CHOLESTECH CORPORATION

EDGAR

52 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-06-26 to 2010-11-26. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

18.1 million USD

2007-06-29 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

13.72%

2007-06-29 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 2488000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 18129000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

5.15 million USD

2007-06-29 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 5146000 USD Source

Free cash flow

4.84 million USD

2007-06-29 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 5146000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 311000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
7.58 million USD Source
Exact value

7582000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2010-11-26.

Financial data available through: 2007-03-30.

Financial coverage is incomplete. Newer filings are recorded, but comparable financial figures for those periods are not available here yet.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-03-30
  • Operating income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-03-30
  • Net income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-03-30
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-03-30
  • Capital expenditure: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-03-30
  • Total assets: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-03-30
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-03-30
  • Current liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-03-30
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-03-30
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +8.5%

    Prior period

    USD 64.09 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 69.53 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    69526000 − 64093000 = 5433000 USD

    64093000 USD · 2005-04-01 – 2006-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    69526000 USD · 2006-03-31 – 2007-03-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +67%

    Prior period

    USD 5.63 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 9.41 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    9406000 − 5634000 = 3772000 USD

    5634000 USD · 2005-04-01 – 2006-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    9406000 USD · 2006-03-31 – 2007-03-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +21.7%

    Prior period

    USD 10.72 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 13.04 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    13042000 − 10718000 = 2324000 USD

    10718000 USD · 2005-04-01 – 2006-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    13042000 USD · 2006-03-31 – 2007-03-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -43.7%

    Prior period

    USD 2.62 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.47 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1474000 − 2618000 = -1144000 USD

    2618000 USD · 2005-04-01 – 2006-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1474000 USD · 2006-03-31 – 2007-03-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2007 2006-03-31 – 2007-03-30

  • Revenue USD 69.53 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 23.04 million 33% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 34.78 million 50% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 11.7 million 17% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 2.3 million 3.3% of revenue
  • Net income USD 9.41 million 14% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 13.04 million 19% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 1.47 million 2.1% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 11.57 million 17% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1998 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 1999 Operating loss: operating costs were 103% of revenue.
  • 2000 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2001 Net loss: net income was −8% of revenue.
  • 2002 13%84%
  • 2003 10%87%
  • 2004 Operating loss: operating costs were 105% of revenue.
  • 2005 89%
  • 2006 87%
  • 2007 14%83%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1998 1997-03-28 – 1998-03-2721664000 20204000 Derived 1460000 -528000 Derived 1988000 27000 Derived
Source
1999 1998-03-27 – 1999-03-2622032000 22768000 Derived -736000 -663000 Derived -73000 -3720000 Derived
Source
2000 1999-04-01 – 2000-03-3127549000 25093000 Derived 2456000 -676000 Derived 3132000 4259000 Derived
Source
2001 2000-03-31 – 2001-03-3032489000 30140000 Derived 2349000 4955000 Derived -2606000 -1885000 Derived
Source
2002 2001-03-30 – 2002-03-2941747000 35055000 Derived 6692000 1142000 Derived 5550000 3590000 Derived
Source
2003 2002-03-29 – 2003-03-2848541000 42198000 Derived 6343000 1450000 Derived 4893000 788000 Derived
Source
2004 2003-03-27 – 2004-03-2652376000 55182000 Derived -2806000 -11513000 Derived 8707000 -4599000 Derived
Source
2005 2004-03-26 – 2005-03-2552877000 47000000 Derived 5877000 1729000 Derived 4148000 7139000 Derived
Source
2006 2005-04-01 – 2006-03-3164093000 55721000 Derived 8372000 2738000 Derived 5634000 8100000 Derived
Source
2007 2006-03-31 – 2007-03-3069526000 57825000 Derived 11701000 2295000 Derived 9406000 11568000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 69.5M 2007
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.75.1M56.3M37.5M18.8M0.0199820032007
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1998Revenue21664000
1999Revenue22032000
2000Revenue27549000
2001Revenue32489000
2002Revenue41747000
2003Revenue48541000
2004Revenue52376000
2005Revenue52877000
2006Revenue64093000
2007Revenue69526000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

8.5% 2007
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.30.8%23.1%15.4%7.7%0.0%199820032007
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1998Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1999Year over year1.7%
2000Year over year25%
2001Year over year17.9%
2002Year over year28.5%
2003Year over year16.3%
2004Year over year7.9%
2005Year over year1%
2006Year over year21.2%
2007Year over year8.5%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 16.8% 2007
Net margin 13.5% 2007
Free cash flow margin 16.6% 2007
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.19.5%9.7%-0.0%-9.8%-19.6%199820032007
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1998Operating margin6.7%
1999Operating margin-3.3%
2000Operating margin8.9%
2001Operating margin7.2%
2002Operating margin16%
2003Operating margin13.1%
2004Operating margin-5.4%
2005Operating margin11.1%
2006Operating margin13.1%
2007Operating margin16.8%
1998Net margin9.2%
1999Net margin-0.3%
2000Net margin11.4%
2001Net margin-8%
2002Net margin13.3%
2003Net margin10.1%
2004Net margin16.6%
2005Net margin7.8%
2006Net margin8.8%
2007Net margin13.5%
1998Free cash flow margin0.1%
1999Free cash flow margin-16.9%
2000Free cash flow margin15.5%
2001Free cash flow margin-5.8%
2002Free cash flow margin8.6%
2003Free cash flow margin1.6%
2004Free cash flow margin-8.8%
2005Free cash flow margin13.5%
2006Free cash flow margin12.6%
2007Free cash flow margin16.6%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 13M 2007
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.14.2M10.1M6.0M1.9M-2.3M199820032007
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1998Operating cash flow2106000
1999Operating cash flow-830000
2000Operating cash flow8465000
2001Operating cash flow2298000
2002Operating cash flow6004000
2003Operating cash flow3713000
2004Operating cash flow-1124000
2005Operating cash flow10242000
2006Operating cash flow10718000
2007Operating cash flow13042000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 11.6M 2007
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.12.9M8.2M3.5M-1.2M-5.9M199820032007
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1998Free cash flow27000
1999Free cash flow-3720000
2000Free cash flow4259000
2001Free cash flow-1885000
2002Free cash flow3590000
2003Free cash flow788000
2004Free cash flow-4599000
2005Free cash flow7139000
2006Free cash flow8100000
2007Free cash flow11568000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1998-03-27Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1999-03-26Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2000-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2001-03-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2002-03-29Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2003-03-28Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2004-03-26Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2005-03-25Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2006-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2007-03-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

