GPU INC /PA/

EDGAR

33 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-10 to 2001-08-07. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

1.35 billion USD

2001-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 1347871000 USD Source

Operating margin

16.35%

2001-06-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 220434000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 1347871000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

115 million USD

2001-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 197068000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 82197000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
906 million USD Source
Exact value

905854000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Net income

469 million USD

2000-07-01 – 2001-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 23695000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Net income: -79815000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 233538000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 23695000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 68895000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 86751000 USD · 2001-04-01 – 2001-06-30 Source

Operating cash flow

373 million USD

2000-07-01 – 2001-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 229452000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 399281000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 574816000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 229452000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 82197000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 197068000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 82197000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2001-08-07.

Financial data available through: 2000-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-12-31
  • Operating income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-12-31
  • Net income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-12-31
  • capital expenditure: No compatible figures in this window
  • Total assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-12-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +9.2%

    Prior period

    USD 4.76 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 5.2 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    5196256000 − 4757124000 = 439132000 USD

    4757124000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    5196256000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -49.1%

    Prior period

    USD 459.01 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 233.54 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    233538000 − 459014000 = -225476000 USD

    459014000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    233538000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +280%

    Prior period

    USD 151.25 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 574.82 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    574816000 − 151252000 = 423564000 USD

    151252000 USD · 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    574816000 USD · 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31

  • Revenue USD 5.2 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 4.41 billion 85% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 784.65 million 15% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 551.11 million 11% of revenue
  • Net income USD 233.54 million 4.5% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 574.82 million 11% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1991 88%
  • 1992 87%
  • 1993 85%
  • 1998 13%79%
  • 1999 9.6%12%79%
  • 2000 11%85%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1991 1991-01-01 – 1991-12-313371599000 2954939000 Derived 416660000 140778000 Derived 275882000 Unavailable
Source
1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-313434153000 2983876000 Derived 450277000 198641000 Derived 251636000 Unavailable
Source
1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-313596090000 3068314000 Derived 527776000 232103000 Derived 295673000 Unavailable
Source
1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-314248792000 3352713000 Derived 896079000 535953000 Derived 360126000 Unavailable
Source
1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-314757124000 3748294000 Derived 1008830000 549816000 Derived 459014000 Unavailable
Source
2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-315196256000 4411609000 Derived 784647000 551109000 Derived 233538000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 5.2B 2000
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.5.6B4.2B2.8B1.4B0.0199119982000
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Revenue3371599000
1992Revenue3434153000
1993Revenue3596090000
1998Revenue4248792000
1999Revenue4757124000
2000Revenue5196256000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

9.2% 2000
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.12.9%9.7%6.5%3.2%0.0%199119982000
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1992Year over year1.9%
1993Year over year4.7%
1998Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1999Year over year12%
2000Year over year9.2%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 15.1% 2000
Net margin 4.5% 2000
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.22.9%17.2%11.5%5.7%0.0%199119982000
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991Operating margin12.4%
1992Operating margin13.1%
1993Operating margin14.7%
1998Operating margin21.1%
1999Operating margin21.2%
2000Operating margin15.1%
1991Net margin8.2%
1992Net margin7.3%
1993Net margin8.2%
1998Net margin8.5%
1999Net margin9.6%
2000Net margin4.5%
1991Free cash flow marginNot reported
1992Free cash flow marginNot reported
1993Free cash flow marginNot reported
1998Free cash flow marginNot reported
1999Free cash flow marginNot reported
2000Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 574.8M 2000
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.856.3M642.2M428.1M214.1M0.0199119982000
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Operating cash flow746737000
1992Operating cash flow686599000
1993Operating cash flow564454000
1998Operating cash flow792866000
1999Operating cash flow151252000
2000Operating cash flow574816000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1991Free cash flowUnavailable
1992Free cash flowUnavailable
1993Free cash flowUnavailable
1998Free cash flowUnavailable
1999Free cash flowUnavailable
2000Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1992-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1993-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1998-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1999-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2000-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.46× 2000
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.0.84×0.63×0.42×0.21×0.00×1991-12-311998-12-312000
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1991-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1992Current assets / current liabilities0.77×
1993Current assets / current liabilities0.67×
1998-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1999Current assets / current liabilities0.39×
2000Current assets / current liabilities0.46×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1991 1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31
USD 275.88 million
Exact value

Exact value: 275882000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: 275882000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 746.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: 746737000 USD

1991-01-01 – 1991-12-31: 746737000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1992 1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31
USD 251.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: 251636000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 251636000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 686.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 686599000 USD

1992-01-01 – 1992-12-31: 686599000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1993 1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31
USD 295.67 million
Exact value

Exact value: 295673000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 295673000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 564.45 million
Exact value

Exact value: 564454000 USD

1993-01-01 – 1993-12-31: 564454000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31
USD 163.69 million
Exact value

Exact value: 163688000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 163688000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 728.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 728595000 USD

1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31: 728595000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
USD 440.14 million
Exact value

Exact value: 440135000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 440135000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 668.52 million
Exact value

Exact value: 668516000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 668516000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
USD 298.35 million
Exact value

Exact value: 298352000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 298352000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 652.66 million
Exact value

Exact value: 652656000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 652656000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
USD 335.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 335101000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 335101000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 844.26 million
Exact value

Exact value: 844263000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 844263000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31
USD 360.13 million
Exact value

Exact value: 360126000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 360126000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 792.87 million
Exact value

Exact value: 792866000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 792866000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31
USD 459.01 million
Exact value

Exact value: 459014000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: 459014000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 151.25 million
Exact value

Exact value: 151252000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: 151252000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31
USD 233.54 million
Exact value

Exact value: 233538000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: 233538000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 574.82 million
Exact value

Exact value: 574816000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: 574816000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

33 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000040779, 40779, edgar:40779

Also known as GENERAL PUBLIC UTILITIES CORP /PA/