NATIONAL SEMICONDUCTOR CORP

EDGAR

81 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-18 to 2011-07-27. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

374 million USD

2011 Q4 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 1520400000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 1146300000 USD Source

Operating margin

25.63%

2011 Q4 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 451600000 USD Source
  • Operating Income: 355700000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 1520400000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 1146300000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

147 million USD

2011 Q4 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 373500000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 227000000 USD Source

Free cash flow

128 million USD

2011 Q4 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 373500000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 227000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 100000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 81000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
1.09 billion USD Source
Exact value

1093500000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
252 million shares Source
Exact value

251738675 shares

Reported share-count change

5.30% · 12.7 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 239071512 shares · 2010-05-30· Source
  • 251738675 shares · 2011-05-29· Source

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Operating cash flow

374 million USD

2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 45200000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-08-29 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 167700000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-11-28 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 45200000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-08-29 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 227000000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-02-27 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 167700000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-11-28 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 373500000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 227000000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-02-27 Source

Capital expenditure

100 million USD

2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 23400000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-08-29 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 46900000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-11-28 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 23400000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-08-29 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 81000000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-02-27 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 46900000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-11-28 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 100000000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 81000000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-02-27 Source

Free cash flow

274 million USD

2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 45200000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-08-29 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 167700000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-11-28 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 45200000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-08-29 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 227000000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-02-27 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 167700000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-11-28 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 373500000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 227000000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-02-27 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 23400000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-08-29 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 46900000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-11-28 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 23400000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-08-29 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 81000000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-02-27 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 46900000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2010-11-28 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 100000000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 81000000 USD · 2010-05-31 – 2011-02-27 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2011-07-27.

Financial data available through: 2011-05-29.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29
  • Operating income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29
  • Net income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29
  • Operating cash flow: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29
  • Capital expenditure: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29
  • Total assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29
  • Total liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29
  • Current assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29
  • Current liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • Shares outstanding: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-05-29

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

No unambiguous prior-year comparison is available for the latest reporting period.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Revenue, Net income, Operating cash flow, Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2011 2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29

  • Revenue USD 1.52 billion 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 482 million 32% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 586.8 million 39% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 451.6 million 30% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 373.5 million 25% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 100 million 6.6% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 273.5 million 18% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2005 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2006 21%10%69%
  • 2007 19%75%
  • 2008 18%9.4%73%
  • 2009 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2009 87%
  • 2010 15%77%
  • 2010 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2011 20%10%70%
  • 2011 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2005 2004-05-30 – 2005-05-291913100000 1514200000 Derived 398900000 -16400000 Derived 415300000 431300000 Derived
Source
2006 2005-05-29 – 2006-05-282158100000 1492600000 Derived 665500000 216300000 Derived 449200000 633600000 Derived
Source
2007 2006-05-26 – 2007-05-251929900000 1440200000 Derived 489700000 114400000 Derived 375300000 511700000 Derived
Source
2008 2007-05-26 – 2008-05-251885900000 1376800000 Derived 509100000 176800000 Derived 332300000 533000000 Derived
Source
2009 2008-05-26 – 2009-05-311460400000 1277200000 Derived 183200000 UnavailableUnavailable277100000 Derived
Source
2009 2008-06-01 – 2009-05-311460400000 1277200000 Derived 183200000 109900000 Derived 73300000 277100000 Derived
Source
2010 2009-05-31 – 2010-05-301419400000 1093600000 Derived 325800000 116600000 Derived 209200000 359600000 Derived
Source
2010 2009-06-01 – 2010-05-301419400000 1093600000 Derived 325800000 UnavailableUnavailable359600000 Derived
Source
2011 2010-05-30 – 2011-05-291520400000 1068800000 Derived 451600000 152800000 Derived 298800000 273500000 Derived
Source
2011 2010-05-31 – 2011-05-291520400000 1068800000 Derived 451600000 UnavailableUnavailable273500000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 1.9B 2008
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.3B1.7B1.2B582.7M0.0200220052008
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2002Revenue1494800000
2003Revenue1672500000
2004Revenue1983100000
2004Revenue1983100000
2005Revenue1913100000
2006Revenue2158100000
2007Revenue1929900000
2008Revenue1885900000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-2.3% 2008
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.20.9%12.5%4.0%-4.5%-12.9%200220052008
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2002Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2003Year over year11.9%
2004Year over year18.6%
2004Year over year18.6%
2005Year over year-3.5%
2006Year over year12.8%
2007Year over year-10.6%
2008Year over year-2.3%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 27% 2008
Net margin 17.6% 2008
Free cash flow margin 28.3% 2008
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.34%22%11%-1%-13%200220052008
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2002Operating margin-9.8%
2003Operating margin-1.1%
2004Operating margin16.5%
2004Operating margin16.7%
2005Operating margin20.9%
2006Operating margin30.8%
2007Operating margin25.4%
2008Operating margin27%
2002Net margin-8.2%
2003Net margin-2%
2004Net margin14.3%
2004Net margin14.3%
2005Net margin21.7%
2006Net margin20.8%
2007Net margin19.4%
2008Net margin17.6%
2002Free cash flow marginNot reported
2003Free cash flow marginNot reported
2004Free cash flow marginNot reported
2004Free cash flow marginNot reported
2005Free cash flow margin22.5%
2006Free cash flow margin29.4%
2007Free cash flow margin26.5%
2008Free cash flow margin28.3%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 644.3M 2008
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.860.7M645.5M430.3M215.2M0.0200220052008
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2002Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2003Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2004Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2004Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2005Operating cash flow527900000
2006Operating cash flow796900000
2007Operating cash flow618300000
2008Operating cash flow644300000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 533M 2008
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.684.3M513.2M342.1M171.1M0.0200220052008
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2002Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2003Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2004Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2004Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2005Free cash flow431300000
2006Free cash flow633600000
2007Free cash flow511700000
2008Free cash flow533000000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

