GENRAD INC

EDGAR

40 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-28 to 2001-08-30. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

54.5 million USD

2001-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-106.89%

2001-06-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -58255000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 54498000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

398 thousand USD

2001-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 8950000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 8552000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-1.41 million USD

2001-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 8950000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 8552000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 4523000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 2715000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
5.94 million USD Source
Exact value

5935000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2001-08-30.

Financial data available through: 1996-12-28.

Financial coverage is incomplete. Newer filings are recorded, but comparable financial figures for those periods are not available here yet.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-28
  • Operating income: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-28
  • Net income: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-28
  • Operating cash flow: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1995-12-30
  • Capital expenditure: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1995-12-30
  • Total assets: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-28
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-28
  • Current liabilities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-28
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-28
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +15.6%

    Prior period

    USD 158.75 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 183.55 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    183545000 − 158753000 = 24792000 USD

    158753000 USD · 1994-12-31 – 1995-12-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    183545000 USD · 1995-12-29 – 1996-12-28

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +122.8%

    Prior period

    USD 12.27 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 27.34 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    27335000 − 12271000 = 15064000 USD

    12271000 USD · 1994-12-31 – 1995-12-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    27335000 USD · 1995-12-29 – 1996-12-28

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Operating cash flow, Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1996 1995-12-29 – 1996-12-28

  • Revenue USD 183.55 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 87.14 million 47% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 70.55 million 38% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 25.86 million 14% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −USD 1.48 million −0.8% of revenue
  • Net income USD 27.34 million 15% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1992 Operating loss: operating costs were 103% of revenue.
  • 1993 Operating loss: operating costs were 125% of revenue.
  • 1994 94%
  • 1995 90%
  • 1996 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31142609000 146553000 Derived -3944000 3462000 Derived -7406000 -10732000 Derived
Source
1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31158704000 198247000 Derived -39543000 4254000 Derived -43797000 -876000 Derived
Source
1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31147903000 139246000 Derived 8657000 4145000 Derived 4512000 -410000 Derived
Source
1995 1994-12-31 – 1995-12-30158753000 142384000 Derived 16369000 4098000 Derived 12271000 -4061000 Derived
Source
1996 1995-12-29 – 1996-12-28183545000 157689000 Derived 25856000 -1479000 Derived 27335000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 183.5M 1996
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.198.2M148.7M99.1M49.6M0.019921993199419951996
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Revenue142609000
1993Revenue158704000
1994Revenue147903000
1995Revenue158753000
1996Revenue183545000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

15.6% 1996
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.17.4%10.9%4.4%-2.1%-8.6%19921993199419951996
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1993Year over year11.3%
1994Year over year-6.8%
1995Year over year7.3%
1996Year over year15.6%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 14.1% 1996
Net margin 14.9% 1996
Free cash flow margin -2.6% 1995
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.18%6%-6%-19%-31%19921993199419951996
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992Operating margin-2.8%
1993Operating margin-24.9%
1994Operating margin5.9%
1995Operating margin10.3%
1996Operating margin14.1%
1992Net margin-5.2%
1993Net margin-27.6%
1994Net margin3.1%
1995Net margin7.7%
1996Net margin14.9%
1992Free cash flow margin-7.5%
1993Free cash flow margin-0.6%
1994Free cash flow margin-0.3%
1995Free cash flow margin-2.6%
1996Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 2.5M 1995
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.5.9M2.8M-335.5K-3.5M-6.6M19921993199419951996
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Operating cash flow-5712000
1993Operating cash flow5041000
1994Operating cash flow4623000
1995Operating cash flow2497000
1996Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -4.1M 1995
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.858.6K-2.3M-5.4M-8.5M-11.6M19921993199419951996
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Free cash flow-10732000
1993Free cash flow-876000
1994Free cash flow-410000
1995Free cash flow-4061000
1996Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1993-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1994-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1995-12-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1996-12-28Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

2.74× 1996
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.96×2.22×1.48×0.74×0.00×1992-12-311993-12-31199419951996
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1993-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1994Current assets / current liabilities1.33×
1995Current assets / current liabilities1.72×
1996Current assets / current liabilities2.74×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31
−USD 7.41 million
Exact value

Exact value: -7406000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: -7406000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 5.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: -5712000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: -5712000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 5.02 million
Exact value

Exact value: 5020000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 5020000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 10.73 million
Calculation and evidence

-5712000 − 5020000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -10732000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31
−USD 43.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: -43797000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: -43797000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 5.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 5041000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 5041000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 5.92 million
Exact value

Exact value: 5917000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 5917000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 876,000
Calculation and evidence

5041000 − 5917000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -876000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31
USD 4.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4512000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 4512000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.62 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4623000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 4623000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 5.03 million
Exact value

Exact value: 5033000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 5033000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 410,000
Calculation and evidence

4623000 − 5033000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -410000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1994-12-31 – 1995-12-30
USD 12.27 million
Exact value

Exact value: 12271000 USD

1994-12-31 – 1995-12-30: 12271000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2497000 USD

1994-12-31 – 1995-12-30: 2497000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 6.56 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6558000 USD

1994-12-31 – 1995-12-30: 6558000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 4.06 million
Calculation and evidence

2497000 − 6558000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -4061000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1995-12-29 – 1996-12-28
USD 27.34 million
Exact value

Exact value: 27335000 USD

1995-12-29 – 1996-12-28: 27335000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

40 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000040972, 40972, edgar:40972