MONEY STORE INC /NJ

EDGAR

10 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-05-14 to 1998-05-15. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

234 million USD

1998-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Net margin

14.55%

1998-03-31 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net Income: 34039000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 233979000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

197 million USD

1998-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 197471000 USD Source

Free cash flow

185 million USD

1998-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 197471000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 12315000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
290 million USD Source
Exact value

289600000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Net income

99.4 million USD

1997-04-01 – 1998-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 30224000 USD · 1997-04-01 – 1997-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 35054000 USD · 1997-07-01 – 1997-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 92088000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 91977000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 34039000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 1998-05-15.

Financial data available through: 1996-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • operating income: No compatible figures in this window
  • Net income: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Total assets: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • current assets: No compatible figures in this window
  • current liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +52.5%

    Prior period

    USD 510.56 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 778.66 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    778662000 − 510558000 = 268104000 USD

    510558000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    778662000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +75.8%

    Prior period

    USD 48.72 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 85.66 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    85655000 − 48715000 = 36940000 USD

    48715000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    85655000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +USD 78.94 million

    Prior period

    −USD 438.38 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 359.44 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -359443000 − -438380000 = 78937000 USD

    -438380000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -359443000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +178.3%

    Prior period

    USD 17.47 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 48.61 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    48612000 − 17466000 = 31146000 USD

    17466000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    48612000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

  • Revenue USD 778.66 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Operating income Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income USD 85.66 million 11% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow −USD 359.44 million −46% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 48.61 million 6.2% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 408.06 million −52% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1994 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1995 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1996 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31330470000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable31321000 -82544000 Derived
Source
1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31510558000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable48715000 -455846000 Derived
Source
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31778662000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable85655000 -408055000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 778.7M 1996
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.841.0M630.7M420.5M210.2M0.0199419951996
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Revenue330470000
1995Revenue510558000
1996Revenue778662000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

52.5% 1996
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.59%44%29%15%0%199419951996
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1995Year over year54.5%
1996Year over year52.5%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Net margin 11% 1996
Free cash flow margin -52.4% 1996
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.19%-10%-39%-68%-97%1994-12-311995-12-311996-12-31
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1995-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1996-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1994Net margin9.5%
1995Net margin9.5%
1996Net margin11%
1994Free cash flow margin-25%
1995Free cash flow margin-89.3%
1996Free cash flow margin-52.4%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD -359.4M 1996
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.35.1M-92.1M-219.2M-346.3M-473.5M199419951996
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Operating cash flow-67057000
1995Operating cash flow-438380000
1996Operating cash flow-359443000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -408.1M 1996
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.36.5M-95.7M-227.9M-360.1M-492.3M199419951996
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Free cash flow-82544000
1995Free cash flow-455846000
1996Free cash flow-408055000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1995-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1996-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1995-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1996-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31
USD 31.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 31321000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 31321000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 67.06 million
Exact value

Exact value: -67057000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: -67057000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 15.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 15487000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 15487000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 82.54 million
Calculation and evidence

-67057000 − 15487000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -82544000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
USD 48.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: 48715000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 48715000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 438.38 million
Exact value

Exact value: -438380000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: -438380000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 17.47 million
Exact value

Exact value: 17466000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 17466000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 455.85 million
Calculation and evidence

-438380000 − 17466000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -455846000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
USD 85.66 million
Exact value

Exact value: 85655000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 85655000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 359.44 million
Exact value

Exact value: -359443000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: -359443000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 48.61 million
Exact value

Exact value: 48612000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 48612000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 408.06 million
Calculation and evidence

-359443000 − 48612000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -408055000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

10 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000876297, 876297, edgar:876297