WD Media, Inc.

EDGAR

57 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1995-05-11 to 2007-08-06. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

187 million USD

2007-07-01 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-11.12%

2007-07-01 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -20819000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 187173000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-39.8 million USD

2007-07-01 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -50439000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -10628000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-57 million USD

2007-07-01 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -50439000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -10628000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 41806000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 24655000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
99.9 million USD Source
Exact value

99888000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2007-08-06.

Financial data available through: 2006-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • Operating income: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • Net income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • Total assets: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • Current assets: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +36.7%

    Prior period

    USD 685.95 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 937.68 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    937676000 − 685946000 = 251730000 USD

    685946000 USD · 2005-01-02 – 2006-01-01

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    937676000 USD · 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +36.2%

    Prior period

    USD 115.64 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 157.53 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    157533000 − 115637000 = 41896000 USD

    115637000 USD · 2005-01-02 – 2006-01-01

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    157533000 USD · 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -0.5%

    Prior period

    USD 245.52 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 244.37 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    244374000 − 245524000 = -1150000 USD

    245524000 USD · 2005-01-02 – 2006-01-01

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    244374000 USD · 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +83.8%

    Prior period

    USD 155.61 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 286.08 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    286082000 − 155613000 = 130469000 USD

    155613000 USD · 2005-01-02 – 2006-01-01

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    286082000 USD · 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31

  • Revenue USD 937.68 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 689.99 million 74% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 98.23 million 10% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 149.45 million 16% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −USD 8.08 million −0.9% of revenue
  • Net income USD 157.53 million 17% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 244.37 million 26% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 286.08 million 31% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 41.71 million −4.4% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1999 Operating loss: operating costs were 201% of revenue.
  • 1999 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2000 Operating loss: operating costs were 111% of revenue.
  • 2001 Operating loss: operating costs were 152% of revenue.
  • 2003 89%
  • 2005 11%88%
  • 2006 17%83%
  • 2006 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1999 1998-01-04 – 1999-01-03328883000 660802000 Derived -331919000 34417000 Derived -366336000 Unavailable
Source
1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31331946000 623035000 Derived -291089000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source
2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31358463000 396758000 Derived -38295000 29763000 Derived -68058000 -5819000 Derived
Source
2001 2000-12-31 – 2001-12-30282613000 429055000 Derived -146442000 149953000 Derived -296395000 -48710000 Derived
Source
2003 2002-12-29 – 2003-12-28438292000 388873000 Derived 49419000 13379000 Derived 36040000 50297000 Derived
Source
2005 2004-01-03 – 2005-01-02458377000 403995000 Derived 54382000 3027000 Derived 51355000 2065000 Derived
Source
2006 2005-01-02 – 2006-01-01685946000 568014000 Derived 117932000 2295000 Derived 115637000 89911000 Derived
Source
2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31937676000 788224000 Derived 149452000 -8081000 Derived 157533000 -41708000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 937.7M 2006
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.0B759.5M506.3M253.2M0.0199720012006
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1997Revenue631082000
1999Revenue328883000
1999Revenue331946000
2000Revenue358463000
2001Revenue282613000
2003Revenue438292000
2005Revenue458377000
2006Revenue685946000
2006Revenue937676000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

36.7% 2006
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.57%29%1%-27%-56%199720012006
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1999Year over year-47.9%
1999Year over year0.9%
2000Year over year8%
2001Year over year-21.2%
2003Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2005Year over year4.6%
2006Year over year49.6%
2006Year over year36.7%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 15.9% 2006
Net margin 16.8% 2006
Free cash flow margin -4.4% 2006
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.27%-10%-47%-84%-122%199720012006
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997Operating margin-6%
1999Operating margin-100.9%
1999Operating margin-87.7%
2000Operating margin-10.7%
2001Operating margin-51.8%
2003Operating margin11.3%
2005Operating margin11.9%
2006Operating margin17.2%
2006Operating margin15.9%
1997Net margin-3.5%
1999Net margin-111.4%
1999-12-31Net marginNot reported
2000Net margin-19%
2001Net margin-104.9%
2003Net margin8.2%
2005Net margin11.2%
2006Net margin16.9%
2006Net margin16.8%
1997Free cash flow marginNot reported
1999Free cash flow marginNot reported
1999Free cash flow marginNot reported
2000Free cash flow margin-1.6%
2001Free cash flow margin-17.2%
2003Free cash flow margin11.5%
2005Free cash flow margin0.5%
2006Free cash flow margin13.1%
2006Free cash flow margin-4.4%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 244.4M 2006
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.267.0M189.1M111.2M33.4M-44.5M199720012006
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1997Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1999Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1999Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2000Operating cash flow23447000
2001Operating cash flow-23037000
2003Operating cash flow76189000
2005Operating cash flow61267000
2006Operating cash flow245524000
2006Operating cash flow244374000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -41.7M 2006
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.101.0M60.8M20.6M-19.6M-59.8M199720012006
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1997Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
1999Free cash flowUnavailable
1999Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2000Free cash flow-5819000
2001Free cash flow-48710000
2003Free cash flow50297000
2005Free cash flow2065000
2006Free cash flow89911000
2006Free cash flow-41708000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

