PLATINUM ENTERTAINMENT INC

EDGAR

24 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-08-29 to 2000-05-15. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

5.41 million USD

2000-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-50.66%

2000-03-31 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -2738000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 5405000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

621 thousand USD

2000-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 621000 USD Source

Free cash flow

571 thousand USD

2000-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 621000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 50000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
3 thousand USD Source
Exact value

3000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Net income

-24 million USD

1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: -5820000 USD · 1999-04-01 – 1999-06-30 Source
  • Net income: -10381000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-09-30 Source
  • Net income: -7452000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-06-30 Source
  • Net income: -21658000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31 Source
  • Net income: -10381000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-09-30 Source
  • Net income: -3925000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-03-31 Source

Capital expenditure

653 thousand USD

1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 454000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 244000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 695000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 454000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 847000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 695000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 50000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2000-05-15.

Financial data available through: 1999-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Operating income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Net income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Total assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • Current assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -35.3%

    Prior period

    USD 40.62 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 26.27 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    26265000 − 40616000 = -14351000 USD

    40616000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    26265000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    −USD 6.86 million

    Prior period

    −USD 14.8 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 21.66 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -21658000 − -14797000 = -6861000 USD

    -14797000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -21658000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    −USD 6.76 million

    Prior period

    −USD 11.6 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 18.36 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -18359000 − -11599000 = -6760000 USD

    -11599000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -18359000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -43%

    Prior period

    USD 1.49 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 847,000

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    847000 − 1486000 = -639000 USD

    1486000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    847000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

  • Revenue USD 26.27 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 51.5 million 196% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 25.24 million −96% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −USD 3.58 million −14% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 21.66 million −82% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow −USD 18.36 million −70% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 847,000 3.2% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 19.21 million −73% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1995 Operating loss: operating costs were 123% of revenue.
  • 1996 Operating loss: operating costs were 124% of revenue.
  • 1997 Operating loss: operating costs were 140% of revenue.
  • 1998 Operating loss: operating costs were 128% of revenue.
  • 1999 Operating loss: operating costs were 196% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-319149000 11222000 Derived -2073000 7450000 Derived -9523000 Unavailable
Source
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-319773000 12167000 Derived -2394000 -129000 Derived -2265000 -4917000 Derived
Source
1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-3134797000 48644000 Derived -13847000 9686000 Derived -23533000 -12414000 Derived
Source
1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-3140616000 52186000 Derived -11570000 3227000 Derived -14797000 -13085000 Derived
Source
1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-3126265000 51503000 Derived -25238000 -3580000 Derived -21658000 -19206000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 26.3M 1999
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.43.9M32.9M21.9M11.0M0.019951996199719981999
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1995Revenue9149000
1996Revenue9773000
1997Revenue34797000
1998Revenue40616000
1999Revenue26265000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-35.3% 1999
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.279%195%110%26%-59%19951996199719981999
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1996Year over year6.8%
1997Year over year256.1%
1998Year over year16.7%
1999Year over year-35.3%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -96.1% 1999
Net margin -82.5% 1999
Free cash flow margin -73.1% 1999
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.8%-22%-52%-82%-112%19951996199719981999
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995Operating margin-22.7%
1996Operating margin-24.5%
1997Operating margin-39.8%
1998Operating margin-28.5%
1999Operating margin-96.1%
1995Net margin-104.1%
1996Net margin-23.2%
1997Net margin-67.6%
1998Net margin-36.4%
1999Net margin-82.5%
1995Free cash flow marginNot reported
1996Free cash flow margin-50.3%
1997Free cash flow margin-35.7%
1998Free cash flow margin-32.2%
1999Free cash flow margin-73.1%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD -18.4M 1999
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.5M-3.9M-9.2M-14.5M-19.8M19951996199719981999
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1995Operating cash flow-6590000
1996Operating cash flow-4746000
1997Operating cash flow-12162000
1998Operating cash flow-11599000
1999Operating cash flow-18359000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -19.2M 1999
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.5M-4.0M-9.6M-15.2M-20.7M19951996199719981999
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1995Free cash flowUnavailable
1996Free cash flow-4917000
1997Free cash flow-12414000
1998Free cash flow-13085000
1999Free cash flow-19206000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

86.1% 1998
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.93%70%46%23%0%1995-12-311996-12-31199719981999-12-31
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1996-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1997Liabilities / assets74.5%
1998Liabilities / assets86.1%
1999-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.25× 1999
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.0.51×0.38×0.25×0.13×0.00×1995-12-311996199719981999
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1996Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reported
1997Current assets / current liabilities0.47×
1998Current assets / current liabilities0.39×
1999Current assets / current liabilities0.25×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1995 1994-06-01 – 1995-05-31
−USD 9.52 million
Exact value

Exact value: -9523000 USD

1994-06-01 – 1995-05-31: -9523000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 6.59 million
Exact value

Exact value: -6590000 USD

1994-06-01 – 1995-05-31: -6590000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
−USD 9.52 million
Exact value

Exact value: -9523000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: -9523000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 6.59 million
Exact value

Exact value: -6590000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: -6590000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1996 1995-06-01 – 1996-05-31
−USD 4.63 million
Exact value

Exact value: -4627000 USD

1995-06-01 – 1996-05-31: -4627000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 9.77 million
Exact value

Exact value: -9766000 USD

1995-06-01 – 1996-05-31: -9766000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
−USD 2.27 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2265000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: -2265000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 4.75 million
Exact value

Exact value: -4746000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: -4746000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 171,000
Exact value

Exact value: 171000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 171000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 4.92 million
Calculation and evidence

-4746000 − 171000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -4917000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1996-06-01 – 1997-05-31
−USD 9.35 million
Exact value

Exact value: -9354000 USD

1996-06-01 – 1997-05-31: -9354000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 10.57 million
Exact value

Exact value: -10573000 USD

1996-06-01 – 1997-05-31: -10573000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
−USD 23.53 million
Exact value

Exact value: -23533000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: -23533000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 12.16 million
Exact value

Exact value: -12162000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: -12162000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 252,000
Exact value

Exact value: 252000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 252000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 12.41 million
Calculation and evidence

-12162000 − 252000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -12414000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31
−USD 14.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: -14797000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: -14797000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 11.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: -11599000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: -11599000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1486000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 1486000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 13.09 million
Calculation and evidence

-11599000 − 1486000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -13085000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31
−USD 21.66 million
Exact value

Exact value: -21658000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: -21658000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 18.36 million
Exact value

Exact value: -18359000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: -18359000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 847,000
Exact value

Exact value: 847000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: 847000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 19.21 million
Calculation and evidence

-18359000 − 847000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -19206000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

24 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000883558, 883558, edgar:883558