ORYX ENERGY CO

EDGAR

27 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-11 to 1998-11-03. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

194 million USD

1998-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Net margin

-22.16%

1998-09-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net Income: -43000000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 194000000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

54 million USD

1998-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 237000000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 183000000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-51 million USD

1998-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 237000000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 183000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 436000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 331000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
7 million USD Source
Exact value

7000000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Net income

15 million USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 170000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 131000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 3000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 16000000 USD · 1998-04-01 – 1998-06-30 Source
  • Net income: -43000000 USD · 1998-07-01 – 1998-09-30 Source

Operating cash flow

337 million USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 559000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 459000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 139000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 183000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 139000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 237000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 183000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-06-30 Source

Capital expenditure

549 million USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 523000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 410000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 193000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 331000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 193000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 436000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 331000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-06-30 Source

Free cash flow

-212 million USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 559000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 459000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 139000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 183000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 139000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 237000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 183000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 523000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 410000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 193000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 331000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 193000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 436000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 331000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-06-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 1998-11-03.

Financial data available through: 1997-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • operating income: No compatible figures in this window
  • Net income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Total assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +4.4%

    Prior period

    USD 1.15 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.2 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1197000000 − 1147000000 = 50000000 USD

    1147000000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1197000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +4.3%

    Prior period

    USD 163 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 170 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    170000000 − 163000000 = 7000000 USD

    163000000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    170000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +4.5%

    Prior period

    USD 535 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 559 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    559000000 − 535000000 = 24000000 USD

    535000000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    559000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +8.1%

    Prior period

    USD 484 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 523 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    523000000 − 484000000 = 39000000 USD

    484000000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    523000000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

  • Revenue USD 1.2 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Operating income Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income USD 170 million 14% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 559 million 47% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 523 million 44% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 36 million 3% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1991 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1992 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1993 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1994 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1995 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1996 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1997 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1991 1991-01-01 – 1991-12-311598000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable19000000 Unavailable
Source
1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-311392000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable14000000 Unavailable
Source
1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-311054000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-100000000 -74000000 Derived
Source
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-311072000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-1025000000 15000000 Derived
Source
1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-311129000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable135000000 52000000 Derived
Source
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-311147000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable163000000 51000000 Derived
Source
1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-311197000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable170000000 36000000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 1.2B 1997
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.7B1.3B862.9M431.5M0.0199119941997
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Revenue1598000000
1992Revenue1392000000
1993Revenue1054000000
1994Revenue1072000000
1995Revenue1129000000
1996Revenue1147000000
1997Revenue1197000000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

4.4% 1997
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.7%-0.9%-9.5%-18.1%-26.6%199119941997
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1992Year over year-12.9%
1993Year over year-24.3%
1994Year over year1.7%
1995Year over year5.3%
1996Year over year1.6%
1997Year over year4.4%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Net margin 14.2% 1997
Free cash flow margin 3% 1997
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.23%-9%-41%-73%-104%1991-12-311994-12-311997-12-31
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1992-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1993-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1994-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1995-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1996-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1997-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1991Net margin1.2%
1992Net margin1%
1993Net margin-9.5%
1994Net margin-95.6%
1995Net margin12%
1996Net margin14.2%
1997Net margin14.2%
1991Free cash flow marginNot reported
1992Free cash flow marginNot reported
1993Free cash flow margin-7%
1994Free cash flow margin1.4%
1995Free cash flow margin4.6%
1996Free cash flow margin4.4%
1997Free cash flow margin3%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 559M 1997
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.634.0M475.5M317.0M158.5M0.0199119941997
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Operating cash flow587000000
1992Operating cash flow522000000
1993Operating cash flow379000000
1994Operating cash flow296000000
1995Operating cash flow325000000
1996Operating cash flow535000000
1997Operating cash flow559000000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 36M 1997
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.62.1M25.5M-11.0M-47.5M-84.1M199119941997
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Free cash flowUnavailable
1992Free cash flowUnavailable
1993Free cash flow-74000000
1994Free cash flow15000000
1995Free cash flow52000000
1996Free cash flow51000000
1997Free cash flow36000000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1992-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1993-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1994-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1995-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1996-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1997-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.62× 1997
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.0.70×0.53×0.35×0.18×0.00×1991-12-3119941997
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1992Current assets / current liabilities0.48×
1993Current assets / current liabilities0.63×
1994Current assets / current liabilities0.37×
1995Current assets / current liabilities0.4×
1996Current assets / current liabilities0.65×
1997Current assets / current liabilities0.62×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1991 1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31
USD 19 million
Exact value

Exact value: 19000000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: 19000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 587 million
Exact value

Exact value: 587000000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: 587000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31
USD 14 million
Exact value

Exact value: 14000000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 14000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 522 million
Exact value

Exact value: 522000000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 522000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31
−USD 100 million
Exact value

Exact value: -100000000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: -100000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 379 million
Exact value

Exact value: 379000000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 379000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 453 million
Exact value

Exact value: 453000000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 453000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 74 million
Calculation and evidence

379000000 − 453000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -74000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31
−USD 1.03 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -1025000000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: -1025000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 296 million
Exact value

Exact value: 296000000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 296000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 281 million
Exact value

Exact value: 281000000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 281000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 15 million
Calculation and evidence

296000000 − 281000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 15000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
USD 135 million
Exact value

Exact value: 135000000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 135000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 325 million
Exact value

Exact value: 325000000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 325000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 273 million
Exact value

Exact value: 273000000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 273000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 52 million
Calculation and evidence

325000000 − 273000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 52000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
USD 163 million
Exact value

Exact value: 163000000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 163000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 535 million
Exact value

Exact value: 535000000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 535000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 484 million
Exact value

Exact value: 484000000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 484000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 51 million
Calculation and evidence

535000000 − 484000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 51000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
USD 170 million
Exact value

Exact value: 170000000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 170000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 559 million
Exact value

Exact value: 559000000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 559000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 523 million
Exact value

Exact value: 523000000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 523000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 36 million
Calculation and evidence

559000000 − 523000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 36000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

27 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000836442, 836442, edgar:836442