BAKER HUGHES COMPANY

EDGAR

146 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-02-14 to 2024-02-15. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

6.64 billion USD

2023 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 6641000000 USD Source

Operating margin

10.75%

2023 Q3 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 714000000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 6641000000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

870 million USD

2023 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 2143000000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 1273000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
5.61 billion USD Source
Exact value

5614000000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
27 million USD Source
Exact value

27000000 USD

Shares outstanding
426 million shares Source
Exact value

426000000 shares

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

24.6 billion USD

2022-10-01 – 2023-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 21156000000 USD · 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 15251000000 USD · 2022-01-01 – 2022-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 5716000000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 6315000000 USD · 2023-04-01 – 2023-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 6641000000 USD · 2023-07-01 – 2023-09-30 Source

Net income

1.82 billion USD

2022-10-01 – 2023-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: -526000000 USD · 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31 Source
  • Net income: -765000000 USD · 2022-01-01 – 2022-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 614000000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 439000000 USD · 2023-04-01 – 2023-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 531000000 USD · 2023-07-01 – 2023-09-30 Source

Operating cash flow

3.04 billion USD

2022-10-01 – 2023-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 1895000000 USD · 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 997000000 USD · 2022-01-01 – 2022-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 462000000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 1273000000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 462000000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 2143000000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 1273000000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-06-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2024-02-15.

Financial data available through: 2022-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2022-12-31
  • Operating income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2022-12-31
  • Net income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2022-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2022-12-31
  • capital expenditure: No compatible figures in this window
  • Total assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2022-12-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2022-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2022-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Shares outstanding: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +3.2%

    Prior period

    USD 20.5 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 21.16 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    21156000000 − 20502000000 = 654000000 USD

    20502000000 USD · 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    21156000000 USD · 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    −USD 154 million

    Prior period

    −USD 372 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 526 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -526000000 − -372000000 = -154000000 USD

    -372000000 USD · 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -526000000 USD · 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -20%

    Prior period

    USD 2.37 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.9 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1895000000 − 2370000000 = -475000000 USD

    2370000000 USD · 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1895000000 USD · 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2022 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31

  • Revenue USD 21.16 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 19.97 billion 94% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 1.19 billion 5.6% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 1.71 billion 8.1% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 526 million −2.5% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 1.9 billion 9% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2013 91%
  • 2014 88%
  • 2015 Operating loss: operating costs were 101% of revenue.
  • 2016 97%
  • 2017 Operating loss: operating costs were 102% of revenue.
  • 2018 97%
  • 2019 95%
  • 2020 Operating loss: operating costs were 177% of revenue.
  • 2021 Net loss: net income was −1.8% of revenue.
  • 2022 Net loss: net income was −2.5% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-3122364000000 20415000000 Derived 1949000000 853000000 Derived 1096000000 Unavailable
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-3124551000000 21692000000 Derived 2859000000 1140000000 Derived 1719000000 Unavailable
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-3116688000000 16826000000 Derived -138000000 468000000 Derived -606000000 Unavailable
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-3113082000000 12625000000 Derived 457000000 203000000 Derived 254000000 Unavailable
Source
2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-3117179000000 17463000000 Derived -284000000 215000000 Derived -499000000 Unavailable
Source
2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-3122877000000 22176000000 Derived 701000000 581000000 Derived 120000000 Unavailable
Source
2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-3123838000000 22764000000 Derived 1074000000 833000000 Derived 241000000 Unavailable
Source
2020 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-3120705000000 36627000000 Derived -15922000000 -97000000 Derived -15825000000 Unavailable
Source
2021 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-3120502000000 19192000000 Derived 1310000000 1682000000 Derived -372000000 Unavailable
Source
2022 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-3121156000000 19971000000 Derived 1185000000 1711000000 Derived -526000000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 21.2B 2022
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.26.5B19.9B13.3B6.6B0.0201320182022
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2013Revenue22364000000
2014Revenue24551000000
2015Revenue16688000000
2016Revenue13082000000
2017Revenue17179000000
2018Revenue22877000000
2019Revenue23838000000
2020Revenue20705000000
2021Revenue20502000000
2022Revenue21156000000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

