RUBBERMAID INC

EDGAR

21 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-30 to 1999-02-02. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

629 million USD

1998-10-02 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Net margin

2.79%

1998-10-02 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net Income: 17518000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 628582000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
35.5 million USD Source
Exact value

35528000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 1999-02-02.

Financial data available through: 1997-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • operating income: No compatible figures in this window
  • Net income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Total assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +1.9%

    Prior period

    USD 2.35 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.4 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2399701000 − 2354989000 = 44712000 USD

    2354989000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2399701000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -6.5%

    Prior period

    USD 152.4 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 142.54 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    142536000 − 152398000 = -9862000 USD

    152398000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    142536000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -18.1%

    Prior period

    USD 315.24 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 258.07 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    258067000 − 315241000 = -57174000 USD

    315241000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    258067000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -15.1%

    Prior period

    USD 171.76 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 145.85 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    145847000 − 171764000 = -25917000 USD

    171764000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    145847000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

  • Revenue USD 2.4 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Operating income Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income USD 142.54 million 5.9% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 258.07 million 11% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 145.85 million 6.1% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 112.22 million 4.7% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1991 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1992 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1993 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1994 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1995 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1996 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1997 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1991 1991-01-01 – 1991-12-311667305000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable162650000 126652000 Derived
Source
1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-311805332000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable164095000 42368000 Derived
Source
1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-311960207000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable211413000 147712000 Derived
Source
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-312169354000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable228126000 94193000 Derived
Source
1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-312344170000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable59772000 78493000 Derived
Source
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-312354989000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable152398000 143477000 Derived
Source
1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-312399701000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable142536000 112220000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 2.4B 1997
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.6B1.9B1.3B647.9M0.0199119941997
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Revenue1667305000
1992Revenue1805332000
1993Revenue1960207000
1994Revenue2169354000
1995Revenue2344170000
1996Revenue2354989000
1997Revenue2399701000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

1.9% 1997
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.11.5%8.6%5.8%2.9%0.0%199119941997
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1992Year over year8.3%
1993Year over year8.6%
1994Year over year10.7%
1995Year over year8.1%
1996Year over year0.5%
1997Year over year1.9%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Net margin 5.9% 1997
Free cash flow margin 4.7% 1997
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.11.6%8.7%5.8%2.9%0.0%1991-12-311994-12-311997-12-31
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1992-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1993-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1994-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1995-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1996-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1997-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1991Net margin9.8%
1992Net margin9.1%
1993Net margin10.8%
1994Net margin10.5%
1995Net margin2.5%
1996Net margin6.5%
1997Net margin5.9%
1991Free cash flow margin7.6%
1992Free cash flow margin2.3%
1993Free cash flow margin7.5%
1994Free cash flow margin4.3%
1995Free cash flow margin3.3%
1996Free cash flow margin6.1%
1997Free cash flow margin4.7%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 258.1M 1997
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.340.5M255.3M170.2M85.1M0.0199119941997
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Operating cash flow249165000
1992Operating cash flow176896000
1993Operating cash flow289409000
1994Operating cash flow212193000
1995Operating cash flow230021000
1996Operating cash flow315241000
1997Operating cash flow258067000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 112.2M 1997
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.159.5M119.6M79.8M39.9M0.0199119941997
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Free cash flow126652000
1992Free cash flow42368000
1993Free cash flow147712000
1994Free cash flow94193000
1995Free cash flow78493000
1996Free cash flow143477000
1997Free cash flow112220000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1992-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1993-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1994-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1995-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1996-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1997-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.44× 1997
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.46×2.59×1.73×0.86×0.00×1991-12-3119941997
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1992-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1993Current assets / current liabilities3.2×
1994Current assets / current liabilities3.13×
1995Current assets / current liabilities2.05×
1996Current assets / current liabilities1.15×
1997Current assets / current liabilities1.44×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1991 1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31
USD 162.65 million
Exact value

Exact value: 162650000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: 162650000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 249.17 million
Exact value

Exact value: 249165000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: 249165000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 122.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: 122513000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: 122513000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 126.65 million
Calculation and evidence

249165000 − 122513000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 126652000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31
USD 164.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 164095000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 164095000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 176.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 176896000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 176896000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 134.53 million
Exact value

Exact value: 134528000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 134528000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 42.37 million
Calculation and evidence

176896000 − 134528000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 42368000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31
USD 211.41 million
Exact value

Exact value: 211413000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 211413000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 289.41 million
Exact value

Exact value: 289409000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 289409000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 141.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 141697000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 141697000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 147.71 million
Calculation and evidence

289409000 − 141697000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 147712000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31
USD 228.13 million
Exact value

Exact value: 228126000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 228126000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 212.19 million
Exact value

Exact value: 212193000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 212193000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 118 million
Exact value

Exact value: 118000000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 118000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 94.19 million
Calculation and evidence

212193000 − 118000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 94193000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
USD 59.77 million
Exact value

Exact value: 59772000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 59772000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 230.02 million
Exact value

Exact value: 230021000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 230021000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 151.53 million
Exact value

Exact value: 151528000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 151528000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 78.49 million
Calculation and evidence

230021000 − 151528000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 78493000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
USD 152.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 152398000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 152398000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 315.24 million
Exact value

Exact value: 315241000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 315241000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 171.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 171764000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 171764000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 143.48 million
Calculation and evidence

315241000 − 171764000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 143477000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
USD 142.54 million
Exact value

Exact value: 142536000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 142536000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 258.07 million
Exact value

Exact value: 258067000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 258067000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 145.85 million
Exact value

Exact value: 145847000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 145847000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 112.22 million
Calculation and evidence

258067000 − 145847000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 112220000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

21 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000085627, 85627, edgar:85627