Revenue
112 million USD
2018 Q4 · USD
Exact inputs and evidence
- Revenue: 111754000 USD Source
113 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-07-15 to 2018-12-14. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.
112 million USD
2018 Q4 · USD
28.44%
2018 Q4 · %
26.7 million USD
2018 Q4 · USD
14.5 million USD
2018 Q4 · USD
39835000 USD
717396000 USD
Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.
Latest filing recorded: 2018-12-14.
Financial data available through: 2018-08-31.
Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.
Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.
Prior period
USD 477.27 million
–
Current period
USD 423.59 million
–
423590000 − 477267000 = -53677000 USD
477267000 USD · 2016-09-01 – 2017-08-31
Inspect prior input Prior source423590000 USD · 2017-09-01 – 2018-08-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
Prior period
USD 63.66 million
–
Current period
USD 71.21 million
–
71205000 − 63663000 = 7542000 USD
63663000 USD · 2016-09-01 – 2017-08-31
Inspect prior input Prior source71205000 USD · 2017-09-01 – 2018-08-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
Prior period
USD 74.87 million
–
Current period
USD 91.55 million
–
91546000 − 74872000 = 16674000 USD
74872000 USD · 2016-09-01 – 2017-08-31
Inspect prior input Prior source91546000 USD · 2017-09-01 – 2018-08-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
Prior period
USD 46.53 million
–
Current period
USD 36.69 million
–
36690000 − 46528000 = -9838000 USD
46528000 USD · 2016-09-01 – 2017-08-31
Inspect prior input Prior source36690000 USD · 2017-09-01 – 2018-08-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.
| Period | Revenue | Operating costs | Operating income | Tax, interest and other | Net income | Free cash flow | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 2014-09-01 – 2015-08-31 | 606089000 | 489661000 Derived | 116428000 | 51943000 Derived | 64485000 | 94209000 Derived | Source
|
| 2016 2015-09-01 – 2016-08-31 | 606320000 | 478868000 Derived | 127452000 | 63385000 Derived | 64067000 | 69656000 Derived | Source
|
| 2017 2016-09-01 – 2017-08-31 | 477267000 | 353992000 Derived | 123275000 | 59612000 Derived | 63663000 | 28344000 Derived | Source
|
| 2018 2017-09-01 – 2018-08-31 | 423590000 | 317187000 Derived | 106403000 | 35198000 Derived | 71205000 | 54856000 Derived | Source
|
Amounts are exact, in USD.
Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.
Revenue reported for each complete financial period.
| Period | Series | Value(USD) | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | Revenue | 606089000 |
|
| 2016 | Revenue | 606320000 |
|
| 2017 | Revenue | 477267000 |
|
| 2018 | Revenue | 423590000 |
|
Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | Year over year | No prior comparable period |
|
| 2016 | Year over year | 0% |
|
| 2017 | Year over year | -21.3% |
|
| 2018 | Year over year | -11.2% |
|
How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.
Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | Operating margin | 19.2% |
|
| 2016 | Operating margin | 21% |
|
| 2017 | Operating margin | 25.8% |
|
| 2018 | Operating margin | 25.1% |
|
| 2015 | Net margin | 10.6% |
|
| 2016 | Net margin | 10.6% |
|
| 2017 | Net margin | 13.3% |
|
| 2018 | Net margin | 16.8% |
|
| 2015 | Free cash flow margin | 15.5% |
|
| 2016 | Free cash flow margin | 11.5% |
|
| 2017 | Free cash flow margin | 5.9% |
|
| 2018 | Free cash flow margin | 13% |
|
Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.
| Period | Series | Value(USD) | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | Operating cash flow | 136362000 |
|
| 2016 | Operating cash flow | 116209000 |
|
| 2017 | Operating cash flow | 74872000 |
|
| 2018 | Operating cash flow | 91546000 |
|
Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.
| Period | Series | Value(USD) | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | Free cash flow | 94209000 |
|
| 2016 | Free cash flow | 69656000 |
|
| 2017 | Free cash flow | 28344000 |
|
| 2018 | Free cash flow | 54856000 |
|
Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.
Total liabilities as a share of total assets.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015-08-31 | Liabilities / assets | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2016-08-31 | Liabilities / assets | Not reported |
|
| 2017-08-31 | Liabilities / assets | Not reported |
|
| 2018-08-31 | Liabilities / assets | Not reported |
|
Current assets divided by current liabilities.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015-08-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2016 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.84× |
|
| 2017 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.52× |
|
| 2018 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.68× |
|
Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.
| Period | Net income | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditure | Free cash flow |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 2007-09-01 – 2008-08-31 | USD 60.32 million Exact valueExact value: 60319000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 127.14 million Exact valueExact value: 127143000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 105.43 million Exact valueExact value: 105426000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 21.72 million Calculation and evidence127143000 − 105426000 USD Exact free cash flow: 21717000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2015 2014-09-01 – 2015-08-31 | USD 64.49 million Exact valueExact value: 64485000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 136.36 million Exact valueExact value: 136362000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 42.15 million Exact valueExact value: 42153000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 94.21 million Calculation and evidence136362000 − 42153000 USD Exact free cash flow: 94209000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2016 2015-09-01 – 2016-08-31 | USD 64.07 million Exact valueExact value: 64067000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 116.21 million Exact valueExact value: 116209000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 46.55 million Exact valueExact value: 46553000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 69.66 million Calculation and evidence116209000 − 46553000 USD Exact free cash flow: 69656000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2017 2016-09-01 – 2017-08-31 | USD 63.66 million Exact valueExact value: 63663000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 74.87 million Exact valueExact value: 74872000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 46.53 million Exact valueExact value: 46528000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 28.34 million Calculation and evidence74872000 − 46528000 USD Exact free cash flow: 28344000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2018 2017-09-01 – 2018-08-31 | USD 71.21 million Exact valueExact value: 71205000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 91.55 million Exact valueExact value: 91546000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 36.69 million Exact valueExact value: 36690000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 54.86 million Calculation and evidence91546000 − 36690000 USD Exact free cash flow: 54856000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.
Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.
113 filings · 2,995 latest values · 2,995 originally reported values
Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.
Identifiers: 0000868611, 868611, edgar:868611
Also known as SONIC CORP, SONIC CORP.