INTERVISUAL BOOKS INC /CA

EDGAR

28 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-05-14 to 2002-11-19. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

4.85 million USD

2002-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

9.48%

2002-09-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 460000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 4850000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-470 thousand USD

2002-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -1856000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -1386000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-472 thousand USD

2002-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -1856000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -1386000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 42000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 40000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
505 thousand USD Source
Exact value

505000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Net income

-2.78 million USD

2001-10-01 – 2002-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: -5182719 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31 Source
  • Net income: -576000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 789000 USD · 2002-01-01 – 2002-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 880000 USD · 2002-04-01 – 2002-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 1827000 USD · 2002-01-01 – 2002-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 1669000 USD · 2002-01-01 – 2002-06-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2002-11-19.

Financial data available through: 2001-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-12-31
  • Operating income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-12-31
  • Net income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-12-31
  • Total assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-12-31
  • Current assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +34.2%

    Prior period

    USD 10.35 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 13.89 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    13894441 − 10352065 = 3542376 USD

    10352065 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    13894441 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    −USD 2.43 million

    Prior period

    −USD 2.75 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 5.18 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -5182719 − -2750777 = -2431942 USD

    -2750777 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -5182719 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +542.9%

    Prior period

    USD 844,049

    –

    Current period

    USD 5.43 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    5426682 − 844049 = 4582633 USD

    844049 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    5426682 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -70.6%

    Prior period

    USD 13,549

    –

    Current period

    USD 3,984

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    3984 − 13549 = -9565 USD

    13549 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    3984 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31

  • Revenue USD 13.89 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 15.88 million 114% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 1.99 million −14% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 3.2 million 23% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 5.18 million −37% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 5.43 million 39% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 3,984 0% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 5.42 million 39% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1994 97%
  • 1995 97%
  • 1996 Operating loss: operating costs were 105% of revenue.
  • 1997 Operating loss: operating costs were 100% of revenue.
  • 1998 Operating loss: operating costs were 126% of revenue.
  • 1999 Operating loss: operating costs were 103% of revenue.
  • 2000 Operating loss: operating costs were 122% of revenue.
  • 2001 Operating loss: operating costs were 114% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-3118730486 18206208 Derived 524278 182375 Derived 341903 2303656 Derived
Source
1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-3119494405 18887815 Derived 606590 127366 Derived 479224 709978 Derived
Source
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-3116766292 17638626 Derived -872334 -459519 Derived -412815 1349052 Derived
Source
1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-3119033430 19100524 Derived -67094 6471 Derived -73565 1329939 Derived
Source
1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-3111397525 14389473 Derived -2991948 -707136 Derived -2284812 -1388218 Derived
Source
1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-3112297119 12724004 Derived -426885 519750 Derived -946635 -540980 Derived
Source
2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-3110352065 12598935 Derived -2246870 503907 Derived -2750777 830500 Derived
Source
2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-3113894441 15879891 Derived -1985450 3197269 Derived -5182719 5422698 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 13.9M 2001
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.21.1M15.8M10.5M5.3M0.0199419982001
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Revenue18730486
1995Revenue19494405
1996Revenue16766292
1997Revenue19033430
1998Revenue11397525
1999Revenue12297119
2000Revenue10352065
2001Revenue13894441

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

34.2% 2001
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.40%19%-3%-25%-46%199419982001
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1995Year over year4.1%
1996Year over year-14%
1997Year over year13.5%
1998Year over year-40.1%
1999Year over year7.9%
2000Year over year-15.8%
2001Year over year34.2%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -14.3% 2001
Net margin -37.3% 2001
Free cash flow margin 39% 2001
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.45%23%1%-21%-43%199419982001
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994Operating margin2.8%
1995Operating margin3.1%
1996Operating margin-5.2%
1997Operating margin-0.4%
1998Operating margin-26.3%
1999Operating margin-3.5%
2000Operating margin-21.7%
2001Operating margin-14.3%
1994Net margin1.8%
1995Net margin2.5%
1996Net margin-2.5%
1997Net margin-0.4%
1998Net margin-20%
1999Net margin-7.7%
2000Net margin-26.6%
2001Net margin-37.3%
1994Free cash flow margin12.3%
1995Free cash flow margin3.6%
1996Free cash flow margin8%
1997Free cash flow margin7%
1998Free cash flow margin-12.2%
1999Free cash flow margin-4.4%
2000Free cash flow margin8%
2001Free cash flow margin39%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 5.4M 2001
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.6.0M4.0M2.0M70.6K-1.9M199419982001
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Operating cash flow2416312
1995Operating cash flow726751
1996Operating cash flow1419288
1997Operating cash flow1545406
1998Operating cash flow-1353120
1999Operating cash flow-509990
2000Operating cash flow844049
2001Operating cash flow5426682

