SILICON VALLEY GROUP INC

EDGAR

26 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1995-02-10 to 2001-05-14. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

209 million USD

2001-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

2.33%

2001-03-31 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 4868000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 208865000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-21 million USD

2001-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -44180000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -23189000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-40.8 million USD

2001-03-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -44180000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -23189000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 36013000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 16239000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
50.5 million USD Source
Exact value

50538000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

922 million USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 218008000 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 842309000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 602405000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 255048000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 208865000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-03-31 Source

Net income

54.4 million USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 13107000 USD · 2000-04-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 46821000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 30960000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 19305000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 6101000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-03-31 Source

Operating cash flow

-71.4 million USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 38386000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 49934000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 22707000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 38386000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -23189000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -44180000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -23189000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source

Capital expenditure

65.8 million USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 34143000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 22263000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 52062000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 34143000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 16239000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 36013000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 16239000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source

Free cash flow

-137 million USD

2000-04-01 – 2001-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 38386000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 49934000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 22707000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 38386000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -23189000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -44180000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -23189000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 34143000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 22263000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 52062000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 34143000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 16239000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 36013000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 16239000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2001-05-14.

Financial data available through: 2000-09-30.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Operating income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Net income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Operating cash flow: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Capital expenditure: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Total assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Current liabilities: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +77.8%

    Prior period

    USD 473.69 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 842.31 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    842309000 − 473690000 = 368619000 USD

    473690000 USD · 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    842309000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +USD 72.28 million

    Prior period

    −USD 25.46 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 46.82 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    46821000 − -25456000 = 72277000 USD

    -25456000 USD · 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    46821000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +674.2%

    Prior period

    USD 2.93 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 22.71 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    22707000 − 2933000 = 19774000 USD

    2933000 USD · 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    22707000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +68.3%

    Prior period

    USD 30.94 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 52.06 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    52062000 − 30937000 = 21125000 USD

    30937000 USD · 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    52062000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2000 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

  • Revenue USD 842.31 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 776.14 million 92% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 66.17 million 7.9% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 19.35 million 2.3% of revenue
  • Net income USD 46.82 million 5.6% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 22.71 million 2.7% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 52.06 million 6.2% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 29.36 million −3.5% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1993 97%
  • 1994 92%
  • 1995 89%
  • 1996 9.8%87%
  • 1997 Operating loss: operating costs were 101% of revenue.
  • 1998 Operating loss: operating costs were 105% of revenue.
  • 1999 Operating loss: operating costs were 109% of revenue.
  • 2000 92%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1993 1992-10-01 – 1993-09-30240633000 233249000 Derived 7384000 2899000 Derived 4485000 Unavailable
Source
1994 1993-10-01 – 1994-09-30319922000 293471000 Derived 26451000 9687000 Derived 16764000 51841000 Derived
Source
1995 1994-10-01 – 1995-09-30462032000 409643000 Derived 52389000 13394000 Derived 38995000 -40470000 Derived
Source
1996 1995-10-01 – 1996-09-30657337000 570276000 Derived 87061000 22962000 Derived 64099000 -45247000 Derived
Source
1997 1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30614226000 619649000 Derived -5423000 -8015000 Derived 2592000 -64895000 Derived
Source
1998 1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30608625000 640846000 Derived -32221000 -18644000 Derived -13577000 -56049000 Derived
Source
1999 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30473690000 516330000 Derived -42640000 -17184000 Derived -25456000 -28004000 Derived
Source
2000 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30842309000 776138000 Derived 66171000 19350000 Derived 46821000 -29355000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 842.3M 2000
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.909.7M682.3M454.8M227.4M0.0199319972000
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1993Revenue240633000
1994Revenue319922000
1995Revenue462032000
1996Revenue657337000
1997Revenue614226000
1998Revenue608625000
1999Revenue473690000
2000Revenue842309000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