10.72× 2007
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.11.57×8.68×5.79×2.89×0.00×199820032007
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1998Current assets / current liabilities5.07×
1999Current assets / current liabilities6.31×
2000Current assets / current liabilities3.01×
2001Current assets / current liabilities2.74×
2002Current assets / current liabilities4.46×
2003Current assets / current liabilities4.1×
2004Current assets / current liabilities5.03×
2005Current assets / current liabilities5.46×
2006Current assets / current liabilities6.68×
2007Current assets / current liabilities10.72×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1998 1997-03-28 – 1998-03-27
USD 1.99 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1988000 USD

1997-03-28 – 1998-03-27: 1988000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.11 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2106000 USD

1997-03-28 – 1998-03-27: 2106000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.08 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2079000 USD

1997-03-28 – 1998-03-27: 2079000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 27,000
Calculation and evidence

2106000 − 2079000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 27000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1999 1998-03-27 – 1999-03-26
−USD 73,000
Exact value

Exact value: -73000 USD

1998-03-27 – 1999-03-26: -73000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 830,000
Exact value

Exact value: -830000 USD

1998-03-27 – 1999-03-26: -830000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.89 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2890000 USD

1998-03-27 – 1999-03-26: 2890000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 3.72 million
Calculation and evidence

-830000 − 2890000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -3720000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2000 1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31
USD 3.13 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3132000 USD

1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31: 3132000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 8.47 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8465000 USD

1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31: 8465000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.21 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4206000 USD

1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31: 4206000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.26 million
Calculation and evidence

8465000 − 4206000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 4259000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2001 2000-03-31 – 2001-03-30
−USD 2.61 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2606000 USD

2000-03-31 – 2001-03-30: -2606000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2298000 USD

2000-03-31 – 2001-03-30: 2298000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.18 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4183000 USD

2000-03-31 – 2001-03-30: 4183000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.89 million
Calculation and evidence

2298000 − 4183000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -1885000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2002 2001-03-30 – 2002-03-29
USD 5.55 million
Exact value

Exact value: 5550000 USD

2001-03-30 – 2002-03-29: 5550000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6004000 USD

2001-03-30 – 2002-03-29: 6004000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.41 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2414000 USD

2001-03-30 – 2002-03-29: 2414000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.59 million
Calculation and evidence

6004000 − 2414000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 3590000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2003 2002-03-29 – 2003-03-28
USD 4.89 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4893000 USD

2002-03-29 – 2003-03-28: 4893000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3713000 USD

2002-03-29 – 2003-03-28: 3713000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.93 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2925000 USD

2002-03-29 – 2003-03-28: 2925000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 788,000
Calculation and evidence

3713000 − 2925000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 788000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2004 2003-03-27 – 2004-03-26
USD 8.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8707000 USD

2003-03-27 – 2004-03-26: 8707000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.12 million
Exact value

Exact value: -1124000 USD

2003-03-27 – 2004-03-26: -1124000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.48 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3475000 USD

2003-03-27 – 2004-03-26: 3475000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 4.6 million
Calculation and evidence

-1124000 − 3475000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -4599000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2005 2004-03-26 – 2005-03-25
USD 4.15 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4148000 USD

2004-03-26 – 2005-03-25: 4148000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 10.24 million
Exact value

Exact value: 10242000 USD

2004-03-26 – 2005-03-25: 10242000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3103000 USD

2004-03-26 – 2005-03-25: 3103000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 7.14 million
Calculation and evidence

10242000 − 3103000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 7139000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2006 2005-04-01 – 2006-03-31
USD 5.63 million
Exact value

Exact value: 5634000 USD

2005-04-01 – 2006-03-31: 5634000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 10.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: 10718000 USD

2005-04-01 – 2006-03-31: 10718000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.62 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2618000 USD

2005-04-01 – 2006-03-31: 2618000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 8.1 million
Calculation and evidence

10718000 − 2618000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 8100000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2007 2006-03-31 – 2007-03-30
USD 9.41 million
Exact value

Exact value: 9406000 USD

2006-03-31 – 2007-03-30: 9406000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 13.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 13042000 USD

2006-03-31 – 2007-03-30: 13042000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.47 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1474000 USD

2006-03-31 – 2007-03-30: 1474000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 11.57 million
Calculation and evidence

13042000 − 1474000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 11568000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

52 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000887227, 887227, edgar:887227