EDWARDS J D & CO

EDGAR

23 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1998-01-23 to 2003-06-04. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

204 million USD

2003-04-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-1.28%

2003-04-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -2611000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 203505000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

22.8 million USD

2003-04-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 61103000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 38280000 USD Source

Free cash flow

14.5 million USD

2003-04-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 61103000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 38280000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 17766000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 9393000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
341 million USD Source
Exact value

340610000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

886 million USD

2002-05-01 – 2003-04-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 228956000 USD · 2002-05-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Revenue: 904457000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31 Source
  • Revenue: 657224000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Revenue: 205930000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-01-31 Source
  • Revenue: 203505000 USD · 2003-02-01 – 2003-04-30 Source

Net income

52.9 million USD

2002-05-01 – 2003-04-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 9474000 USD · 2002-05-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Net income: 46193000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31 Source
  • Net income: 8867000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Net income: 6502000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-01-31 Source
  • Net income: -393000 USD · 2003-02-01 – 2003-04-30 Source

Operating cash flow

115 million USD

2002-05-01 – 2003-04-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 112364000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 84549000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-04-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 138110000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 112364000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 38280000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-01-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 61103000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-04-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 38280000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-01-31 Source

Capital expenditure

35.5 million USD

2002-05-01 – 2003-04-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 20610000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 10076000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-04-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 27761000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 20610000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 9393000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-01-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 17766000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-04-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 9393000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-01-31 Source

Free cash flow

79.2 million USD

2002-05-01 – 2003-04-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 112364000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 84549000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-04-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 138110000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 112364000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 38280000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-01-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 61103000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-04-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 38280000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-01-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 20610000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 10076000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-04-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 27761000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 20610000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-07-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 9393000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-01-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 17766000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-04-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 9393000 USD · 2002-11-01 – 2003-01-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2003-06-04.

Financial data available through: 2002-10-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-10-31
  • Operating income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-10-31
  • Net income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-10-31
  • Operating cash flow: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-10-31
  • Capital expenditure: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-10-31
  • Total assets: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-10-31
  • Total liabilities: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-10-31
  • Current assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-10-31
  • Current liabilities: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-10-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-10-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +1.1%

    Prior period

    USD 894.27 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 904.46 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    904457000 − 894268000 = 10189000 USD

    894268000 USD · 2000-11-01 – 2001-10-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    904457000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +USD 225.95 million

    Prior period

    −USD 179.75 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 46.19 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    46193000 − -179753000 = 225946000 USD

    -179753000 USD · 2000-11-01 – 2001-10-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    46193000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +107.4%

    Prior period

    USD 66.59 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 138.11 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    138110000 − 66586000 = 71524000 USD

    66586000 USD · 2000-11-01 – 2001-10-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    138110000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +16.1%

    Prior period

    USD 23.91 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 27.76 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    27761000 − 23913000 = 3848000 USD

    23913000 USD · 2000-11-01 – 2001-10-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    27761000 USD · 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2002 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31

  • Revenue USD 904.46 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 877.29 million 97% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 27.17 million 3% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −USD 19.03 million −2.1% of revenue
  • Net income USD 46.19 million 5.1% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 138.11 million 15% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 27.76 million 3.1% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 110.35 million 12% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1995 92%
  • 1996 91%
  • 1997 91%
  • 1998 89%
  • 1999 Operating loss: operating costs were 107% of revenue.
  • 2000 Operating loss: operating costs were 106% of revenue.
  • 2001 Operating loss: operating costs were 106% of revenue.
  • 2002 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1995 1994-11-01 – 1995-10-31340766000 311888000 Derived 28878000 10669000 Derived 18209000 21886000 Derived
Source
1996 1995-11-01 – 1996-10-31478048000 434421000 Derived 43627000 17301000 Derived 26326000 1225000 Derived
Source
1997 1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31647812000 587556000 Derived 60256000 23028000 Derived 37228000 51794000 Derived
Source
1998 1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31933982000 827344000 Derived 106638000 32170000 Derived 74468000 118451000 Derived
Source
1999 1998-11-01 – 1999-10-31944231000 1011452000 Derived -67221000 -27997000 Derived -39224000 -39707000 Derived
Source
2000 1999-11-01 – 2000-10-311023014000 1082525000 Derived -59511000 -44089000 Derived -15422000 -27501000 Derived
Source
2001 2000-11-01 – 2001-10-31894268000 946038000 Derived -51770000 127983000 Derived -179753000 42673000 Derived
Source
2002 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31904457000 877291000 Derived 27166000 -19027000 Derived 46193000 110349000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 904.5M 2002
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.1B828.6M552.4M276.2M0.0199519992002
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1995Revenue340766000
1996Revenue478048000
1997Revenue647812000
1998Revenue933982000
1999Revenue944231000
2000Revenue1023014000
2001Revenue894268000
2002Revenue904457000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

