FOREST LABORATORIES INC

EDGAR

89 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-02-14 to 2014-06-30. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

878 million U002

2014 Q3 · U002

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 878396000 U002 Source

Operating margin

2.46%

2014 Q3 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 21639000 U002 Source
  • Revenue: 878396000 U002 Source

Operating cash flow

203 million U002

2014 Q3 · U002

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 330872000 U002 Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 127938000 U002 Source

Free cash flow

177 million U002

2014 Q3 · U002

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 330872000 U002 Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 127938000 U002 Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 75932000 U002 Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 50297000 U002 Source
Cash and cash equivalents
1.78 billion U001 Source
Exact value

1780036000 U001

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2014-06-30.

Financial data available through: 2014-03-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-03-31
  • Operating income: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-03-31
  • Net income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-03-31
  • Operating cash flow: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-03-31
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-03-31
  • Total assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-03-31
  • Total liabilities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-03-31
  • Current assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-03-31
  • Current liabilities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-03-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-03-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +17.9%

    Prior period

    U001 3.09 billion

    –

    Current period

    U001 3.65 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    3646899000 − 3094002000 = 552897000 U001

    3094002000 U001 · 2012-04-01 – 2013-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    3646899000 U001 · 2013-04-01 – 2014-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +U001 197.41 million

    Prior period

    −U001 32.1 million

    –

    Current period

    U001 165.31 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    165310000 − -32103000 = 197413000 U001

    -32103000 U001 · 2012-04-01 – 2013-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    165310000 U001 · 2013-04-01 – 2014-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +248.5%

    Prior period

    U001 135.11 million

    –

    Current period

    U001 470.9 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    470903000 − 135114000 = 335789000 U001

    135114000 U001 · 2012-04-01 – 2013-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    470903000 U001 · 2013-04-01 – 2014-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +83%

    Prior period

    U001 64.38 million

    –

    Current period

    U001 117.85 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    117847000 − 64384000 = 53463000 U001

    64384000 U001 · 2012-04-01 – 2013-03-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    117847000 U001 · 2013-04-01 – 2014-03-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2014 2013-04-01 – 2014-03-31

  • Revenue U001 3.65 billion 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue U001 760.64 million 21% of revenue
  • Operating expenses U001 2.77 billion 76% of revenue
  • Operating income U001 111.75 million 3.1% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −U001 53.56 million −1.5% of revenue
  • Net income U001 165.31 million 4.5% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow U001 470.9 million 13% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure U001 117.85 million 3.2% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived U001 353.06 million 9.7% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2009 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2010 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2011 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2012 22%74%
  • 2013 Operating loss: operating costs were 102% of revenue.
  • 2014 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2009 2008-04-01 – 2009-03-313922782000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable767743000 1029170000 Derived
Source
2010 2009-04-01 – 2010-03-314192862000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable682383000 987696000 Derived
Source
2011 2010-04-01 – 2011-03-314419700000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable1046770000 1109498000 Derived
Source
2012 2011-04-01 – 2012-03-314547762000 3348356000 Derived 1199406000 220348000 Derived 979058000 1361682000 Derived
Source
2013 2012-04-01 – 2013-03-313094002000 3170983000 Derived -76981000 -44878000 Derived -32103000 70730000 Derived
Source
2014 2013-04-01 – 2014-03-313646899000 3535147000 Derived 111752000 -53558000 Derived 165310000 353056000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in U001.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

U001 3.6B 2014
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.4.9B3.7B2.5B1.2B0.0200920122014
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(U001)Source evidence
2009Revenue3922782000
2010Revenue4192862000
2011Revenue4419700000
2012Revenue4547762000
2013Revenue3094002000
2014Revenue3646899000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

17.9% 2014
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.22%7%-7%-22%-36%200920122014
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2010Year over year6.9%
2011Year over year5.4%
2012Year over year2.9%
2013Year over year-32%
2014Year over year17.9%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 3.1% 2014
Net margin 4.5% 2014
Free cash flow margin 9.7% 2014
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.32.5%23.1%13.7%4.3%-5.1%2009-03-3120122014
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009-03-31Operating marginNot reported
2010-03-31Operating marginNot reported
2011-03-31Operating marginNot reported
2012Operating margin26.4%
2013Operating margin-2.5%
2014Operating margin3.1%
2009Net margin19.6%
2010Net margin16.3%
2011Net margin23.7%
2012Net margin21.5%
2013Net margin-1%
2014Net margin4.5%
2009Free cash flow margin26.2%
2010Free cash flow margin23.6%
2011Free cash flow margin25.1%
2012Free cash flow margin29.9%
2013Free cash flow margin2.3%
2014Free cash flow margin9.7%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

