The Southern Company

EDGAR

144 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-28 to 2026-07-30. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

3.44 billion USD

2004-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 3440805000 USD Source

Operating margin

32.35%

2004-09-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 1112967000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 3440805000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
284 million USD Source
Exact value

284029000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2026-07-30.

Financial data available through: 2003-12-31.

Financial coverage is incomplete. Newer filings are recorded, but comparable financial figures for those periods are not available here yet.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2003-12-31
  • Operating income: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2003-12-31
  • net income: No compatible figures in this window
  • operating cash flow: No compatible figures in this window
  • capital expenditure: No compatible figures in this window
  • Total assets: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2003-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2003-12-31
  • Current assets: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2003-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2003-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2003-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +6.7%

    Prior period

    USD 10.55 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 11.25 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    11251000000 − 10549000000 = 702000000 USD

    10549000000 USD · 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    11251000000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Net income, Operating cash flow, Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31

  • Revenue USD 11.25 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 8.36 billion 74% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 2.9 billion 26% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Cash

  • Operating cash flow Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2001 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2002 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2003 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-3110155000000 7764000000 Derived 2391000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source
2002 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-3110549000000 7903000000 Derived 2646000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source
2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-3111251000000 8356000000 Derived 2895000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 11.3B 2003
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.12.2B9.1B6.1B3.0B0.0200120022003
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2001Revenue10155000000
2002Revenue10549000000
2003Revenue11251000000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

6.7% 2003
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.2%5.4%3.6%1.8%0.0%200120022003
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2001Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2002Year over year3.9%
2003Year over year6.7%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 25.7% 2003
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.27.8%20.8%13.9%6.9%0.0%200120022003
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2001Operating margin23.5%
2002Operating margin25.1%
2003Operating margin25.7%
2001-12-31Net marginNot reported
2002-12-31Net marginNot reported
2003-12-31Net marginNot reported
2001Free cash flow marginNot reported
2002Free cash flow marginNot reported
2003Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2001Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2002Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2003Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2001Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2002Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2003Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

71.4% 2003
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.79%59%40%20%0%2001-12-3120022003
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2001-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2002Liabilities / assets73.3%
2003Liabilities / assets71.4%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.87× 2003
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.0.94×0.71×0.47×0.24×0.00×2001-12-3120022003
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2001-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2002Current assets / current liabilities0.59×
2003Current assets / current liabilities0.87×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

No compatible annual cash generation figures are available for this company.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

144 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000041091, 41091, GPJA, edgar:41091

Also known as GEORGIA POWER CO, Georgia Power Company, The Southern Company