RALSTON PURINA CO

EDGAR

36 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-02-14 to 2001-08-09. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

707 million USD

2001-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Net margin

10.96%

2001-06-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net Income: 77500000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 707200000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
240 million USD Source
Exact value

240000000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Net income

297 million USD

2000-07-01 – 2001-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 530400000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 446900000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 81400000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 54400000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 77500000 USD · 2001-04-01 – 2001-06-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2001-08-09.

Financial data available through: 2000-09-30.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-09-30
  • operating income: No compatible figures in this window
  • Net income: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • operating cash flow: No compatible figures in this window
  • Capital expenditure: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Total assets: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Current liabilities: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Net income

    +5%

    Prior period

    USD 505.1 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 530.4 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    530400000 − 505100000 = 25300000 USD

    505100000 USD · 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    530400000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +11.7%

    Prior period

    USD 99.2 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 110.8 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    110800000 − 99200000 = 11600000 USD

    99200000 USD · 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    110800000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Revenue, Operating cash flow.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1998 1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30

  • Revenue USD 4.65 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Operating income Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income USD 1.11 billion 24% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Capital expenditure USD 114.2 million 2.5% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1992 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1993 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1994 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1996 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1997 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1998 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1992 1991-10-01 – 1992-09-307752400000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable313200000 Unavailable
Source
1993 1992-10-01 – 1993-09-307902200000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable122600000 Unavailable
Source
1994 1993-10-01 – 1994-09-307705300000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable208900000 Unavailable
Source
1996 1995-10-01 – 1996-09-304301900000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable359600000 Unavailable
Source
1997 1996-10-01 – 1997-09-304486800000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable423700000 Unavailable
Source
1998 1997-10-01 – 1998-09-304653300000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable1105700000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 4.7B 1998
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.8.5B6.4B4.3B2.1B0.0199219961998
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Revenue7752400000
1993Revenue7902200000
1994Revenue7705300000
1996Revenue4301900000
1997Revenue4486800000
1998Revenue4653300000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

3.7% 1998
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.4.8%2.9%0.9%-1.1%-3.0%199219961998
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1993Year over year1.9%
1994Year over year-2.5%
1996Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1997Year over year4.3%
1998Year over year3.7%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Net margin 23.8% 1998
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.25.7%19.2%12.8%6.4%0.0%1992-09-301996-09-301998-09-30
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992-09-30Operating marginNot reported
1993-09-30Operating marginNot reported
1994-09-30Operating marginNot reported
1996-09-30Operating marginNot reported
1997-09-30Operating marginNot reported
1998-09-30Operating marginNot reported
1992Net margin4%
1993Net margin1.6%
1994Net margin2.7%
1996Net margin8.4%
1997Net margin9.4%
1998Net margin23.8%
1992Free cash flow marginNot reported
1993Free cash flow marginNot reported
1994Free cash flow marginNot reported
1996Free cash flow marginNot reported
1997Free cash flow marginNot reported
1998Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1993Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1994Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1996Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1997Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1998Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Free cash flowUnavailable
1993Free cash flowUnavailable
1994Free cash flowUnavailable
1996Free cash flowUnavailable
1997Free cash flowUnavailable
1998Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1993-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1994-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1996-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1997-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1998-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.97× 1998
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.34×1.00×0.67×0.33×0.00×1992-09-3019961998
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992-09-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1993Current assets / current liabilities1.12×
1994Current assets / current liabilities1.03×
1996Current assets / current liabilities0.99×
1997Current assets / current liabilities1.24×
1998Current assets / current liabilities0.97×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1992 1991-10-01 – 1992-09-30
USD 313.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 313200000 USD

1991-10-01 – 1992-09-30: 313200000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 325.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 325400000 USD

1991-10-01 – 1992-09-30: 325400000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

1993 1992-10-01 – 1993-09-30
USD 122.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 122600000 USD

1992-10-01 – 1993-09-30: 122600000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 320.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 320800000 USD

1992-10-01 – 1993-09-30: 320800000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

1994 1993-10-01 – 1994-09-30
USD 208.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 208900000 USD

1993-10-01 – 1994-09-30: 208900000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 332.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 332100000 USD

1993-10-01 – 1994-09-30: 332100000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

1995 1994-10-01 – 1995-09-30
USD 296.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 296400000 USD

1994-10-01 – 1995-09-30: 296400000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 235.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 235200000 USD

1994-10-01 – 1995-09-30: 235200000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

1996 1995-10-01 – 1996-09-30
USD 359.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 359600000 USD

1995-10-01 – 1996-09-30: 359600000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 228.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 228800000 USD

1995-10-01 – 1996-09-30: 228800000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

1997 1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30
USD 423.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 423700000 USD

1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30: 423700000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 282.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 282900000 USD

1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30: 282900000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

1998 1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30
USD 1.11 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1105700000 USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30: 1105700000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 114.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 114200000 USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30: 114200000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

1999 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30
USD 505.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 505100000 USD

1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30: 505100000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 99.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 99200000 USD

1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30: 99200000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2000 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30
USD 530.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 530400000 USD

1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30: 530400000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 110.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 110800000 USD

1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30: 110800000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

36 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000081870, 81870, edgar:81870