HUGHES SUPPLY INC

EDGAR

52 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-04-26 to 2005-12-12. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

1.49 billion USD

2005-10-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 1493500000 USD Source

Operating margin

5.42%

2005-10-31 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 80900000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 1493500000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

117 million USD

2005-10-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 187100000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 69800000 USD Source

Free cash flow

105 million USD

2005-10-31 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 187100000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 69800000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 43400000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 31500000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
252 million USD Source
Exact value

251800000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2005-12-12.

Financial data available through: 2005-01-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-01-31
  • Operating income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-01-31
  • Net income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-01-31
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-01-31
  • Capital expenditure: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-01-31
  • Total assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-01-31
  • Total liabilities: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-01-31
  • Current assets: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-01-31
  • Current liabilities: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-01-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-01-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +35.9%

    Prior period

    USD 3.25 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 4.42 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    4422600000 − 3253400000 = 1169200000 USD

    3253400000 USD · 2003-01-31 – 2004-01-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    4422600000 USD · 2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +114.4%

    Prior period

    USD 57.7 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 123.7 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    123700000 − 57700000 = 66000000 USD

    57700000 USD · 2003-01-31 – 2004-01-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    123700000 USD · 2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -0.5%

    Prior period

    USD 145.9 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 145.2 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    145200000 − 145900000 = -700000 USD

    145900000 USD · 2003-01-31 – 2004-01-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    145200000 USD · 2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +71.1%

    Prior period

    USD 15.9 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 27.2 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    27200000 − 15900000 = 11300000 USD

    15900000 USD · 2003-01-31 – 2004-01-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    27200000 USD · 2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2005 2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31

  • Revenue USD 4.42 billion 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 3.38 billion 77% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 818.4 million 19% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 220.9 million 5% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 97.2 million 2.2% of revenue
  • Net income USD 123.7 million 2.8% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 145.2 million 3.3% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 27.2 million 0.6% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 118 million 2.7% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1996 97%
  • 1997 96%
  • 1998 96%
  • 1999 95%
  • 2000 96%
  • 2001 97%
  • 2002 97%
  • 2003 96%
  • 2004 96%
  • 2005 95%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1996 1995-02-01 – 1996-01-311285328000 1244389000 Derived 40939000 16486000 Derived 24453000 Unavailable
Source
1997 1996-02-01 – 1997-01-311619362000 1554425000 Derived 64937000 27883000 Derived 37054000 -10128000 Derived
Source
1998 1997-01-31 – 1998-01-301945446000 1858202000 Derived 87244000 39674000 Derived 47570000 -32975000 Derived
Source
1999 1998-01-30 – 1999-01-292536265000 2419059000 Derived 117206000 55763000 Derived 61443000 4646000 Derived
Source
2000 1999-01-29 – 2000-01-282994877000 2862485000 Derived 132392000 66521000 Derived 65871000 2709000 Derived
Source
2001 2000-01-27 – 2001-01-263310163000 3204674000 Derived 105489000 58974000 Derived 46515000 32168000 Derived
Source
2002 2001-01-26 – 2002-01-253037700000 2936400000 Derived 101300000 57200000 Derived 44100000 126100000 Derived
Source
2003 2002-02-01 – 2003-01-313066300000 2945100000 Derived 121200000 63100000 Derived 58100000 97100000 Derived
Source
2004 2003-01-31 – 2004-01-303253400000 3130700000 Derived 122700000 65000000 Derived 57700000 130000000 Derived
Source
2005 2004-02-01 – 2005-01-314422600000 4201700000 Derived 220900000 97200000 Derived 123700000 118000000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 4.4B 2005
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.4.8B3.6B2.4B1.2B0.0199620012005
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1996Revenue1285328000
1997Revenue1619362000
1998Revenue1945446000
1999Revenue2536265000
2000Revenue2994877000
2001Revenue3310163000
2002Revenue3037700000
2003Revenue3066300000
2004Revenue3253400000
2005Revenue4422600000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

35.9% 2005
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.39%27%14%1%-12%199620012005
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1997Year over year26%
1998Year over year20.1%
1999Year over year30.4%
2000Year over year18.1%
2001Year over year10.5%
2002Year over year-8.2%
2003Year over year0.9%
2004Year over year6.1%
2005Year over year35.9%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 5% 2005
Net margin 2.8% 2005
Free cash flow margin 2.7% 2005
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.5.5%3.6%1.6%-0.3%-2.2%199620012005
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996Operating margin3.2%
1997Operating margin4%
1998Operating margin4.5%
1999Operating margin4.6%
2000Operating margin4.4%
2001Operating margin3.2%
2002Operating margin3.3%
2003Operating margin4%
2004Operating margin3.8%
2005Operating margin5%
1996Net margin1.9%
1997Net margin2.3%
1998Net margin2.4%
1999Net margin2.4%
2000Net margin2.2%
2001Net margin1.4%
2002Net margin1.5%
2003Net margin1.9%
2004Net margin1.8%
2005Net margin2.8%
1996Free cash flow marginNot reported
1997Free cash flow margin-0.6%
1998Free cash flow margin-1.7%
1999Free cash flow margin0.2%
2000Free cash flow margin0.1%
2001Free cash flow margin1%
2002Free cash flow margin4.2%
2003Free cash flow margin3.2%
2004Free cash flow margin4%
2005Free cash flow margin2.7%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 145.2M 2005
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.158.0M114.3M70.6M26.9M-16.8M199620012005
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1996Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1997Operating cash flow6770000
1998Operating cash flow-4790000
1999Operating cash flow31567000
2000Operating cash flow33449000
2001Operating cash flow56039000
2002Operating cash flow143000000
2003Operating cash flow112400000
2004Operating cash flow145900000
2005Operating cash flow145200000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 118M 2005
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.143.0M95.8M48.5M1.2M-46.0M199620012005
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1996Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
1997Free cash flow-10128000
1998Free cash flow-32975000
1999Free cash flow4646000
2000Free cash flow2709000
2001Free cash flow32168000
2002Free cash flow126100000
2003Free cash flow97100000
2004Free cash flow130000000
2005Free cash flow118000000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

