AMERICAN STANDARD INC

EDGAR

32 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-30 to 1999-12-30. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

1.9 billion USD

1999-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 1899000000 USD Source

Net margin

3.79%

1999-09-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net Income: 72000000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 1899000000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

203 million USD

1999-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 232000000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 29000000 USD Source

Free cash flow

144 million USD

1999-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 232000000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 29000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 140000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 81000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
45 million USD Source
Exact value

45000000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

7.15 billion USD

1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 6653881000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 5016000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 1675000000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 1936000000 USD · 1999-04-01 – 1999-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 1899000000 USD · 1999-07-01 – 1999-09-30 Source

Capital expenditure

239 million USD

1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 255300000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 156000000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 34000000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 81000000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 34000000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 140000000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 81000000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-06-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 1999-12-30.

Financial data available through: 1998-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • operating income: No compatible figures in this window
  • Net income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1997-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • Total assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • Current assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +10.8%

    Prior period

    USD 6.01 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 6.65 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    6653881000 − 6007509000 = 646372000 USD

    6007509000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    6653881000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +4.4%

    Prior period

    USD 395.38 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 412.74 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    412742000 − 395384000 = 17358000 USD

    395384000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    412742000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +4.1%

    Prior period

    USD 245.26 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 255.3 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    255300000 − 245258000 = 10042000 USD

    245258000 USD · 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    255300000 USD · 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Net income.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

  • Revenue USD 6.65 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Operating income Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 412.74 million 6.2% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 255.3 million 3.8% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 157.44 million 2.4% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1991 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1992 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1993 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1994 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1995 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1996 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1997 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1998 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1991 1991-01-01 – 1991-12-313595267000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-143173000 150028000 Derived
Source
1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-313791929000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-57238000 86237000 Derived
Source
1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-313830462000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-208567000 110367000 Derived
Source
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-314457465000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-86421000 150845000 Derived
Source
1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-315221476000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable111655000 183513000 Derived
Source
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-315804561000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-46718000 140582000 Derived
Source
1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-316007509000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable96223000 150126000 Derived
Source
1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-316653881000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailableUnavailable157442000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 6.7B 1998
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.2B5.4B3.6B1.8B0.0199119951998
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Revenue3595267000
1992Revenue3791929000
1993Revenue3830462000
1994Revenue4457465000
1995Revenue5221476000
1996Revenue5804561000
1997Revenue6007509000
1998Revenue6653881000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

10.8% 1998
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.18.5%13.9%9.3%4.6%0.0%199119951998
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1992Year over year5.5%
1993Year over year1%
1994Year over year16.4%
1995Year over year17.1%
1996Year over year11.2%
1997Year over year3.5%
1998Year over year10.8%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Net margin 1.6% 1997
Free cash flow margin 2.4% 1998
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.4.9%2.2%-0.6%-3.4%-6.2%1991-12-311995-12-311998-12-31
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1992-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1993-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1994-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1995-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1996-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1997-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1998-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1991Net margin-4%
1992Net margin-1.5%
1993Net margin-5.4%
1994Net margin-1.9%
1995Net margin2.1%
1996Net margin-0.8%
1997Net margin1.6%
1998-12-31Net marginNot reported
1991Free cash flow margin4.2%
1992Free cash flow margin2.3%
1993Free cash flow margin2.9%
1994Free cash flow margin3.4%
1995Free cash flow margin3.5%
1996Free cash flow margin2.4%
1997Free cash flow margin2.5%
1998Free cash flow margin2.4%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 412.7M 1998
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.445.8M334.3M222.9M111.4M0.0199119951998
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Operating cash flow240741000
1992Operating cash flow173646000
1993Operating cash flow200841000
1994Operating cash flow256586000
1995Operating cash flow347706000
1996Operating cash flow352761000
1997Operating cash flow395384000
1998Operating cash flow412742000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 157.4M 1998
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.198.2M148.6M99.1M49.5M0.0199119951998
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Free cash flow150028000
1992Free cash flow86237000
1993Free cash flow110367000
1994Free cash flow150845000
1995Free cash flow183513000
1996Free cash flow140582000
1997Free cash flow150126000
1998Free cash flow157442000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

107.6% 1998
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.135%101%67%34%0%1991-12-3119951998
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1992Liabilities / assets109.1%
1993Liabilities / assets123.2%
1994Liabilities / assets124.6%
1995Liabilities / assets110.8%
1996Liabilities / assets110.9%
1997Liabilities / assets108.2%
1998Liabilities / assets107.6%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.67× 1998
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.52×1.14×0.76×0.38×0.00×1991-12-3119951998
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1992Current assets / current liabilities1.4×
1993Current assets / current liabilities1.1×
1994Current assets / current liabilities1×
1995Current assets / current liabilities1×
1996Current assets / current liabilities1.12×
1997Current assets / current liabilities0.75×
1998Current assets / current liabilities0.67×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1991 1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31
−USD 143.17 million
Exact value

Exact value: -143173000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: -143173000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 240.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: 240741000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: 240741000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 90.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 90713000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: 90713000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 150.03 million
Calculation and evidence

240741000 − 90713000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 150028000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31
−USD 57.24 million
Exact value

Exact value: -57238000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: -57238000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 173.65 million
Exact value

Exact value: 173646000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 173646000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 87.41 million
Exact value

Exact value: 87409000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 87409000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 86.24 million
Calculation and evidence

173646000 − 87409000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 86237000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31
−USD 208.57 million
Exact value

Exact value: -208567000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: -208567000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 200.84 million
Exact value

Exact value: 200841000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 200841000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 90.47 million
Exact value

Exact value: 90474000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 90474000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 110.37 million
Calculation and evidence

200841000 − 90474000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 110367000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31
−USD 86.42 million
Exact value

Exact value: -86421000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: -86421000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 256.59 million
Exact value

Exact value: 256586000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 256586000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 105.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: 105741000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 105741000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 150.85 million
Calculation and evidence

256586000 − 105741000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 150845000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
USD 111.66 million
Exact value

Exact value: 111655000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 111655000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 347.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 347706000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 347706000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 164.19 million
Exact value

Exact value: 164193000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 164193000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 183.51 million
Calculation and evidence

347706000 − 164193000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 183513000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
−USD 46.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: -46718000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: -46718000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 352.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 352761000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 352761000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 212.18 million
Exact value

Exact value: 212179000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 212179000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 140.58 million
Calculation and evidence

352761000 − 212179000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 140582000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
USD 96.22 million
Exact value

Exact value: 96223000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 96223000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 395.38 million
Exact value

Exact value: 395384000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 395384000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 245.26 million
Exact value

Exact value: 245258000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 245258000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 150.13 million
Calculation and evidence

395384000 − 245258000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 150126000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 412.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: 412742000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 412742000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 255.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 255300000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 255300000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 157.44 million
Calculation and evidence

412742000 − 255300000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 157442000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

32 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000005850, 5850, edgar:5850