APPLIED BIOSYSTEMS INC.

EDGAR

68 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-02-14 to 2008-11-06. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

533 million USD

2008-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

19.8%

2008-09-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 105529000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 533051000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
419 million USD Source
Exact value

418714000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

2.38 billion USD

2007-10-01 – 2008-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 601362000 USD · 2007-10-01 – 2007-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 591358000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 2361484000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 1709393000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2008-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 533051000 USD · 2008-07-01 – 2008-09-30 Source

Net income

229 million USD

2007-10-01 – 2008-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 86598000 USD · 2007-10-01 – 2007-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 75245000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 213808000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 223533000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2008-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 77248000 USD · 2008-07-01 – 2008-09-30 Source

Capital expenditure

53.3 million USD

2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 9758000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 21521000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2007-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 9758000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 34087000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2008-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 21521000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2007-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 53250000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 34087000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2008-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2008-11-06.

Financial data available through: 2008-06-30.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2008-06-30
  • Operating income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2008-06-30
  • Net income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2008-06-30
  • Operating cash flow: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-06-30
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2008-06-30
  • Total assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2008-06-30
  • Total liabilities: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2008-06-30
  • Current assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2008-06-30
  • Current liabilities: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2008-06-30
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2008-06-30
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +10.7%

    Prior period

    USD 2.13 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.36 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2361484000 − 2132493000 = 228991000 USD

    2132493000 USD · 2006-07-01 – 2007-06-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2361484000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +34.2%

    Prior period

    USD 159.3 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 213.81 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    213808000 − 159300000 = 54508000 USD

    159300000 USD · 2006-07-01 – 2007-06-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    213808000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -14.9%

    Prior period

    USD 62.56 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 53.25 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    53250000 − 62560000 = -9310000 USD

    62560000 USD · 2006-07-01 – 2007-06-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    53250000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Operating cash flow.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2008 2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30

  • Revenue USD 2.36 billion 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 999.13 million 42% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 949.26 million 40% of revenue
  • Other operating costs Derived USD 36.19 million 1.5% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 376.91 million 16% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 163.1 million 6.9% of revenue
  • Net income USD 213.81 million 9.1% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Capital expenditure USD 53.25 million 2.3% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1999 Net loss: net income was −3.7% of revenue.
  • 2000 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2001 Operating loss: operating costs were 101% of revenue.
  • 2002 Operating loss: operating costs were 103% of revenue.
  • 2003 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2004 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2005 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2006 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2007 92%
  • 2008 9.1%84%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1999 1998-07-01 – 1999-06-301216897000 1108332000 Derived 108565000 153459000 Derived -44894000 Unavailable
Source
2000 1999-07-01 – 2000-06-301371035000 1322903000 Derived 48132000 -47364000 Derived 95496000 Unavailable
Source
2001 2000-07-01 – 2001-06-301644126000 1657191000 Derived -13065000 173164000 Derived -186229000 Unavailable
Source
2002 2001-07-01 – 2002-06-301701218000 1753636000 Derived -52418000 -11837000 Derived -40581000 Unavailable
Source
2003 2002-07-01 – 2003-06-301777232000 1686351000 Derived 90881000 -11199000 Derived 102080000 Unavailable
Source
2004 2003-07-01 – 2004-06-301825193000 1756520000 Derived 68673000 -56908000 Derived 125581000 Unavailable
Source
2005 2004-07-01 – 2005-06-301845140000 1705080000 Derived 140060000 -19735000 Derived 159795000 Unavailable
Source
2006 2005-07-01 – 2006-06-301949390000 1784164000 Derived 165226000 -47266000 Derived 212492000 Unavailable
Source
2007 2006-07-01 – 2007-06-302132493000 1959407000 Derived 173086000 13786000 Derived 159300000 Unavailable
Source
2008 2007-07-01 – 2008-06-302361484000 1984573000 Derived 376911000 163103000 Derived 213808000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 2.4B 2008
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.6B1.9B1.3B637.6M0.0199920042008
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1999Revenue1216897000
2000Revenue1371035000
2001Revenue1644126000
2002Revenue1701218000
2003Revenue1777232000
2004Revenue1825193000
2005Revenue1845140000
2006Revenue1949390000
2007Revenue2132493000
2008Revenue2361484000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

