SMITHFIELD COMPANIES INC

EDGAR

24 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1995-08-14 to 2001-06-29. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

3 million USD

2001-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-9.76%

2001-03-31 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 720548 USD Source
  • Operating Income: 1013238 USD Source
  • Revenue: 20154314 USD Source
  • Revenue: 17156691 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-196 thousand USD

2001-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 1661423 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 1857725 USD Source

Free cash flow

-321 thousand USD

2001-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 1661423 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 1857725 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 366993 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 242256 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
6.78 million USD Source
Exact value

6782807 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

20.2 million USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 4238398 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 4081153 USD · 2000-07-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 8837140 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 20154314 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 17156691 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-12-31 Source

Net income

860 thousand USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 107236 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 124419 USD · 2000-07-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 655035 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 860204 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 886690 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-12-31 Source

Capital expenditure

367 thousand USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 34414 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 145595 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 34414 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 242256 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 145595 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 366993 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 242256 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-12-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2001-06-29.

Financial data available through: 2001-03-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Operating income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Net income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Operating cash flow: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Capital expenditure: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Total assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Current liabilities: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2001-03-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +0.7%

    Prior period

    USD 20.02 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 20.15 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    20154314 − 20020769 = 133545 USD

    20020769 USD · 1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    20154314 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -5.4%

    Prior period

    USD 908,870

    –

    Current period

    USD 860,204

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    860204 − 908870 = -48666 USD

    908870 USD · 1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    860204 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +151.8%

    Prior period

    USD 659,881

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.66 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1661423 − 659881 = 1001542 USD

    659881 USD · 1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1661423 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -58.1%

    Prior period

    USD 876,363

    –

    Current period

    USD 366,993

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    366993 − 876363 = -509370 USD

    876363 USD · 1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    366993 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2001 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

  • Revenue USD 20.15 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 13.59 million 67% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 5.87 million 29% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 720,548 3.6% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −USD 139,656 −0.7% of revenue
  • Net income USD 860,204 4.3% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 1.66 million 8.2% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 366,993 1.8% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 1.29 million 6.4% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1994 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 1995 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 1996 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 1997 95%
  • 1998 93%
  • 1999 91%
  • 2000 95%
  • 2001 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1994 1993-04-01 – 1994-03-3117737451 17113417 Derived 624034 -314614 Derived 938648 -75303 Derived
Source
1995 1994-04-01 – 1995-03-3117854209 16799995 Derived 1054214 -338295 Derived 1392509 2795430 Derived
Source
1996 1995-04-01 – 1996-03-3118180219 17223676 Derived 956543 -1695216 Derived 2651759 1579899 Derived
Source
1997 1996-04-01 – 1997-03-3119481357 18431111 Derived 1050246 139230 Derived 911016 -21185 Derived
Source
1998 1997-04-01 – 1998-03-3120425385 19086672 Derived 1338713 261598 Derived 1077115 1448512 Derived
Source
1999 1998-04-01 – 1999-03-3121195201 19293311 Derived 1901890 440180 Derived 1461710 198825 Derived
Source
2000 1999-04-01 – 2000-03-3120020769 18960920 Derived 1059849 150979 Derived 908870 -216482 Derived
Source
2001 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-3120154314 19433766 Derived 720548 -139656 Derived 860204 1294430 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 20.2M 2001
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.22.9M17.2M11.4M5.7M0.0199419982001
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Revenue17737451
1995Revenue17854209
1996Revenue18180219
1997Revenue19481357
1998Revenue20425385
1999Revenue21195201
2000Revenue20020769
2001Revenue20154314

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

0.7% 2001
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.8.2%4.5%0.8%-2.9%-6.6%199419982001
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1995Year over year0.7%
1996Year over year1.8%
1997Year over year7.2%
1998Year over year4.8%
1999Year over year3.8%
2000Year over year-5.5%
2001Year over year0.7%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 3.6% 2001
Net margin 4.3% 2001
Free cash flow margin 6.4% 2001
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.17.0%12.1%7.3%2.4%-2.4%199419982001
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994Operating margin3.5%
1995Operating margin5.9%
1996Operating margin5.3%
1997Operating margin5.4%
1998Operating margin6.6%
1999Operating margin9%
2000Operating margin5.3%
2001Operating margin3.6%
1994Net margin5.3%
1995Net margin7.8%
1996Net margin14.6%
1997Net margin4.7%
1998Net margin5.3%
1999Net margin6.9%
2000Net margin4.5%
2001Net margin4.3%
1994Free cash flow margin-0.4%
1995Free cash flow margin15.7%
1996Free cash flow margin8.7%
1997Free cash flow margin-0.1%
1998Free cash flow margin7.1%
1999Free cash flow margin0.9%
2000Free cash flow margin-1.1%
2001Free cash flow margin6.4%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 1.7M 2001
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.4M2.6M1.7M855.8K0.0199419982001
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Operating cash flow1185383
1995Operating cash flow3169659
1996Operating cash flow1762005
1997Operating cash flow467738
1998Operating cash flow1755761
1999Operating cash flow2636595
2000Operating cash flow659881
2001Operating cash flow1661423

