CHICAGO & NORTH WESTERN TRANSPORTATION CO /DE/

EDGAR

9 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-21 to 1995-06-20. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

307 million USD

1995-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

22.54%

1995-03-31 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 69200000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 307000000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

28.4 million USD

1995-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 28400000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
107 million USD Source
Exact value

106500000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
1.06 billion USD
Exact inputs and evidence

1060200000 USD

  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 1060200000 USD Source
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

1.16 billion USD

1994-04-01 – 1995-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 282600000 USD · 1994-04-01 – 1994-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 290700000 USD · 1994-07-01 – 1994-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 1129800000 USD · 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 847200000 USD · 1994-01-01 – 1994-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 307000000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-03-31 Source

Net income

94.7 million USD

1994-04-01 – 1995-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 21500000 USD · 1994-04-01 – 1994-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 27100000 USD · 1994-07-01 – 1994-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 84000000 USD · 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 64600000 USD · 1994-01-01 – 1994-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 26700000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 1995-06-20.

Financial data available through: 1994-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1994-12-31
  • Operating income: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1994-12-31
  • Net income: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1994-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1993-12-31
  • capital expenditure: No compatible figures in this window
  • Total assets: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1994-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1994-12-31
  • Current assets: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1994-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1994-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1994-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 1993-12-31
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +8.3%

    Prior period

    USD 1.04 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.13 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1129800000 − 1043200000 = 86600000 USD

    1043200000 USD · 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1129800000 USD · 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +57.9%

    Prior period

    USD 53.2 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 84 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    84000000 − 53200000 = 30800000 USD

    53200000 USD · 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    84000000 USD · 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Operating cash flow, Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31

  • Revenue USD 1.13 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 903.9 million 80% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 225.9 million 20% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 141.9 million 13% of revenue
  • Net income USD 84 million 7.4% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1991 Net loss: net income was −7.4% of revenue.
  • 1992 Net loss: net income was −5.7% of revenue.
  • 1993 15%80%
  • 1994 13%80%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1991 1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31979000000 904000000 Derived 75000000 147500000 Derived -72500000 Unavailable
Source
1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31985000000 810800000 Derived 174200000 230400000 Derived -56200000 Unavailable
Source
1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-311043200000 834100000 Derived 209100000 155900000 Derived 53200000 Unavailable
Source
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-311129800000 903900000 Derived 225900000 141900000 Derived 84000000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 1.1B 1994
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.2B915.1M610.1M305.0M0.01991199219931994
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Revenue979000000
1992Revenue985000000
1993Revenue1043200000
1994Revenue1129800000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

8.3% 1994
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.9.0%6.7%4.5%2.2%0.0%1991199219931994
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1992Year over year0.6%
1993Year over year5.9%
1994Year over year8.3%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 20% 1994
Net margin 7.4% 1994
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.22.2%14.3%6.3%-1.6%-9.6%1991199219931994
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991Operating margin7.7%
1992Operating margin17.7%
1993Operating margin20%
1994Operating margin20%
1991Net margin-7.4%
1992Net margin-5.7%
1993Net margin5.1%
1994Net margin7.4%
1991Free cash flow marginNot reported
1992Free cash flow marginNot reported
1993Free cash flow marginNot reported
1994Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 180.6M 1993
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.195.0M146.3M97.5M48.8M0.01991199219931994
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Operating cash flow44400000
1992Operating cash flow128100000
1993Operating cash flow180600000
1994Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Free cash flowUnavailable
1992Free cash flowUnavailable
1993Free cash flowUnavailable
1994Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

85.8% 1994
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.100%75%50%25%0%1991-12-31199219931994
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1992Liabilities / assets93.1%
1993Liabilities / assets89.4%
1994Liabilities / assets85.8%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.02× 1994
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.11×0.83×0.56×0.28×0.00×1991-12-31199219931994
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1992Current assets / current liabilities0.91×
1993Current assets / current liabilities1.03×
1994Current assets / current liabilities1.02×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1991 1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31
−USD 72.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: -72500000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: -72500000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 44.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 44400000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: 44400000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31
−USD 56.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: -56200000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: -56200000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 128.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 128100000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 128100000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31
USD 53.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 53200000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 53200000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 180.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 180600000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 180600000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31
USD 84 million
Exact value

Exact value: 84000000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 84000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

9 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000854884, 854884, edgar:854884

Also known as CHICAGO & NORTH WESTERN HOLDINGS CORP