38.4% 2006
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.146%110%73%37%0%1997-12-2820012006
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997-12-28Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1999-01-03Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1999-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2000-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2001Liabilities / assets135.5%
2003Liabilities / assets52.1%
2005Liabilities / assets33.3%
2006Liabilities / assets42.7%
2006Liabilities / assets38.4%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.43× 2006
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.5.31×3.98×2.66×1.33×0.00×199720012006
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997Current assets / current liabilities4.92×
1999Current assets / current liabilities0.7×
1999-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2000Current assets / current liabilities0.46×
2001Current assets / current liabilities1.7×
2003Current assets / current liabilities1.86×
2005Current assets / current liabilities3.51×
2006Current assets / current liabilities1.64×
2006Current assets / current liabilities1.43×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1999 1998-01-03 – 1999-01-02
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 23.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 23601000 USD

1998-01-03 – 1999-01-02: 23601000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1999 1998-01-04 – 1999-01-03
−USD 366.34 million
Exact value

Exact value: -366336000 USD

1998-01-04 – 1999-01-03: -366336000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 89.03 million
Exact value

Exact value: 89033000 USD

1998-01-04 – 1999-01-03: 89033000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2000 1999-01-03 – 2000-01-02
−USD 283.05 million
Exact value

Exact value: -283049000 USD

1999-01-03 – 2000-01-02: -283049000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 31.95 million
Exact value

Exact value: -31954000 USD

1999-01-03 – 2000-01-02: -31954000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 32.02 million
Exact value

Exact value: 32017000 USD

1999-01-03 – 2000-01-02: 32017000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 63.97 million
Calculation and evidence

-31954000 − 32017000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -63971000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31
−USD 68.06 million
Exact value

Exact value: -68058000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: -68058000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 23.45 million
Exact value

Exact value: 23447000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: 23447000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 29.27 million
Exact value

Exact value: 29266000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: 29266000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 5.82 million
Calculation and evidence

23447000 − 29266000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -5819000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2001 2000-12-31 – 2001-12-30
−USD 296.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: -296395000 USD

2000-12-31 – 2001-12-30: -296395000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 23.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: -23037000 USD

2000-12-31 – 2001-12-30: -23037000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 25.67 million
Exact value

Exact value: 25673000 USD

2000-12-31 – 2001-12-30: 25673000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 48.71 million
Calculation and evidence

-23037000 − 25673000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -48710000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2003 2002-01-03 – 2003-01-02
USD 36.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 36040000 USD

2002-01-03 – 2003-01-02: 36040000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 76.19 million
Exact value

Exact value: 76189000 USD

2002-01-03 – 2003-01-02: 76189000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 25.89 million
Exact value

Exact value: 25892000 USD

2002-01-03 – 2003-01-02: 25892000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 50.3 million
Calculation and evidence

76189000 − 25892000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 50297000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2003 2002-12-29 – 2003-12-28
USD 36.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 36040000 USD

2002-12-29 – 2003-12-28: 36040000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 76.19 million
Exact value

Exact value: 76189000 USD

2002-12-29 – 2003-12-28: 76189000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 25.89 million
Exact value

Exact value: 25892000 USD

2002-12-29 – 2003-12-28: 25892000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 50.3 million
Calculation and evidence

76189000 − 25892000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 50297000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2005 2004-01-03 – 2005-01-02
USD 51.36 million
Exact value

Exact value: 51355000 USD

2004-01-03 – 2005-01-02: 51355000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 61.27 million
Exact value

Exact value: 61267000 USD

2004-01-03 – 2005-01-02: 61267000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 59.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 59202000 USD

2004-01-03 – 2005-01-02: 59202000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.07 million
Calculation and evidence

61267000 − 59202000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 2065000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2006 2005-01-02 – 2006-01-01
USD 115.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: 115637000 USD

2005-01-02 – 2006-01-01: 115637000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 245.52 million
Exact value

Exact value: 245524000 USD

2005-01-02 – 2006-01-01: 245524000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 155.61 million
Exact value

Exact value: 155613000 USD

2005-01-02 – 2006-01-01: 155613000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 89.91 million
Calculation and evidence

245524000 − 155613000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 89911000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31
USD 157.53 million
Exact value

Exact value: 157533000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 157533000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 244.37 million
Exact value

Exact value: 244374000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 244374000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 286.08 million
Exact value

Exact value: 286082000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 286082000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 41.71 million
Calculation and evidence

244374000 − 286082000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -41708000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

57 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000813347, 813347, edgar:813347

Also known as KOMAG INC /DE/