NATIONAL RECORD MART INC /DE/

EDGAR

29 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-06-28 to 2001-09-05. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

12.5 million

2000-12-23 ·

Exact inputs and evidence

Net margin

4.82%

2000-12-23 · %

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating cash flow

7.07 million

2000-12-23 ·

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 5219320 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -1848390 USD Source

Free cash flow

7.01 million USD

2000-12-23 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 5219320 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -1848390 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 976935 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 923389 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
1.23 million USD Source
Exact value

1232449 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
25.8 million USD Source
Exact value

25813758 USD

Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2001-09-05.

Financial data available through: 2001-03-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • operating income: No compatible figures in this window
  • Net income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Operating cash flow: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Capital expenditure: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Total assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Current liabilities: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -11.7%

    Prior period

    USD 142.64 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 125.89 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    125892129 − 142644670 = -16752541 USD

    142644670 USD · 1999-03-26 – 2000-03-25

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    125892129 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    −USD 7.88 million

    Prior period

    −USD 8.07 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 15.96 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -15955657 − -8072180 = -7883477 USD

    -8072180 USD · 1999-03-26 – 2000-03-25

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -15955657 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +6.1%

    Prior period

    USD 2.7 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.86 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2863782 − 2698823 = 164959 USD

    2698823 USD · 1999-03-26 – 2000-03-25

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2863782 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -90.3%

    Prior period

    USD 9.4 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 913,895

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    913895 − 9398411 = -8484516 USD

    9398411 USD · 1999-03-26 – 2000-03-25

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    913895 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2001 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

  • Revenue USD 125.89 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Operating income Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income −USD 15.96 million −13% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 2.86 million 2.3% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 913,895 0.7% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 1.95 million 1.5% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1994 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1995 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1996 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1997 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1998 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1999 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2000 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2001 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1994 1993-03-31 – 1994-03-3080627923 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable2489624 Unavailable
Source
1995 1994-03-31 – 1995-03-3095696889 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable712198 Unavailable
Source
1996 1995-03-31 – 1996-03-3099084459 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-3884416 Unavailable
Source
1997 1996-03-30 – 1997-03-2999438863 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-1100671 -2093226 Derived
Source
1998 1997-03-29 – 1998-03-28112488429 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable892648 1300431 Derived
Source
1999 1998-03-28 – 1999-03-27129902083 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-1691341 -8004414 Derived
Source
2000 1999-03-26 – 2000-03-25142644670 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-8072180 -6699588 Derived
Source
2001 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31125892129 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-15955657 1949887 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 125.9M 2001
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.154.1M115.5M77.0M38.5M0.0199419982001
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Revenue80627923
1995Revenue95696889
1996Revenue99084459
1997Revenue99438863
1998Revenue112488429
1999Revenue129902083
2000Revenue142644670
2001Revenue125892129

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-11.7% 2001
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.21.1%12.3%3.5%-5.4%-14.2%199419982001
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1995Year over year18.7%
1996Year over year3.5%
1997Year over year0.4%
1998Year over year13.1%
1999Year over year15.5%
2000Year over year9.8%
2001Year over year-11.7%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Net margin -12.7% 2001
Free cash flow margin 1.5% 2001
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.4.3%-0.2%-4.8%-9.4%-13.9%1994-03-301998-03-282001-03-31
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-03-30Operating marginNot reported
1995-03-30Operating marginNot reported
1996-03-30Operating marginNot reported
1997-03-29Operating marginNot reported
1998-03-28Operating marginNot reported
1999-03-27Operating marginNot reported
2000-03-25Operating marginNot reported
2001-03-31Operating marginNot reported
1994Net margin3.1%
1995Net margin0.7%
1996Net margin-3.9%
1997Net margin-1.1%
1998Net margin0.8%
1999Net margin-1.3%
2000Net margin-5.7%
2001Net margin-12.7%
1994Free cash flow marginNot reported
1995Free cash flow marginNot reported
1996Free cash flow marginNot reported
1997Free cash flow margin-2.1%
1998Free cash flow margin1.2%
1999Free cash flow margin-6.2%
2000Free cash flow margin-4.7%
2001Free cash flow margin1.5%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 2.9M 2001
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.4.1M3.1M2.1M1.0M0.0199419982001
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1995Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1996Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1997Operating cash flow848782
1998Operating cash flow3809145
1999Operating cash flow2296290
2000Operating cash flow2698823
2001Operating cash flow2863782

