PHYSICIAN CORPORATION OF AMERICA /DE/

EDGAR

9 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-05-15 to 1997-08-18. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

377 million USD

1997-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

3.09%

1997-06-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 11664000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 377128000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-69.2 million USD

1997-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -110664000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -41500000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-70.2 million USD

1997-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -110664000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -41500000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 2595000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 1545000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
88.5 million USD Source
Exact value

88472000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

1.47 billion USD

1996-07-01 – 1997-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 362080000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 1454308000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 1089192000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 365484000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 377128000 USD · 1997-04-01 – 1997-06-30 Source

Net income

-267 million USD

1996-07-01 – 1997-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: -95514000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Net income: -277685000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Net income: -95112000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 4623000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 6486000 USD · 1997-04-01 – 1997-06-30 Source

Operating cash flow

-153 million USD

1996-07-01 – 1997-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 118600000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 64598000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 22085000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 118600000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -41500000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -110664000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -41500000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-03-31 Source

Capital expenditure

8.26 million USD

1996-07-01 – 1997-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 9606000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 6505000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 12173000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 9606000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 1545000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 2595000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 1545000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-03-31 Source

Free cash flow

-161 million USD

1996-07-01 – 1997-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 118600000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 64598000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 22085000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 118600000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -41500000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -110664000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -41500000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 9606000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 6505000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 12173000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 9606000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 1545000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 2595000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 1545000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 1997-08-18.

Financial data available through: 1996-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Operating income: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Net income: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Total assets: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Current assets: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +19.5%

    Prior period

    USD 1.22 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.45 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1454308000 − 1216549000 = 237759000 USD

    1216549000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1454308000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    −USD 253.09 million

    Prior period

    −USD 24.6 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 277.69 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -277685000 − -24596000 = -253089000 USD

    -24596000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -277685000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -67%

    Prior period

    USD 66.85 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 22.09 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    22085000 − 66849000 = -44764000 USD

    66849000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    22085000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -33.7%

    Prior period

    USD 18.35 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 12.17 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    12173000 − 18353000 = -6180000 USD

    18353000 USD · 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    12173000 USD · 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31

  • Revenue USD 1.45 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 1.76 billion 121% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 309.36 million −21% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −USD 31.68 million −2.2% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 277.69 million −19% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 22.09 million 1.5% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 12.17 million 0.8% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 9.91 million 0.7% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1994 89%
  • 1995 Operating loss: operating costs were 101% of revenue.
  • 1996 Operating loss: operating costs were 121% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31824729000 735844000 Derived 88885000 36338000 Derived 52547000 54673000 Derived
Source
1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-311216549000 1233555000 Derived -17006000 7590000 Derived -24596000 48496000 Derived
Source
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-311454308000 1763672000 Derived -309364000 -31679000 Derived -277685000 9912000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 1.5B 1996
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.6B1.2B785.3M392.7M0.0199419951996
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Revenue824729000
1995Revenue1216549000
1996Revenue1454308000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

19.5% 1996
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.51%38%26%13%0%199419951996
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1995Year over year47.5%
1996Year over year19.5%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -21.3% 1996
Net margin -19.1% 1996
Free cash flow margin 0.7% 1996
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.13.3%4.0%-5.2%-14.5%-23.8%199419951996
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994Operating margin10.8%
1995Operating margin-1.4%
1996Operating margin-21.3%
1994Net margin6.4%
1995Net margin-2%
1996Net margin-19.1%
1994Free cash flow margin6.6%
1995Free cash flow margin4%
1996Free cash flow margin0.7%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 22.1M 1996
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.72.2M54.1M36.1M18.0M0.0199419951996
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Operating cash flow63621000
1995Operating cash flow66849000
1996Operating cash flow22085000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 9.9M 1996
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.59.0M44.3M29.5M14.8M0.0199419951996
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1994Free cash flow54673000
1995Free cash flow48496000
1996Free cash flow9912000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

104.8% 1996
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.113%85%57%28%0%1994-12-3119951996
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1995Liabilities / assets75.3%
1996Liabilities / assets104.8%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.83× 1996
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.33×1.00×0.67×0.33×0.00×1994-12-3119951996
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1994-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1995Current assets / current liabilities1.23×
1996Current assets / current liabilities0.83×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31
USD 52.55 million
Exact value

Exact value: 52547000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 52547000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 63.62 million
Exact value

Exact value: 63621000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 63621000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 8.95 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8948000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 8948000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 54.67 million
Calculation and evidence

63621000 − 8948000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 54673000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
−USD 24.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: -24596000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: -24596000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 66.85 million
Exact value

Exact value: 66849000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 66849000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 18.35 million
Exact value

Exact value: 18353000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 18353000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 48.5 million
Calculation and evidence

66849000 − 18353000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 48496000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
−USD 277.69 million
Exact value

Exact value: -277685000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: -277685000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 22.09 million
Exact value

Exact value: 22085000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 22085000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 12.17 million
Exact value

Exact value: 12173000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 12173000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 9.91 million
Calculation and evidence

22085000 − 12173000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 9912000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

9 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000812929, 812929, edgar:812929