1.1% 2002
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.49%32%16%-1%-17%199519992002
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1996Year over year40.3%
1997Year over year35.5%
1998Year over year44.2%
1999Year over year1.1%
2000Year over year8.3%
2001Year over year-12.6%
2002Year over year1.1%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 3% 2002
Net margin 5.1% 2002
Free cash flow margin 12.2% 2002
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.15.3%5.8%-3.7%-13.2%-22.7%199519992002
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995Operating margin8.5%
1996Operating margin9.1%
1997Operating margin9.3%
1998Operating margin11.4%
1999Operating margin-7.1%
2000Operating margin-5.8%
2001Operating margin-5.8%
2002Operating margin3%
1995Net margin5.3%
1996Net margin5.5%
1997Net margin5.7%
1998Net margin8%
1999Net margin-4.2%
2000Net margin-1.5%
2001Net margin-20.1%
2002Net margin5.1%
1995Free cash flow margin6.4%
1996Free cash flow margin0.3%
1997Free cash flow margin8%
1998Free cash flow margin12.7%
1999Free cash flow margin-4.2%
2000Free cash flow margin-2.7%
2001Free cash flow margin4.8%
2002Free cash flow margin12.2%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 138.1M 2002
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.167.1M125.3M83.5M41.8M0.0199519992002
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1995Operating cash flow41340000
1996Operating cash flow42360000
1997Operating cash flow74230000
1998Operating cash flow154721000
1999Operating cash flow12312000
2000Operating cash flow4323000
2001Operating cash flow66586000
2002Operating cash flow138110000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 110.3M 2002
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.131.1M85.2M39.4M-6.5M-52.4M199519992002
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1995Free cash flow21886000
1996Free cash flow1225000
1997Free cash flow51794000
1998Free cash flow118451000
1999Free cash flow-39707000
2000Free cash flow-27501000
2001Free cash flow42673000
2002Free cash flow110349000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

45.4% 2002
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.77%58%39%19%0%1995-10-3119992002
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995-10-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1996Liabilities / assets71.3%
1997Liabilities / assets38.3%
1998Liabilities / assets38.6%
1999Liabilities / assets37%
2000Liabilities / assets41.1%
2001Liabilities / assets54.8%
2002Liabilities / assets45.4%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.5× 2002
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.29×1.72×1.15×0.57×0.00×1995-10-3119992002
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995-10-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1996Current assets / current liabilities1.14×
1997Current assets / current liabilities2.12×
1998Current assets / current liabilities1.51×
1999Current assets / current liabilities1.31×
2000Current assets / current liabilities1.42×
2001Current assets / current liabilities1.35×
2002Current assets / current liabilities1.5×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1995 1994-11-01 – 1995-10-31
USD 18.21 million
Exact value

Exact value: 18209000 USD

1994-11-01 – 1995-10-31: 18209000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 41.34 million
Exact value

Exact value: 41340000 USD

1994-11-01 – 1995-10-31: 41340000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 19.45 million
Exact value

Exact value: 19454000 USD

1994-11-01 – 1995-10-31: 19454000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 21.89 million
Calculation and evidence

41340000 − 19454000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 21886000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1995-11-01 – 1996-10-31
USD 26.33 million
Exact value

Exact value: 26326000 USD

1995-11-01 – 1996-10-31: 26326000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 42.36 million
Exact value

Exact value: 42360000 USD

1995-11-01 – 1996-10-31: 42360000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 41.14 million
Exact value

Exact value: 41135000 USD

1995-11-01 – 1996-10-31: 41135000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.23 million
Calculation and evidence

42360000 − 41135000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 1225000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31
USD 37.23 million
Exact value

Exact value: 37228000 USD

1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31: 37228000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 74.23 million
Exact value

Exact value: 74230000 USD

1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31: 74230000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 22.44 million
Exact value

Exact value: 22436000 USD

1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31: 22436000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 51.79 million
Calculation and evidence

74230000 − 22436000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 51794000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31
USD 74.47 million
Exact value

Exact value: 74468000 USD

1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31: 74468000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 154.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: 154721000 USD

1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31: 154721000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 36.27 million
Exact value

Exact value: 36270000 USD

1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31: 36270000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 118.45 million
Calculation and evidence

154721000 − 36270000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 118451000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1999 1998-11-01 – 1999-10-31
−USD 39.22 million
Exact value

Exact value: -39224000 USD

1998-11-01 – 1999-10-31: -39224000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 12.31 million
Exact value

Exact value: 12312000 USD

1998-11-01 – 1999-10-31: 12312000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 52.02 million
Exact value

Exact value: 52019000 USD

1998-11-01 – 1999-10-31: 52019000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 39.71 million
Calculation and evidence

12312000 − 52019000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -39707000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2000 1999-11-01 – 2000-10-31
−USD 15.42 million
Exact value

Exact value: -15422000 USD

1999-11-01 – 2000-10-31: -15422000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4323000 USD

1999-11-01 – 2000-10-31: 4323000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 31.82 million
Exact value

Exact value: 31824000 USD

1999-11-01 – 2000-10-31: 31824000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 27.5 million
Calculation and evidence

4323000 − 31824000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -27501000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2001 2000-11-01 – 2001-10-31
−USD 179.75 million
Exact value

Exact value: -179753000 USD

2000-11-01 – 2001-10-31: -179753000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 66.59 million
Exact value

Exact value: 66586000 USD

2000-11-01 – 2001-10-31: 66586000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 23.91 million
Exact value

Exact value: 23913000 USD

2000-11-01 – 2001-10-31: 23913000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 42.67 million
Calculation and evidence

66586000 − 23913000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 42673000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2002 2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31
USD 46.19 million
Exact value

Exact value: 46193000 USD

2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31: 46193000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 138.11 million
Exact value

Exact value: 138110000 USD

2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31: 138110000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 27.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 27761000 USD

2001-11-01 – 2002-10-31: 27761000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 110.35 million
Calculation and evidence

138110000 − 27761000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 110349000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

23 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000798757, 798757, edgar:798757