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 1.9M 2001
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.7M-140.5K-3.0M-5.9M-8.8M199419982001
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
1995Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
1996Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
1997Free cash flow-2093226
1998Free cash flow1300431
1999Free cash flow-8004414
2000Free cash flow-6699588
2001Free cash flow1949887

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-03-30Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1995-03-30Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1996-03-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1997-03-29Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1998-03-28Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1999-03-27Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2000-03-25Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2001-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.93× 2001
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.67×2.01×1.34×0.67×0.00×1994-03-3019982001
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-03-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1995-03-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1996Current assets / current liabilities2.33×
1997Current assets / current liabilities2.35×
1998Current assets / current liabilities2.48×
1999Current assets / current liabilities2.24×
2000Current assets / current liabilities1.78×
2001Current assets / current liabilities0.93×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1994 1993-03-31 – 1994-03-30
USD 2.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2489624 USD

1993-03-31 – 1994-03-30: 2489624 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1995 1994-03-30 – 1995-03-29
USD 712,198
Exact value

Exact value: 712198 USD

1994-03-30 – 1995-03-29: 712198 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 2.43 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2427622 USD

1994-03-30 – 1995-03-29: -2427622 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.95 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4953519 USD

1994-03-30 – 1995-03-29: 4953519 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 7.38 million
Calculation and evidence

-2427622 − 4953519 USD

Exact free cash flow: -7381141 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1994-03-31 – 1995-03-30
USD 712,198
Exact value

Exact value: 712198 USD

1994-03-31 – 1995-03-30: 712198 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1996 1995-03-30 – 1996-03-29
−USD 3.88 million
Exact value

Exact value: -3884416 USD

1995-03-30 – 1996-03-29: -3884416 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.18 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4184103 USD

1995-03-30 – 1996-03-29: 4184103 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.58 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3583214 USD

1995-03-30 – 1996-03-29: 3583214 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 600,889
Calculation and evidence

4184103 − 3583214 USD

Exact free cash flow: 600889 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1995-03-31 – 1996-03-30
−USD 3.88 million
Exact value

Exact value: -3884416 USD

1995-03-31 – 1996-03-30: -3884416 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1997 1996-03-30 – 1997-03-29
−USD 1.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: -1100671 USD

1996-03-30 – 1997-03-29: -1100671 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 848,782
Exact value

Exact value: 848782 USD

1996-03-30 – 1997-03-29: 848782 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.94 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2942008 USD

1996-03-30 – 1997-03-29: 2942008 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 2.09 million
Calculation and evidence

848782 − 2942008 USD

Exact free cash flow: -2093226 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1997-03-29 – 1998-03-28
USD 892,648
Exact value

Exact value: 892648 USD

1997-03-29 – 1998-03-28: 892648 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.81 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3809145 USD

1997-03-29 – 1998-03-28: 3809145 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2508714 USD

1997-03-29 – 1998-03-28: 2508714 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.3 million
Calculation and evidence

3809145 − 2508714 USD

Exact free cash flow: 1300431 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1999 1998-03-28 – 1999-03-27
−USD 1.69 million
Exact value

Exact value: -1691341 USD

1998-03-28 – 1999-03-27: -1691341 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2296290 USD

1998-03-28 – 1999-03-27: 2296290 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 10.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 10300704 USD

1998-03-28 – 1999-03-27: 10300704 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 8 million
Calculation and evidence

2296290 − 10300704 USD

Exact free cash flow: -8004414 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2000 1999-03-26 – 2000-03-25
−USD 8.07 million
Exact value

Exact value: -8072180 USD

1999-03-26 – 2000-03-25: -8072180 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2698823 USD

1999-03-26 – 2000-03-25: 2698823 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 9.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 9398411 USD

1999-03-26 – 2000-03-25: 9398411 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 6.7 million
Calculation and evidence

2698823 − 9398411 USD

Exact free cash flow: -6699588 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2001 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31
−USD 15.96 million
Exact value

Exact value: -15955657 USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31: -15955657 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.86 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2863782 USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31: 2863782 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 913,895
Exact value

Exact value: 913895 USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31: 913895 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.95 million
Calculation and evidence

2863782 − 913895 USD

Exact free cash flow: 1949887 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

29 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000904535, 904535, edgar:904535