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 5.4M 2001
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.6.0M4.0M2.0M42.1K-1.9M199419982001
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Free cash flow2303656
1995Free cash flow709978
1996Free cash flow1349052
1997Free cash flow1329939
1998Free cash flow-1388218
1999Free cash flow-540980
2000Free cash flow830500
2001Free cash flow5422698

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

133.3% 2001
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.144%108%72%36%0%1994-12-3119982001
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1995Liabilities / assets46.2%
1996Liabilities / assets41.8%
1997Liabilities / assets48.2%
1998Liabilities / assets52.7%
1999Liabilities / assets70.2%
2000Liabilities / assets83%
2001Liabilities / assets133.3%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.55× 2001
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.98×1.48×0.99×0.49×0.00×1994-12-3119982001
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1995Current assets / current liabilities1.77×
1996Current assets / current liabilities1.83×
1997Current assets / current liabilities1.55×
1998Current assets / current liabilities1.18×
1999Current assets / current liabilities1.11×
2000Current assets / current liabilities1.1×
2001Current assets / current liabilities0.55×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31
USD 341,903
Exact value

Exact value: 341903 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 341903 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.42 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2416312 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 2416312 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 112,656
Exact value

Exact value: 112656 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 112656 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.3 million
Calculation and evidence

2416312 − 112656 USD

Exact free cash flow: 2303656 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
USD 479,224
Exact value

Exact value: 479224 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 479224 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 726,751
Exact value

Exact value: 726751 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 726751 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 16,773
Exact value

Exact value: 16773 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 16773 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 709,978
Calculation and evidence

726751 − 16773 USD

Exact free cash flow: 709978 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
−USD 412,815
Exact value

Exact value: -412815 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: -412815 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.42 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1419288 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 1419288 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 70,236
Exact value

Exact value: 70236 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 70236 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.35 million
Calculation and evidence

1419288 − 70236 USD

Exact free cash flow: 1349052 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
−USD 73,565
Exact value

Exact value: -73565 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: -73565 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.55 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1545406 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 1545406 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 215,467
Exact value

Exact value: 215467 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 215467 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.33 million
Calculation and evidence

1545406 − 215467 USD

Exact free cash flow: 1329939 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31
−USD 2.28 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2284812 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: -2284812 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.35 million
Exact value

Exact value: -1353120 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: -1353120 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 35,098
Exact value

Exact value: 35098 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 35098 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.39 million
Calculation and evidence

-1353120 − 35098 USD

Exact free cash flow: -1388218 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31
−USD 946,635
Exact value

Exact value: -946635 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: -946635 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 509,990
Exact value

Exact value: -509990 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: -509990 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 30,990
Exact value

Exact value: 30990 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: 30990 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 540,980
Calculation and evidence

-509990 − 30990 USD

Exact free cash flow: -540980 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31
−USD 2.75 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2750777 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: -2750777 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 844,049
Exact value

Exact value: 844049 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: 844049 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 13,549
Exact value

Exact value: 13549 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: 13549 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 830,500
Calculation and evidence

844049 − 13549 USD

Exact free cash flow: 830500 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31
−USD 5.18 million
Exact value

Exact value: -5182719 USD

2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31: -5182719 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 5.43 million
Exact value

Exact value: 5426682 USD

2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31: 5426682 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3,984
Exact value

Exact value: 3984 USD

2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31: 3984 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 5.42 million
Calculation and evidence

5426682 − 3984 USD

Exact free cash flow: 5422698 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

28 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000879813, 879813, edgar:879813