50.4% 2005
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.67%50%33%17%0%1996-01-3120012005
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996-01-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1997Liabilities / assets55.5%
1998-01-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1999Liabilities / assets56.9%
2000Liabilities / assets61.8%
2001Liabilities / assets59.5%
2002Liabilities / assets54%
2003Liabilities / assets55.1%
2004Liabilities / assets46.2%
2005Liabilities / assets50.4%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

2.36× 2005
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.75×2.81×1.88×0.94×0.00×1996-01-3120012005
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996-01-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1997Current assets / current liabilities3.26×
1998-01-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1999Current assets / current liabilities3.47×
2000Current assets / current liabilities3.19×
2001Current assets / current liabilities3.2×
2002Current assets / current liabilities3.14×
2003Current assets / current liabilities2.5×
2004Current assets / current liabilities2.38×
2005Current assets / current liabilities2.36×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1996 1995-02-01 – 1996-01-31
USD 24.45 million
Exact value

Exact value: 24453000 USD

1995-02-01 – 1996-01-31: 24453000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1997 1996-02-01 – 1997-01-31
USD 37.05 million
Exact value

Exact value: 37054000 USD

1996-02-01 – 1997-01-31: 37054000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 6.77 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6770000 USD

1996-02-01 – 1997-01-31: 6770000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 16.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 16898000 USD

1996-02-01 – 1997-01-31: 16898000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 10.13 million
Calculation and evidence

6770000 − 16898000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -10128000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1997-01-31 – 1998-01-30
USD 47.57 million
Exact value

Exact value: 47570000 USD

1997-01-31 – 1998-01-30: 47570000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 4.79 million
Exact value

Exact value: -4790000 USD

1997-01-31 – 1998-01-30: -4790000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 28.19 million
Exact value

Exact value: 28185000 USD

1997-01-31 – 1998-01-30: 28185000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 32.98 million
Calculation and evidence

-4790000 − 28185000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -32975000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1999 1998-01-30 – 1999-01-29
USD 61.44 million
Exact value

Exact value: 61443000 USD

1998-01-30 – 1999-01-29: 61443000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 31.57 million
Exact value

Exact value: 31567000 USD

1998-01-30 – 1999-01-29: 31567000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 26.92 million
Exact value

Exact value: 26921000 USD

1998-01-30 – 1999-01-29: 26921000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.65 million
Calculation and evidence

31567000 − 26921000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 4646000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2000 1999-01-29 – 2000-01-28
USD 65.87 million
Exact value

Exact value: 65871000 USD

1999-01-29 – 2000-01-28: 65871000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 33.45 million
Exact value

Exact value: 33449000 USD

1999-01-29 – 2000-01-28: 33449000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 30.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: 30740000 USD

1999-01-29 – 2000-01-28: 30740000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.71 million
Calculation and evidence

33449000 − 30740000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 2709000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2001 2000-01-27 – 2001-01-26
USD 46.52 million
Exact value

Exact value: 46515000 USD

2000-01-27 – 2001-01-26: 46515000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 56.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 56039000 USD

2000-01-27 – 2001-01-26: 56039000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 23.87 million
Exact value

Exact value: 23871000 USD

2000-01-27 – 2001-01-26: 23871000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 32.17 million
Calculation and evidence

56039000 − 23871000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 32168000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2002 2001-01-26 – 2002-01-25
USD 44.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 44100000 USD

2001-01-26 – 2002-01-25: 44100000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 143 million
Exact value

Exact value: 143000000 USD

2001-01-26 – 2002-01-25: 143000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 16.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 16900000 USD

2001-01-26 – 2002-01-25: 16900000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 126.1 million
Calculation and evidence

143000000 − 16900000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 126100000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2003 2002-02-01 – 2003-01-31
USD 58.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 58100000 USD

2002-02-01 – 2003-01-31: 58100000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 112.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 112400000 USD

2002-02-01 – 2003-01-31: 112400000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 15.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 15300000 USD

2002-02-01 – 2003-01-31: 15300000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 97.1 million
Calculation and evidence

112400000 − 15300000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 97100000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2004 2003-01-31 – 2004-01-30
USD 57.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 57700000 USD

2003-01-31 – 2004-01-30: 57700000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 145.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 145900000 USD

2003-01-31 – 2004-01-30: 145900000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 15.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 15900000 USD

2003-01-31 – 2004-01-30: 15900000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 130 million
Calculation and evidence

145900000 − 15900000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 130000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2005 2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31
USD 123.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 123700000 USD

2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31: 123700000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 145.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 145200000 USD

2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31: 145200000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 27.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 27200000 USD

2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31: 27200000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 118 million
Calculation and evidence

145200000 − 27200000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 118000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

52 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000049029, 49029, edgar:49029