BOSTON CHICKEN PLAN TRUST

EDGAR

13 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-05-31 to 1998-11-18. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

261 million USD

1998-10-04 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-110.48%

1998-10-04 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -288384000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 261031000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-20.4 million USD

1998-10-04 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -20428000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-37.5 million USD

1998-10-04 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -20428000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 17077000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
16.9 million USD Source
Exact value

16852000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 1998-11-18.

Financial data available through: 1996-12-29.

Financial coverage is incomplete. Newer filings are recorded, but comparable financial figures for those periods are not available here yet.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-29
  • Operating income: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-29
  • Net income: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-29
  • Operating cash flow: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-29
  • Capital expenditure: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-29
  • Total assets: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-29
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-29
  • Current liabilities: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-29
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-29
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +65.9%

    Prior period

    USD 159.48 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 264.51 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    264508000 − 159479000 = 105029000 USD

    159479000 USD · 1994-12-30 – 1995-12-29

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    264508000 USD · 1995-12-30 – 1996-12-29

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +99.5%

    Prior period

    USD 33.56 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 66.96 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    66958000 − 33559000 = 33399000 USD

    33559000 USD · 1994-12-30 – 1995-12-29

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    66958000 USD · 1995-12-30 – 1996-12-29

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +161.2%

    Prior period

    USD 55.48 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 144.91 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    144910000 − 55476000 = 89434000 USD

    55476000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    144910000 USD · 1995-12-30 – 1996-12-29

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -21.1%

    Prior period

    USD 145.76 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 115.06 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    115062000 − 145756000 = -30694000 USD

    145756000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    115062000 USD · 1995-12-30 – 1996-12-29

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1996 1995-12-30 – 1996-12-29

  • Revenue USD 264.51 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 173.18 million 65% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 91.33 million 35% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 24.37 million 9.2% of revenue
  • Net income USD 66.96 million 25% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 144.91 million 55% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 115.06 million 44% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 29.85 million 11% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1994 17%74%
  • 1995 21%21%58%
  • 1996 25%9.2%65%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1994 1993-12-30 – 1994-12-2996151000 71540000 Derived 24611000 8438000 Derived 16173000 Unavailable
Source
1995 1994-12-30 – 1995-12-29159479000 92241000 Derived 67238000 33679000 Derived 33559000 Unavailable
Source
1996 1995-12-30 – 1996-12-29264508000 173179000 Derived 91329000 24371000 Derived 66958000 29848000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 264.5M 1996
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.285.7M214.3M142.8M71.4M0.0199419951996
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Revenue96151000
1995Revenue159479000
1996Revenue264508000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

65.9% 1996
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.71%53%36%18%0%199419951996
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1995Year over year65.9%
1996Year over year65.9%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 34.5% 1996
Net margin 25.3% 1996
Free cash flow margin 11.3% 1996
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.46%34%23%11%0%199419951996
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994Operating margin25.6%
1995Operating margin42.2%
1996Operating margin34.5%
1994Net margin16.8%
1995Net margin21%
1996Net margin25.3%
1994Free cash flow marginNot reported
1995Free cash flow marginNot reported
1996Free cash flow margin11.3%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 144.9M 1996
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.156.5M117.4M78.3M39.1M0.0199419951996
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1995Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1996Operating cash flow144910000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 29.8M 1996
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.32.2M24.2M16.1M8.1M0.0199419951996
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
1995Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
1996Free cash flow29848000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-12-29Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1995-12-29Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1996-12-29Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.67× 1996
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.81×1.35×0.90×0.45×0.00×1994-12-291995-12-291996
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-12-29Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1995-12-29Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1996Current assets / current liabilities1.67×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1994 1993-12-26 – 1994-12-25
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 35.92 million
Exact value

Exact value: 35918000 USD

1993-12-26 – 1994-12-25: 35918000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 163.62 million
Exact value

Exact value: 163622000 USD

1993-12-26 – 1994-12-25: 163622000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 127.7 million
Calculation and evidence

35918000 − 163622000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -127704000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1994 1993-12-30 – 1994-12-29
USD 16.17 million
Exact value

Exact value: 16173000 USD

1993-12-30 – 1994-12-29: 16173000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1995 1994-12-30 – 1995-12-29
USD 33.56 million
Exact value

Exact value: 33559000 USD

1994-12-30 – 1995-12-29: 33559000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 55.48 million
Exact value

Exact value: 55476000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 55476000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 145.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 145756000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 145756000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 90.28 million
Calculation and evidence

55476000 − 145756000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -90280000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1995-12-30 – 1996-12-29
USD 66.96 million
Exact value

Exact value: 66958000 USD

1995-12-30 – 1996-12-29: 66958000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 144.91 million
Exact value

Exact value: 144910000 USD

1995-12-30 – 1996-12-29: 144910000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 115.06 million
Exact value

Exact value: 115062000 USD

1995-12-30 – 1996-12-29: 115062000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 29.85 million
Calculation and evidence

144910000 − 115062000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 29848000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

13 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000894751, 894751, edgar:894751

Also known as BOSTON CHICKEN INC