90.8% 2008
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.98%74%49%25%0%200220052008
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2002Liabilities / assets84.1%
2003Liabilities / assets24.1%
2004-05-29Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2004Liabilities / assets26.3%
2005Liabilities / assets18%
2006Liabilities / assets23.3%
2007Liabilities / assets21.3%
2008Liabilities / assets90.8%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

3.8× 2008
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.5.74×4.30×2.87×1.43×0.00×200220052008
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2002Current assets / current liabilities0.98×
2003Current assets / current liabilities3.46×
2004-05-29Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2004Current assets / current liabilities2.7×
2005Current assets / current liabilities5.31×
2006Current assets / current liabilities3.87×
2007Current assets / current liabilities4.31×
2008Current assets / current liabilities3.8×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2005 2004-05-30 – 2005-05-29
USD 415.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 415300000 USD

2004-05-30 – 2005-05-29: 415300000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 527.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 527900000 USD

2004-05-30 – 2005-05-29: 527900000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 96.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 96600000 USD

2004-05-30 – 2005-05-29: 96600000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 431.3 million
Calculation and evidence

527900000 − 96600000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 431300000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2006 2005-05-29 – 2006-05-28
USD 449.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 449200000 USD

2005-05-29 – 2006-05-28: 449200000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 796.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 796900000 USD

2005-05-29 – 2006-05-28: 796900000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 163.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 163300000 USD

2005-05-29 – 2006-05-28: 163300000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 633.6 million
Calculation and evidence

796900000 − 163300000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 633600000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2007 2006-05-26 – 2007-05-25
USD 375.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 375300000 USD

2006-05-26 – 2007-05-25: 375300000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 618.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 618300000 USD

2006-05-26 – 2007-05-25: 618300000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 106.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 106600000 USD

2006-05-26 – 2007-05-25: 106600000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 511.7 million
Calculation and evidence

618300000 − 106600000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 511700000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2008 2007-05-26 – 2008-05-25
USD 332.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 332300000 USD

2007-05-26 – 2008-05-25: 332300000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 644.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 644300000 USD

2007-05-26 – 2008-05-25: 644300000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 111.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 111300000 USD

2007-05-26 – 2008-05-25: 111300000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 533 million
Calculation and evidence

644300000 − 111300000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 533000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2009 2008-05-26 – 2009-05-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 360.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 360800000 USD

2008-05-26 – 2009-05-31: 360800000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 83.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 83700000 USD

2008-05-26 – 2009-05-31: 83700000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 277.1 million
Calculation and evidence

360800000 − 83700000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 277100000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2009 2008-06-01 – 2009-05-31
USD 73.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 73300000 USD

2008-06-01 – 2009-05-31: 73300000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 360.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 360800000 USD

2008-06-01 – 2009-05-31: 360800000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 83.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 83700000 USD

2008-06-01 – 2009-05-31: 83700000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 277.1 million
Calculation and evidence

360800000 − 83700000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 277100000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2010 2009-05-31 – 2010-05-30
USD 209.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 209200000 USD

2009-05-31 – 2010-05-30: 209200000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 402.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 402900000 USD

2009-05-31 – 2010-05-30: 402900000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 43.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 43300000 USD

2009-05-31 – 2010-05-30: 43300000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 359.6 million
Calculation and evidence

402900000 − 43300000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 359600000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2010 2009-06-01 – 2010-05-30
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 402.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 402900000 USD

2009-06-01 – 2010-05-30: 402900000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 43.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 43300000 USD

2009-06-01 – 2010-05-30: 43300000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 359.6 million
Calculation and evidence

402900000 − 43300000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 359600000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2010-05-30 – 2011-05-29
USD 298.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 298800000 USD

2010-05-30 – 2011-05-29: 298800000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 373.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 373500000 USD

2010-05-30 – 2011-05-29: 373500000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 100 million
Exact value

Exact value: 100000000 USD

2010-05-30 – 2011-05-29: 100000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 273.5 million
Calculation and evidence

373500000 − 100000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 273500000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 373.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 373500000 USD

2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29: 373500000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 100 million
Exact value

Exact value: 100000000 USD

2010-05-31 – 2011-05-29: 100000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 273.5 million
Calculation and evidence

373500000 − 100000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 273500000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

81 filings · 531 latest values · 531 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000070530, 70530, edgar:70530

Also known as NATIONAL SEMICONDUCTOR CORP