CASH AMERICA INTERNATIONAL INC

EDGAR

99 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-11-14 to 2016-08-04. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

241 million USD

2016 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

2.73%

2016 Q2 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 6573000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 241151000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

17.1 million USD

2016 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 62495000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 45402000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
20 million USD Source
Exact value

20029000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
212 million USD Source
Exact value

211558000 USD

Shares outstanding
30.2 million shares Source
Exact value

30235164 shares

Reported share-count change

0.00% · 0 shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 30235164 shares · 2013-12-31· Source
  • 30235164 shares · 2014-12-31· Source

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Capital expenditure

74 million USD

2010-10-01 – 2011-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 59697000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 37466000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 10996000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 33032000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 10996000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 51795000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 33032000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-06-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2016-08-04.

Financial data available through: 2015-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Operating income: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Net income: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2010-12-31
  • Total assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Current assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Shares outstanding: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -6%

    Prior period

    USD 1.09 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.03 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1029491000 − 1094696000 = -65205000 USD

    1094696000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1029491000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -72.1%

    Prior period

    USD 98.64 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 27.57 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    27566000 − 98638000 = -71072000 USD

    98638000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    27566000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -75.2%

    Prior period

    USD 521.15 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 129.46 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    129462000 − 521149000 = -391687000 USD

    521149000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    129462000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

  • Revenue USD 1.03 billion 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 462.35 million 45% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 454.91 million 44% of revenue
  • Other operating costs Derived USD 55.94 million 5.4% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 56.29 million 5.5% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 28.72 million 2.8% of revenue
  • Net income USD 27.57 million 2.7% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 129.46 million 13% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2005 11%80%
  • 2006 12%79%
  • 2007 12%80%
  • 2010 85%
  • 2011 85%
  • 2012 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2013 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2014 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2015 95%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31411964000 331252000 Derived 80712000 35694000 Derived 45018000 Unavailable
Source
2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31489585000 385566000 Derived 104019000 43079000 Derived 60940000 115457000 Derived
Source
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31682602000 549093000 Derived 133509000 54163000 Derived 79346000 202976000 Derived
Source
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-311337050000 1129918000 Derived 207132000 91594000 Derived 115538000 299463000 Derived
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-311583064000 1338722000 Derived 244342000 108379000 Derived 135963000 Unavailable
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-311139443000 1049816000 Derived 89627000 -17843000 Derived 107470000 Unavailable
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-311030486000 969318000 Derived 61168000 -81360000 Derived 142528000 Unavailable
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-311094696000 1061729000 Derived 32967000 -65671000 Derived 98638000 Unavailable
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-311029491000 973203000 Derived 56288000 28722000 Derived 27566000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 1B 2015
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.7B1.3B854.9M427.4M0.0200520112015
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2005Revenue411964000
2006Revenue489585000
2007Revenue682602000
2010Revenue1337050000
2011Revenue1583064000
2012Revenue1139443000
2013Revenue1030486000
2014Revenue1094696000
2015Revenue1029491000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-6% 2015
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.45%25%6%-14%-33%200520112015
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2006Year over year18.8%
2007Year over year39.4%
2010Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2011Year over year18.4%
2012Year over year-28%
2013Year over year-9.6%
2014Year over year6.2%
2015Year over year-6%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 5.5% 2015
Net margin 2.7% 2015
Free cash flow margin 22.4% 2010
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.32.1%24.1%16.1%8.0%0.0%200520112015
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Operating margin19.6%
2006Operating margin21.2%
2007Operating margin19.6%
2010Operating margin15.5%
2011Operating margin15.4%
2012Operating margin7.9%
2013Operating margin5.9%
2014Operating margin3%
2015Operating margin5.5%
2005Net margin10.9%
2006Net margin12.4%
2007Net margin11.6%
2010Net margin8.6%
2011Net margin8.6%
2012Net margin9.4%
2013Net margin13.8%
2014Net margin9%
2015Net margin2.7%
2005Free cash flow marginNot reported
2006Free cash flow margin23.6%
2007Free cash flow margin29.7%
2010Free cash flow margin22.4%
2011Free cash flow marginNot reported
2012Free cash flow marginNot reported
2013Free cash flow marginNot reported
2014Free cash flow marginNot reported
2015Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 129.5M 2015
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.633.1M474.8M316.5M158.3M0.0200520112015
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2005Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2006Operating cash flow161812000
2007Operating cash flow273073000
2010Operating cash flow359160000
2011Operating cash flow454004000
2012Operating cash flow520270000
2013Operating cash flow586180000
2014Operating cash flow521149000
2015Operating cash flow129462000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 299.5M 2010
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.323.4M242.6M161.7M80.9M0.0200520112015
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2005Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2006Free cash flow115457000
2007Free cash flow202976000
2010Free cash flow299463000
2011Free cash flowUnavailable
2012Free cash flowUnavailable
2013Free cash flowUnavailable
2014Free cash flowUnavailable
2015Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

27.1% 2015
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.61%46%31%15%0%200520112015
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Liabilities / assets37.4%
2006Liabilities / assets43.2%
2007Liabilities / assets45.1%
2010-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2011Liabilities / assets45.8%
2012Liabilities / assets45.5%
2013Liabilities / assets56.8%
2014Liabilities / assets25.6%
2015Liabilities / assets27.1%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

6.87× 2015
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.42×5.56×3.71×1.85×0.00×200520112015
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Current assets / current liabilities4.77×
2006Current assets / current liabilities3.2×
2007Current assets / current liabilities3.81×
2010-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2011Current assets / current liabilities4.79×
2012Current assets / current liabilities4.79×
2013Current assets / current liabilities2.43×
2014Current assets / current liabilities6.52×
2015Current assets / current liabilities6.87×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31
USD 60.94 million
Exact value

Exact value: 60940000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 60940000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 161.81 million
Exact value

Exact value: 161812000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 161812000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 46.36 million
Exact value

Exact value: 46355000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 46355000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 115.46 million
Calculation and evidence

161812000 − 46355000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 115457000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31
USD 79.35 million
Exact value

Exact value: 79346000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 79346000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 273.07 million
Exact value

Exact value: 273073000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 273073000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 70.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 70097000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 70097000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 202.98 million
Calculation and evidence

273073000 − 70097000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 202976000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 57.08 million
Exact value

Exact value: 57082000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 57082000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 44.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 44101000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 44101000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31
USD 115.54 million
Exact value

Exact value: 115538000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 115538000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 359.16 million
Exact value

Exact value: 359160000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 359160000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 59.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 59697000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 59697000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 299.46 million
Calculation and evidence

359160000 − 59697000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 299463000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
USD 135.96 million
Exact value

Exact value: 135963000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 135963000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 454 million
Exact value

Exact value: 454004000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 454004000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
USD 107.47 million
Exact value

Exact value: 107470000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 107470000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 520.27 million
Exact value

Exact value: 520270000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 520270000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
USD 142.53 million
Exact value

Exact value: 142528000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 142528000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 586.18 million
Exact value

Exact value: 586180000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 586180000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
USD 98.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: 98638000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 98638000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 521.15 million
Exact value

Exact value: 521149000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 521149000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
USD 27.57 million
Exact value

Exact value: 27566000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 27566000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 129.46 million
Exact value

Exact value: 129462000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 129462000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

99 filings · 4,445 latest values · 4,445 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000807884, 807884, CSH, edgar:807884

Also known as CASH AMERICA INTERNATIONAL INC