3.2% 2022
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.38%19%1%-18%-37%201320182022
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2013Year over year4.7%
2014Year over year9.8%
2015Year over year-32%
2016Year over year-21.6%
2017Year over year31.3%
2018Year over year33.2%
2019Year over year4.2%
2020Year over year-13.1%
2021Year over year-1%
2022Year over year3.2%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 5.6% 2022
Net margin -2.5% 2022
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.19%-7%-33%-58%-84%201320182022
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2013Operating margin8.7%
2014Operating margin11.6%
2015Operating margin-0.8%
2016Operating margin3.5%
2017Operating margin-1.7%
2018Operating margin3.1%
2019Operating margin4.5%
2020Operating margin-76.9%
2021Operating margin6.4%
2022Operating margin5.6%
2013Net margin4.9%
2014Net margin7%
2015Net margin-3.6%
2016Net margin1.9%
2017Net margin-2.9%
2018Net margin0.5%
2019Net margin1%
2020Net margin-76.4%
2021Net margin-1.8%
2022Net margin-2.5%
2013Free cash flow marginNot reported
2014Free cash flow marginNot reported
2015Free cash flow marginNot reported
2016Free cash flow marginNot reported
2017Free cash flow marginNot reported
2018Free cash flow marginNot reported
2019Free cash flow marginNot reported
2020Free cash flow marginNot reported
2021Free cash flow marginNot reported
2022Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 1.9B 2022
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.5B2.3B1.2B33.4M-1.1B201320182022
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2013Operating cash flow3161000000
2014Operating cash flow2953000000
2015Operating cash flow1277000000
2016Operating cash flow262000000
2017Operating cash flow-798000000
2018Operating cash flow1738000000
2019Operating cash flow2168000000
2020Operating cash flow1301000000
2021Operating cash flow2370000000
2022Operating cash flow1895000000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2013Free cash flowUnavailable
2014Free cash flowUnavailable
2015Free cash flowUnavailable
2016Free cash flowUnavailable
2017Free cash flowUnavailable
2018Free cash flowUnavailable
2019Free cash flowUnavailable
2020Free cash flowUnavailable
2021Free cash flowUnavailable
2022Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2013-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2014-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2015-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2016-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2017-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2018-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2019-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2020-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2021-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2022-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.32× 2022
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.61×2.71×1.80×0.90×0.00×201320182022
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2013Current assets / current liabilities2.47×
2014Current assets / current liabilities2.6×
2015Current assets / current liabilities3.34×
2016Current assets / current liabilities1.5×
2017Current assets / current liabilities2.01×
2018Current assets / current liabilities1.67×
2019Current assets / current liabilities1.53×
2020Current assets / current liabilities1.6×
2021Current assets / current liabilities1.65×
2022Current assets / current liabilities1.32×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
USD 1.1 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1096000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 1096000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.16 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3161000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 3161000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
USD 1.72 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1719000000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 1719000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.95 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 2953000000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 2953000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
−USD 606 million
Exact value

Exact value: -606000000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: -606000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.28 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1277000000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 1277000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
USD 254 million
Exact value

Exact value: 254000000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 254000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 262 million
Exact value

Exact value: 262000000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 262000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
−USD 499 million
Exact value

Exact value: -499000000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: -499000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 798 million
Exact value

Exact value: -798000000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: -798000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
USD 120 million
Exact value

Exact value: 120000000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 120000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.74 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1738000000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 1738000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31
USD 241 million
Exact value

Exact value: 241000000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 241000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.17 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 2168000000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 2168000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2020 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31
−USD 15.83 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -15825000000 USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: -15825000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.3 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1301000000 USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: 1301000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2021 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31
−USD 372 million
Exact value

Exact value: -372000000 USD

2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31: -372000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.37 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 2370000000 USD

2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31: 2370000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2022 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31
−USD 526 million
Exact value

Exact value: -526000000 USD

2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31: -526000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.9 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1895000000 USD

2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31: 1895000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

146 filings · 7,617 latest values · 7,617 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: -, 0000808362, 808362, BHGE, BKR, None, edgar:808362

Also known as BAKER HUGHES COMPANY, BAKER HUGHES INC, BAKER HUGHES a GE Co LLC, Baker Hughes Company, Baker Hughes Holdings LLC, Baker Hughes a GE Co, Baker Hughes a GE Co LLC, Baker Hughes, a GE company, Baker Hughes, a GE company, LLC