U001 470.9M 2014
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.6B1.2B778.8M389.4M0.0200920122014
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(U001)Source evidence
2009Operating cash flow1069799000
2010Operating cash flow1019948000
2011Operating cash flow1147961000
2012Operating cash flow1442227000
2013Operating cash flow135114000
2014Operating cash flow470903000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

U001 353.1M 2014
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.5B1.1B735.3M367.7M0.0200920122014
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(U001)Source evidence
2009Free cash flow1029170000
2010Free cash flow987696000
2011Free cash flow1109498000
2012Free cash flow1361682000
2013Free cash flow70730000
2014Free cash flow353056000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

48.7% 2014
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.53%39%26%13%0%2009-03-3120122014
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2010-03-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2011Liabilities / assets20.6%
2012Liabilities / assets24.2%
2013Liabilities / assets24.7%
2014Liabilities / assets48.7%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

2.73× 2014
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.6.06×4.54×3.03×1.51×0.00×2009-03-3120122014
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009-03-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2010Current assets / current liabilities4.67×
2011Current assets / current liabilities5.61×
2012Current assets / current liabilities3.99×
2013Current assets / current liabilities2.95×
2014Current assets / current liabilities2.73×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2009 2008-04-01 – 2009-03-31
U001 767.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: 767743000 U001

2008-04-01 – 2009-03-31: 767743000 U001 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 1.07 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1069799000 U001

2008-04-01 – 2009-03-31: 1069799000 U001 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 40.63 million
Exact value

Exact value: 40629000 U001

2008-04-01 – 2009-03-31: 40629000 U001 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 1.03 billion
Calculation and evidence

1069799000 − 40629000 U001

Exact free cash flow: 1029170000 U001

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2010 2009-04-01 – 2010-03-31
U001 682.38 million
Exact value

Exact value: 682383000 U001

2009-04-01 – 2010-03-31: 682383000 U001 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 1.02 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1019948000 U001

2009-04-01 – 2010-03-31: 1019948000 U001 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 32.25 million
Exact value

Exact value: 32252000 U001

2009-04-01 – 2010-03-31: 32252000 U001 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 987.7 million
Calculation and evidence

1019948000 − 32252000 U001

Exact free cash flow: 987696000 U001

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2010-04-01 – 2011-03-31
U001 1.05 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1046770000 U001

2010-04-01 – 2011-03-31: 1046770000 U001 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 1.15 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1147961000 U001

2010-04-01 – 2011-03-31: 1147961000 U001 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 38.46 million
Exact value

Exact value: 38463000 U001

2010-04-01 – 2011-03-31: 38463000 U001 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 1.11 billion
Calculation and evidence

1147961000 − 38463000 U001

Exact free cash flow: 1109498000 U001

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2011-04-01 – 2012-03-31
U001 979.06 million
Exact value

Exact value: 979058000 U001

2011-04-01 – 2012-03-31: 979058000 U001 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 1.44 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1442227000 U001

2011-04-01 – 2012-03-31: 1442227000 U001 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 80.55 million
Exact value

Exact value: 80545000 U001

2011-04-01 – 2012-03-31: 80545000 U001 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 1.36 billion
Calculation and evidence

1442227000 − 80545000 U001

Exact free cash flow: 1361682000 U001

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2012-04-01 – 2013-03-31
−U001 32.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: -32103000 U001

2012-04-01 – 2013-03-31: -32103000 U001 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 135.11 million
Exact value

Exact value: 135114000 U001

2012-04-01 – 2013-03-31: 135114000 U001 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 64.38 million
Exact value

Exact value: 64384000 U001

2012-04-01 – 2013-03-31: 64384000 U001 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 70.73 million
Calculation and evidence

135114000 − 64384000 U001

Exact free cash flow: 70730000 U001

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2014 2013-04-01 – 2014-03-31
U001 165.31 million
Exact value

Exact value: 165310000 U001

2013-04-01 – 2014-03-31: 165310000 U001 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 470.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 470903000 U001

2013-04-01 – 2014-03-31: 470903000 U001 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 117.85 million
Exact value

Exact value: 117847000 U001

2013-04-01 – 2014-03-31: 117847000 U001 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

U001 353.06 million
Calculation and evidence

470903000 − 117847000 U001

Exact free cash flow: 353056000 U001

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

89 filings · 2,393 latest values · 2,393 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000038074, 38074, edgar:38074

Also known as FOREST LABORATORIES INC, FOREST LABORATORIES INC , Forest Laboratories, LLC, Tango Merger Sub 2 LLC