MORTON INTERNATIONAL INC

EDGAR

19 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-02-10 to 1998-02-12. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

665 million USD

1997-12-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
Cash and cash equivalents
124 million USD Source
Exact value

124100000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Operating cash flow

539 million USD

1996-04-01 – 1997-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 501200000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 341500000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 121900000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 167800000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 121900000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 379500000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 167800000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-12-31 Source

Capital expenditure

237 million USD

1996-04-01 – 1997-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 216400000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 161100000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 55900000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 122500000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 55900000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 181600000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 122500000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-12-31 Source

Free cash flow

302 million USD

1996-04-01 – 1997-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 501200000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 341500000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 121900000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 167800000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 121900000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 379500000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 167800000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 216400000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 161100000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 55900000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 122500000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 55900000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 181600000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1997-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 122500000 USD · 1996-07-01 – 1996-12-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 1998-02-12.

Financial data available through: 1996-06-30.

Financial coverage is incomplete. Newer filings are recorded, but comparable financial figures for those periods are not available here yet.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-06-30
  • Operating income: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1995-06-30
  • Net income: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-06-30
  • Operating cash flow: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-06-30
  • Capital expenditure: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-06-30
  • Total assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-06-30
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-06-30
  • Current liabilities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-06-30
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-06-30
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +8.6%

    Prior period

    USD 3.33 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 3.61 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    3612500000 − 3325900000 = 286600000 USD

    3325900000 USD · 1994-07-01 – 1995-06-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    3612500000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +13.6%

    Prior period

    USD 294.1 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 334.2 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    334200000 − 294100000 = 40100000 USD

    294100000 USD · 1994-07-01 – 1995-06-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    334200000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +40%

    Prior period

    USD 358 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 501.2 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    501200000 − 358000000 = 143200000 USD

    358000000 USD · 1994-07-01 – 1995-06-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    501200000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -14.2%

    Prior period

    USD 252.2 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 216.4 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    216400000 − 252200000 = -35800000 USD

    252200000 USD · 1994-07-01 – 1995-06-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    216400000 USD · 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1996 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30

  • Revenue USD 3.61 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Operating income Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income USD 334.2 million 9.3% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 501.2 million 14% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 216.4 million 6% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 284.8 million 7.9% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1992 93%
  • 1993 95%
  • 1994 92%
  • 1995 91%
  • 1996 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1992 1991-07-01 – 1992-06-302043900000 1899400000 Derived 144500000 0 Derived 144500000 13800000 Derived
Source
1993 1992-07-01 – 1993-06-302309800000 2182900000 Derived 126900000 94400000 Derived 32500000 55300000 Derived
Source
1994 1993-07-01 – 1994-06-302849600000 2623100000 Derived 226500000 0 Derived 226500000 111400000 Derived
Source
1995 1994-07-01 – 1995-06-303325900000 3031800000 Derived 294100000 0 Derived 294100000 105800000 Derived
Source
1996 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-303612500000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable334200000 284800000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 3.6B 1996
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.9B2.9B2.0B975.4M0.019921993199419951996
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Revenue2043900000
1993Revenue2309800000
1994Revenue2849600000
1995Revenue3325900000
1996Revenue3612500000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

8.6% 1996
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.25.2%18.9%12.6%6.3%0.0%19921993199419951996
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1993Year over year13%
1994Year over year23.4%
1995Year over year16.7%
1996Year over year8.6%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 8.8% 1995
Net margin 9.3% 1996
Free cash flow margin 7.9% 1996
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.10.0%7.5%5.0%2.5%0.0%19921993199419951996-06-30
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992Operating margin7.1%
1993Operating margin5.5%
1994Operating margin7.9%
1995Operating margin8.8%
1996-06-30Operating marginNot reported
1992Net margin7.1%
1993Net margin1.4%
1994Net margin7.9%
1995Net margin8.8%
1996Net margin9.3%
1992Free cash flow margin0.7%
1993Free cash flow margin2.4%
1994Free cash flow margin3.9%
1995Free cash flow margin3.2%
1996Free cash flow margin7.9%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 501.2M 1996
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.541.3M406.0M270.6M135.3M0.019921993199419951996
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Operating cash flow213900000
1993Operating cash flow256700000
1994Operating cash flow331300000
1995Operating cash flow358000000
1996Operating cash flow501200000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 284.8M 1996
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.307.6M230.7M153.8M76.9M0.019921993199419951996
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Free cash flow13800000
1993Free cash flow55300000
1994Free cash flow111400000
1995Free cash flow105800000
1996Free cash flow284800000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992-06-30Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1993-06-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1994-06-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1995-06-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1996-06-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

2.66× 1996
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.87×2.15×1.43×0.72×0.00×1992-06-301993199419951996
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992-06-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1993Current assets / current liabilities1.65×
1994Current assets / current liabilities1.79×
1995Current assets / current liabilities2.11×
1996Current assets / current liabilities2.66×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1992 1991-07-01 – 1992-06-30
USD 144.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 144500000 USD

1991-07-01 – 1992-06-30: 144500000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 213.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 213900000 USD

1991-07-01 – 1992-06-30: 213900000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 200.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 200100000 USD

1991-07-01 – 1992-06-30: 200100000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 13.8 million
Calculation and evidence

213900000 − 200100000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 13800000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1993 1992-07-01 – 1993-06-30
USD 32.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 32500000 USD

1992-07-01 – 1993-06-30: 32500000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 256.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 256700000 USD

1992-07-01 – 1993-06-30: 256700000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 201.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 201400000 USD

1992-07-01 – 1993-06-30: 201400000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 55.3 million
Calculation and evidence

256700000 − 201400000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 55300000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1994 1993-07-01 – 1994-06-30
USD 226.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 226500000 USD

1993-07-01 – 1994-06-30: 226500000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 331.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 331300000 USD

1993-07-01 – 1994-06-30: 331300000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 219.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 219900000 USD

1993-07-01 – 1994-06-30: 219900000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 111.4 million
Calculation and evidence

331300000 − 219900000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 111400000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1994-07-01 – 1995-06-30
USD 294.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 294100000 USD

1994-07-01 – 1995-06-30: 294100000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 358 million
Exact value

Exact value: 358000000 USD

1994-07-01 – 1995-06-30: 358000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 252.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 252200000 USD

1994-07-01 – 1995-06-30: 252200000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 105.8 million
Calculation and evidence

358000000 − 252200000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 105800000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30
USD 334.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 334200000 USD

1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30: 334200000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 501.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 501200000 USD

1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30: 501200000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 216.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 216400000 USD

1995-07-01 – 1996-06-30: 216400000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 284.8 million
Calculation and evidence

501200000 − 216400000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 284800000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

19 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000068361, 68361, edgar:68361