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

  • Revenue Unit12 509.48 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Operating income Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Cash

  • Operating cash flow Unit12 68.32 million 13% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unit12 13.8 million 2.7% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived Unit12 54.52 million 11% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2012 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2013 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2014 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2015 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2016 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2017 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2018 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31504436000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-6632000 Derived
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31530801000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailableUnavailable11643000 Derived
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31559814000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailableUnavailable128742000 Derived
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31634803000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailableUnavailable36841000 Derived
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31469052000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailableUnavailable16815000 Derived
Source
2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31483694000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailableUnavailable26278000 Derived
Source
2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31509476000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailableUnavailable54516000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in Unit12.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

Unit12 509.5M 2018
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.685.6M514.2M342.8M171.4M0.0201220152018
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(Unit12)Source evidence
2012Revenue504436000
2013Revenue530801000
2014Revenue559814000
2015Revenue634803000
2016Revenue469052000
2017Revenue483694000
2018Revenue509476000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

5.3% 2018
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.17%5%-6%-18%-29%201220152018
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2012Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2013Year over year5.2%
2014Year over year5.5%
2015Year over year13.4%
2016Year over year-26.1%
2017Year over year3.1%
2018Year over year5.3%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Free cash flow margin 10.7% 2018
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.24.9%17.9%10.8%3.8%-3.3%2012-12-312015-12-312018-12-31
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2012-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2013-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2014-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2015-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2016-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2017-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2018-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2012-12-31Net marginNot reported
2013-12-31Net marginNot reported
2014-12-31Net marginNot reported
2015-12-31Net marginNot reported
2016-12-31Net marginNot reported
2017-12-31Net marginNot reported
2018-12-31Net marginNot reported
2012Free cash flow margin-1.3%
2013Free cash flow margin2.2%
2014Free cash flow margin23%
2015Free cash flow margin5.8%
2016Free cash flow margin3.6%
2017Free cash flow margin5.4%
2018Free cash flow margin10.7%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

Unit12 68.3M 2018
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.153.9M115.5M77.0M38.5M0.0201220152018
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(Unit12)Source evidence
2012Operating cash flow26792000
2013Operating cash flow45192000
2014Operating cash flow142540000
2015Operating cash flow48746000
2016Operating cash flow38130000
2017Operating cash flow45680000
2018Operating cash flow68317000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Unit12 54.5M 2018
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.139.6M100.3M61.1M21.8M-17.5M201220152018
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(Unit12)Source evidence
2012Free cash flow-6632000
2013Free cash flow11643000
2014Free cash flow128742000
2015Free cash flow36841000
2016Free cash flow16815000
2017Free cash flow26278000
2018Free cash flow54516000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

64.9% 2018
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.79%59%40%20%0%2012-12-3120152018
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2012-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2013Liabilities / assets72.9%
2014Liabilities / assets69.2%
2015Liabilities / assets73.4%
2016Liabilities / assets47.7%
2017Liabilities / assets53.7%
2018Liabilities / assets64.9%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2012-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2013-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2014-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2015-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2016-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2017-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2018-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unit12 26.79 million
Exact value

Exact value: 26792000 Unit12

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 26792000 Unit12 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 33.42 million
Exact value

Exact value: 33424000 Unit12

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 33424000 Unit12 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−Unit12 6.63 million
Calculation and evidence

26792000 − 33424000 Unit12

Exact free cash flow: -6632000 Unit12

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unit12 45.19 million
Exact value

Exact value: 45192000 Unit12

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 45192000 Unit12 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 33.55 million
Exact value

Exact value: 33549000 Unit12

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 33549000 Unit12 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 11.64 million
Calculation and evidence

45192000 − 33549000 Unit12

Exact free cash flow: 11643000 Unit12

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unit12 142.54 million
Exact value

Exact value: 142540000 Unit12

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 142540000 Unit12 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 13.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 13798000 Unit12

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 13798000 Unit12 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 128.74 million
Calculation and evidence

142540000 − 13798000 Unit12

Exact free cash flow: 128742000 Unit12

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unit12 48.75 million
Exact value

Exact value: 48746000 Unit12

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 48746000 Unit12 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 11.91 million
Exact value

Exact value: 11905000 Unit12

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 11905000 Unit12 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 36.84 million
Calculation and evidence

48746000 − 11905000 Unit12

Exact free cash flow: 36841000 Unit12

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unit12 38.13 million
Exact value

Exact value: 38130000 Unit12

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 38130000 Unit12 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 21.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 21315000 Unit12

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 21315000 Unit12 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 16.82 million
Calculation and evidence

38130000 − 21315000 Unit12

Exact free cash flow: 16815000 Unit12

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unit12 45.68 million
Exact value

Exact value: 45680000 Unit12

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 45680000 Unit12 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 19.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 19402000 Unit12

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 19402000 Unit12 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 26.28 million
Calculation and evidence

45680000 − 19402000 Unit12

Exact free cash flow: 26278000 Unit12

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unit12 68.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 68317000 Unit12

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 68317000 Unit12 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 13.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 13801000 Unit12

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 13801000 Unit12 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit12 54.52 million
Calculation and evidence

68317000 − 13801000 Unit12

Exact free cash flow: 54516000 Unit12

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

242 filings · 3,625 latest values · 3,625 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000920424, 920424, edgar:920424

Also known as INVESTMENT TECHNOLOGY GROUP INC, INVESTMENT TECHNOLOGY GROUP, INC., VIRTU ITG HOLDINGS LLC