77.8% 2000
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.86%57%28%-1%-30%199319972000
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1993Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1994Year over year33%
1995Year over year44.4%
1996Year over year42.3%
1997Year over year-6.6%
1998Year over year-0.9%
1999Year over year-22.2%
2000Year over year77.8%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 7.9% 2000
Net margin 5.6% 2000
Free cash flow margin -3.5% 2000
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.18.3%10.6%2.8%-4.9%-12.7%199319972000
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1993Operating margin3.1%
1994Operating margin8.3%
1995Operating margin11.3%
1996Operating margin13.2%
1997Operating margin-0.9%
1998Operating margin-5.3%
1999Operating margin-9%
2000Operating margin7.9%
1993Net margin1.9%
1994Net margin5.2%
1995Net margin8.4%
1996Net margin9.8%
1997Net margin0.4%
1998Net margin-2.2%
1999Net margin-5.4%
2000Net margin5.6%
1993Free cash flow marginNot reported
1994Free cash flow margin16.2%
1995Free cash flow margin-8.8%
1996Free cash flow margin-6.9%
1997Free cash flow margin-10.6%
1998Free cash flow margin-9.2%
1999Free cash flow margin-5.9%
2000Free cash flow margin-3.5%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 22.7M 2000
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.61.6M39.9M18.3M-3.4M-25.0M199319972000
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1993Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1994Operating cash flow55618000
1995Operating cash flow-19060000
1996Operating cash flow23589000
1997Operating cash flow25037000
1998Operating cash flow23159000
1999Operating cash flow2933000
2000Operating cash flow22707000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -29.4M 2000
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.61.2M27.3M-6.5M-40.4M-74.2M199319972000
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1993Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
1994Free cash flow51841000
1995Free cash flow-40470000
1996Free cash flow-45247000
1997Free cash flow-64895000
1998Free cash flow-56049000
1999Free cash flow-28004000
2000Free cash flow-29355000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1993-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1994-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1995-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1996-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1997-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1998-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1999-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2000-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

2.92× 2000
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.87×2.91×1.94×0.97×0.00×1993-09-3019972000
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1993-09-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1994Current assets / current liabilities3.14×
1995Current assets / current liabilities3.28×
1996Current assets / current liabilities3.59×
1997Current assets / current liabilities3.42×
1998Current assets / current liabilities3.36×
1999Current assets / current liabilities3.35×
2000Current assets / current liabilities2.92×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1993 1992-10-01 – 1993-09-30
USD 4.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4485000 USD

1992-10-01 – 1993-09-30: 4485000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1994 1993-10-01 – 1994-09-30
USD 16.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 16764000 USD

1993-10-01 – 1994-09-30: 16764000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 55.62 million
Exact value

Exact value: 55618000 USD

1993-10-01 – 1994-09-30: 55618000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.78 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3777000 USD

1993-10-01 – 1994-09-30: 3777000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 51.84 million
Calculation and evidence

55618000 − 3777000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 51841000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1994-10-01 – 1995-09-30
USD 39 million
Exact value

Exact value: 38995000 USD

1994-10-01 – 1995-09-30: 38995000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 19.06 million
Exact value

Exact value: -19060000 USD

1994-10-01 – 1995-09-30: -19060000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 21.41 million
Exact value

Exact value: 21410000 USD

1994-10-01 – 1995-09-30: 21410000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 40.47 million
Calculation and evidence

-19060000 − 21410000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -40470000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1995-10-01 – 1996-09-30
USD 64.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 64099000 USD

1995-10-01 – 1996-09-30: 64099000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 23.59 million
Exact value

Exact value: 23589000 USD

1995-10-01 – 1996-09-30: 23589000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 68.84 million
Exact value

Exact value: 68836000 USD

1995-10-01 – 1996-09-30: 68836000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 45.25 million
Calculation and evidence

23589000 − 68836000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -45247000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30
USD 2.59 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2592000 USD

1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30: 2592000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 25.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 25037000 USD

1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30: 25037000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 89.93 million
Exact value

Exact value: 89932000 USD

1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30: 89932000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 64.9 million
Calculation and evidence

25037000 − 89932000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -64895000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30
−USD 13.58 million
Exact value

Exact value: -13577000 USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30: -13577000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 23.16 million
Exact value

Exact value: 23159000 USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30: 23159000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 79.21 million
Exact value

Exact value: 79208000 USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30: 79208000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 56.05 million
Calculation and evidence

23159000 − 79208000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -56049000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1999 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30
−USD 25.46 million
Exact value

Exact value: -25456000 USD

1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30: -25456000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.93 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2933000 USD

1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30: 2933000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 30.94 million
Exact value

Exact value: 30937000 USD

1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30: 30937000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 28 million
Calculation and evidence

2933000 − 30937000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -28004000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2000 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30
USD 46.82 million
Exact value

Exact value: 46821000 USD

1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30: 46821000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 22.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 22707000 USD

1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30: 22707000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 52.06 million
Exact value

Exact value: 52062000 USD

1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30: 52062000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 29.36 million
Calculation and evidence

22707000 − 52062000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -29355000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

26 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000712752, 712752, edgar:712752