HOMESTAKE MINING CO /DE/

EDGAR

41 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-30 to 2001-11-14. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

162 million USD

2001-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Net margin

3.07%

2001-09-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
Cash and cash equivalents
188 million USD Source
Exact value

187900000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Operating cash flow

82.9 million USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 80098000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 37998000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 93970000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 80098000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 113523000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 93970000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 7381000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2001-11-14.

Financial data available through: 1999-12-31.

Financial coverage is incomplete. Newer filings are recorded, but comparable financial figures for those periods are not available here yet.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • operating income: No compatible figures in this window
  • Net income: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Total assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1999-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -6.2%

    Prior period

    USD 797.78 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 748.13 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    748125000 − 797777000 = -49652000 USD

    797777000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    748125000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +USD 232.38 million

    Prior period

    −USD 248.02 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 15.64 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -15639000 − -248015000 = 232376000 USD

    -248015000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -15639000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +2%

    Prior period

    USD 115.05 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 117.34 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    117339000 − 115054000 = 2285000 USD

    115054000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    117339000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +43.1%

    Prior period

    USD 73.32 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 104.93 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    104927000 − 73323000 = 31604000 USD

    73323000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    104927000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

  • Revenue USD 748.13 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Operating income Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income −USD 15.64 million −2.1% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 117.34 million 16% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 104.93 million 14% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 12.41 million 1.7% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1996 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1997 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1998 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1999 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31766936000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable30281000 74455000 Derived
Source
1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31723834000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-168879000 -29185000 Derived
Source
1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31797777000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-248015000 41731000 Derived
Source
1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31748125000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-15639000 12412000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 748.1M 1999
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.861.6M646.2M430.8M215.4M0.01996199719981999
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1996Revenue766936000
1997Revenue723834000
1998Revenue797777000
1999Revenue748125000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-6.2% 1999
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.11.5%6.8%2.0%-2.8%-7.5%1996199719981999
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1997Year over year-5.6%
1998Year over year10.2%
1999Year over year-6.2%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Net margin -2.1% 1999
Free cash flow margin 1.7% 1999
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.13%1%-11%-23%-34%1996-12-311997-12-311998-12-311999-12-31
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1997-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1998-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1999-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1996Net margin3.9%
1997Net margin-23.3%
1998Net margin-31.1%
1999Net margin-2.1%
1996Free cash flow margin9.7%
1997Free cash flow margin-4%
1998Free cash flow margin5.2%
1999Free cash flow margin1.7%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 117.3M 1999
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.194.8M146.1M97.4M48.7M0.01996199719981999
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1996Operating cash flow180378000
1997Operating cash flow102289000
1998Operating cash flow115054000
1999Operating cash flow117339000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 12.4M 1999
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.82.7M52.7M22.6M-7.4M-37.5M1996199719981999
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1996Free cash flow74455000
1997Free cash flow-29185000
1998Free cash flow41731000
1999Free cash flow12412000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1997-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1998-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1999-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

2.84× 1999
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.73×2.80×1.87×0.93×0.00×1996199719981999
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996Current assets / current liabilities3.25×
1997Current assets / current liabilities3.46×
1998Current assets / current liabilities3.06×
1999Current assets / current liabilities2.84×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
USD 30.33 million
Exact value

Exact value: 30327000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 30327000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 153.46 million
Exact value

Exact value: 153457000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 153457000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 80.98 million
Exact value

Exact value: 80979000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 80979000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 72.48 million
Calculation and evidence

153457000 − 80979000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 72478000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
USD 30.28 million
Exact value

Exact value: 30281000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 30281000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 180.38 million
Exact value

Exact value: 180378000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 180378000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 105.92 million
Exact value

Exact value: 105923000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 105923000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 74.46 million
Calculation and evidence

180378000 − 105923000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 74455000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
−USD 168.88 million
Exact value

Exact value: -168879000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: -168879000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 102.29 million
Exact value

Exact value: 102289000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 102289000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 131.47 million
Exact value

Exact value: 131474000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 131474000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 29.19 million
Calculation and evidence

102289000 − 131474000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -29185000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31
−USD 248.02 million
Exact value

Exact value: -248015000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: -248015000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 115.05 million
Exact value

Exact value: 115054000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 115054000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 73.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 73323000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 73323000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 41.73 million
Calculation and evidence

115054000 − 73323000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 41731000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31
−USD 15.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: -15639000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: -15639000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 117.34 million
Exact value

Exact value: 117339000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: 117339000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 104.93 million
Exact value

Exact value: 104927000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: 104927000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 12.41 million
Calculation and evidence

117339000 − 104927000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 12412000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

41 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000743872, 743872, edgar:743872