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 1.3M 2001
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.0M2.2M1.3M416.0K-457.4K199419982001
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Free cash flow-75303
1995Free cash flow2795430
1996Free cash flow1579899
1997Free cash flow-21185
1998Free cash flow1448512
1999Free cash flow198825
2000Free cash flow-216482
2001Free cash flow1294430

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1995-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1996-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1997-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1998-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1999-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2000-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2001-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

8.88× 2001
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.10.51×7.88×5.26×2.63×0.00×1994-03-3119982001
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-03-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1995Current assets / current liabilities4.05×
1996Current assets / current liabilities7.71×
1997Current assets / current liabilities7.1×
1998Current assets / current liabilities9.73×
1999Current assets / current liabilities8.43×
2000Current assets / current liabilities9.38×
2001Current assets / current liabilities8.88×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1994 1993-04-01 – 1994-03-31
USD 938,648
Exact value

Exact value: 938648 USD

1993-04-01 – 1994-03-31: 938648 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.19 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1185383 USD

1993-04-01 – 1994-03-31: 1185383 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.26 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1260686 USD

1993-04-01 – 1994-03-31: 1260686 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 75,303
Calculation and evidence

1185383 − 1260686 USD

Exact free cash flow: -75303 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1994-04-01 – 1995-03-31
USD 1.39 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1392509 USD

1994-04-01 – 1995-03-31: 1392509 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.17 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3169659 USD

1994-04-01 – 1995-03-31: 3169659 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 374,229
Exact value

Exact value: 374229 USD

1994-04-01 – 1995-03-31: 374229 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.8 million
Calculation and evidence

3169659 − 374229 USD

Exact free cash flow: 2795430 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1995-04-01 – 1996-03-31
USD 2.65 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2651759 USD

1995-04-01 – 1996-03-31: 2651759 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1762005 USD

1995-04-01 – 1996-03-31: 1762005 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 182,106
Exact value

Exact value: 182106 USD

1995-04-01 – 1996-03-31: 182106 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.58 million
Calculation and evidence

1762005 − 182106 USD

Exact free cash flow: 1579899 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1996-04-01 – 1997-03-31
USD 911,016
Exact value

Exact value: 911016 USD

1996-04-01 – 1997-03-31: 911016 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 467,738
Exact value

Exact value: 467738 USD

1996-04-01 – 1997-03-31: 467738 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 488,923
Exact value

Exact value: 488923 USD

1996-04-01 – 1997-03-31: 488923 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 21,185
Calculation and evidence

467738 − 488923 USD

Exact free cash flow: -21185 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1997-04-01 – 1998-03-31
USD 1.08 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1077115 USD

1997-04-01 – 1998-03-31: 1077115 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1755761 USD

1997-04-01 – 1998-03-31: 1755761 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 307,249
Exact value

Exact value: 307249 USD

1997-04-01 – 1998-03-31: 307249 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.45 million
Calculation and evidence

1755761 − 307249 USD

Exact free cash flow: 1448512 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1999 1998-04-01 – 1999-03-31
USD 1.46 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1461710 USD

1998-04-01 – 1999-03-31: 1461710 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2636595 USD

1998-04-01 – 1999-03-31: 2636595 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.44 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2437770 USD

1998-04-01 – 1999-03-31: 2437770 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 198,825
Calculation and evidence

2636595 − 2437770 USD

Exact free cash flow: 198825 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2000 1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31
USD 908,870
Exact value

Exact value: 908870 USD

1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31: 908870 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 659,881
Exact value

Exact value: 659881 USD

1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31: 659881 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 876,363
Exact value

Exact value: 876363 USD

1999-04-01 – 2000-03-31: 876363 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 216,482
Calculation and evidence

659881 − 876363 USD

Exact free cash flow: -216482 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2001 2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31
USD 860,204
Exact value

Exact value: 860204 USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31: 860204 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.66 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1661423 USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31: 1661423 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 366,993
Exact value

Exact value: 366993 USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31: 366993 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.29 million
Calculation and evidence

1661423 − 366993 USD

Exact free cash flow: 1294430 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

24 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000835342, 835342, edgar:835342