10.7% 2008
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.31.2%23.4%15.6%7.8%0.0%199920042008
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1999Year over year28.9%
2000Year over year12.7%
2001Year over year19.9%
2002Year over year3.5%
2003Year over year4.5%
2004Year over year2.7%
2005Year over year1.1%
2006Year over year5.6%
2007Year over year9.4%
2008Year over year10.7%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 16% 2008
Net margin 9.1% 2008
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.18.1%10.2%2.3%-5.6%-13.5%199920042008
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1999Operating margin8.9%
2000Operating margin3.5%
2001Operating margin-0.8%
2002Operating margin-3.1%
2003Operating margin5.1%
2004Operating margin3.8%
2005Operating margin7.6%
2006Operating margin8.5%
2007Operating margin8.1%
2008Operating margin16%
1999Net margin-3.7%
2000Net margin7%
2001Net margin-11.3%
2002Net margin-2.4%
2003Net margin5.7%
2004Net margin6.9%
2005Net margin8.7%
2006Net margin10.9%
2007Net margin7.5%
2008Net margin9.1%
1999Free cash flow marginNot reported
2000Free cash flow marginNot reported
2001Free cash flow marginNot reported
2002Free cash flow marginNot reported
2003Free cash flow marginNot reported
2004Free cash flow marginNot reported
2005Free cash flow marginNot reported
2006Free cash flow marginNot reported
2007Free cash flow marginNot reported
2008Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 212.9M 2002
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.231.2M164.7M98.3M31.8M-34.6M199920042008
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1999Operating cash flow-16297000
2000Operating cash flow108204000
2001Operating cash flow86404000
2002Operating cash flow212857000
2003Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2004Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2005Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2006Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2007Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2008Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1999Free cash flowUnavailable
2000Free cash flowUnavailable
2001Free cash flowUnavailable
2002Free cash flowUnavailable
2003Free cash flowUnavailable
2004Free cash flowUnavailable
2005Free cash flowUnavailable
2006Free cash flowUnavailable
2007Free cash flowUnavailable
2008Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

32.6% 2008
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.50%37%25%12%0%199920042008
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1999Liabilities / assets45.9%
2000Liabilities / assets28%
2001Liabilities / assets25.6%
2002Liabilities / assets27.7%
2003Liabilities / assets28.2%
2004Liabilities / assets26.6%
2005Liabilities / assets25.9%
2006Liabilities / assets26.8%
2007Liabilities / assets26.5%
2008Liabilities / assets32.6%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

2.28× 2008
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.80×2.85×1.90×0.95×0.00×199920042008
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1999Current assets / current liabilities1.9×
2000Current assets / current liabilities3.29×
2001Current assets / current liabilities3.48×
2002Current assets / current liabilities3.21×
2003Current assets / current liabilities3.38×
2004Current assets / current liabilities3.22×
2005Current assets / current liabilities3.52×
2006Current assets / current liabilities2.67×
2007Current assets / current liabilities2.93×
2008Current assets / current liabilities2.28×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1999 1998-07-01 – 1999-06-30
−USD 44.89 million
Exact value

Exact value: -44894000 USD

1998-07-01 – 1999-06-30: -44894000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 16.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: -16297000 USD

1998-07-01 – 1999-06-30: -16297000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2000 1999-07-01 – 2000-06-30
USD 95.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 95496000 USD

1999-07-01 – 2000-06-30: 95496000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 108.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 108204000 USD

1999-07-01 – 2000-06-30: 108204000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2001 2000-07-01 – 2001-06-30
−USD 186.23 million
Exact value

Exact value: -186229000 USD

2000-07-01 – 2001-06-30: -186229000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 86.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 86404000 USD

2000-07-01 – 2001-06-30: 86404000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2002 2001-07-01 – 2002-06-30
−USD 40.58 million
Exact value

Exact value: -40581000 USD

2001-07-01 – 2002-06-30: -40581000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 212.86 million
Exact value

Exact value: 212857000 USD

2001-07-01 – 2002-06-30: 212857000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2003 2002-07-01 – 2003-06-30
USD 102.08 million
Exact value

Exact value: 102080000 USD

2002-07-01 – 2003-06-30: 102080000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 144.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 144395000 USD

2002-07-01 – 2003-06-30: 144395000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2004 2003-07-01 – 2004-06-30
USD 125.58 million
Exact value

Exact value: 125581000 USD

2003-07-01 – 2004-06-30: 125581000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 68.39 million
Exact value

Exact value: 68391000 USD

2003-07-01 – 2004-06-30: 68391000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2005 2004-07-01 – 2005-06-30
USD 159.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 159795000 USD

2004-07-01 – 2005-06-30: 159795000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 93.88 million
Exact value

Exact value: 93881000 USD

2004-07-01 – 2005-06-30: 93881000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2006 2005-07-01 – 2006-06-30
USD 212.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 212492000 USD

2005-07-01 – 2006-06-30: 212492000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 46.08 million
Exact value

Exact value: 46077000 USD

2005-07-01 – 2006-06-30: 46077000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2007 2006-07-01 – 2007-06-30
USD 159.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 159300000 USD

2006-07-01 – 2007-06-30: 159300000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 62.56 million
Exact value

Exact value: 62560000 USD

2006-07-01 – 2007-06-30: 62560000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2008 2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30
USD 213.81 million
Exact value

Exact value: 213808000 USD

2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30: 213808000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 53.25 million
Exact value

Exact value: 53250000 USD

2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30: 53250000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

68 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000077551, 77551, edgar:77551

Also known as APPLERA CORP, PE CORP, PERKIN ELMER CORP