Revenue
1.62 billion USD
2019 Q3 · USD
Exact inputs and evidence
- Revenue: 1618711000 USD Source
115 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-25 to 2019-11-13. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.
1.62 billion USD
2019 Q3 · USD
7.56%
2019 Q3 · %
66.9 million USD
2019 Q3 · USD
332487000 USD
Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.
Latest filing recorded: 2019-11-13.
Financial data available through: 2018-12-31.
Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.
Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.
Prior period
USD 4.42 billion
–
Current period
USD 5.04 billion
–
5040954000 − 4418792000 = 622162000 USD
4418792000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
Inspect prior input Prior source5040954000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
Prior period
USD 1.11 billion
–
Current period
USD 302.36 million
–
302361000 − 1106532000 = -804171000 USD
1106532000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
Inspect prior input Prior source302361000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
Prior period
USD 195.27 million
–
Current period
−USD 144.13 million
–
-144129000 − 195272000 = -339401000 USD
195272000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
Inspect prior input Prior source-144129000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
Prior period
USD 37.53 million
–
Current period
USD 92.27 million
–
92269000 − 37533000 = 54736000 USD
37533000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
Inspect prior input Prior source92269000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.
| Period | Revenue | Operating costs | Operating income | Tax, interest and other | Net income | Free cash flow | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31 | 2505564000 | Unavailable | Unavailable | Unavailable | -41855000 | 1241887000 Derived | Source
|
| 2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31 | 3068026000 | 2572626000 Derived | 495400000 | 223912000 Derived | 271488000 | 1167373000 Derived | Source
|
| 2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31 | 3097755000 | 2764940000 Derived | 332815000 | 107501000 Derived | 225314000 | 699520000 Derived | Source
|
| 2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31 | 3566142000 | 3144448000 Derived | 421694000 | 106302000 Derived | 315392000 | 602946000 Derived | Source
|
| 2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31 | 3623006000 | 3154242000 Derived | 468764000 | 166312000 Derived | 302452000 | 685835000 Derived | Source
|
| 2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31 | 3958999000 | 3443774000 Derived | 515225000 | 121761000 Derived | 393464000 | 487929000 Derived | Source
|
| 2015 2015-02-01 – 2015-12-31 | 3710669000 | 3226229000 Derived | 484440000 | 216141000 Derived | 268299000 | 346766000 Derived | Source
|
| 2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31 | 4483947000 | 3980578000 Derived | 503369000 | 110340000 Derived | 393029000 | 244343000 Derived | Source
|
| 2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31 | 4418792000 | 3911900000 Derived | 506892000 | -599640000 Derived | 1106532000 | 157739000 Derived | Source
|
| 2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31 | 5040954000 | 4562419000 Derived | 478535000 | 176174000 Derived | 302361000 | -236398000 Derived | Source
|
Amounts are exact, in USD.
Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.
Revenue reported for each complete financial period.
| Period | Series | Value(USD) | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 | Revenue | 2505564000 |
|
| 2009 | Revenue | 3068026000 |
|
| 2010 | Revenue | 3097755000 |
|
| 2011 | Revenue | 3566142000 |
|
| 2012 | Revenue | 3623006000 |
|
| 2013 | Revenue | 3958999000 |
|
| 2015 | Revenue | 3710669000 |
|
| 2016 | Revenue | 4483947000 |
|
| 2017 | Revenue | 4418792000 |
|
| 2018 | Revenue | 5040954000 |
|
Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 | Year over year | No prior comparable period |
|
| 2009 | Year over year | 22.4% |
|
| 2010 | Year over year | 1% |
|
| 2011 | Year over year | 15.1% |
|
| 2012 | Year over year | 1.6% |
|
| 2013 | Year over year | 9.3% |
|
| 2015 | Year over year | No prior comparable period |
|
| 2016 | Year over year | No prior comparable period |
|
| 2017 | Year over year | -1.5% |
|
| 2018 | Year over year | 14.1% |
|
How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.
Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2008-12-31 | Operating margin | Not reported |
|
| 2009 | Operating margin | 16.1% |
|
| 2010 | Operating margin | 10.7% |
|
| 2011 | Operating margin | 11.8% |
|
| 2012 | Operating margin | 12.9% |
|
| 2013 | Operating margin | 13% |
|
| 2015 | Operating margin | 13.1% |
|
| 2016 | Operating margin | 11.2% |
|
| 2017 | Operating margin | 11.5% |
|
| 2018 | Operating margin | 9.5% |
|
| 2008 | Net margin | -1.7% |
|
| 2009 | Net margin | 8.8% |
|
| 2010 | Net margin | 7.3% |
|
| 2011 | Net margin | 8.8% |
|
| 2012 | Net margin | 8.3% |
|
| 2013 | Net margin | 9.9% |
|
| 2015 | Net margin | 7.2% |
|
| 2016 | Net margin | 8.8% |
|
| 2017 | Net margin | 25% |
|
| 2018 | Net margin | 6% |
|
| 2008 | Free cash flow margin | 49.6% |
|
| 2009 | Free cash flow margin | 38% |
|
| 2010 | Free cash flow margin | 22.6% |
|
| 2011 | Free cash flow margin | 16.9% |
|
| 2012 | Free cash flow margin | 18.9% |
|
| 2013 | Free cash flow margin | 12.3% |
|
| 2015 | Free cash flow margin | 9.3% |
|
| 2016 | Free cash flow margin | 5.4% |
|
| 2017 | Free cash flow margin | 3.6% |
|
| 2018 | Free cash flow margin | -4.7% |
|
Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.
| Period | Series | Value(USD) | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 | Operating cash flow | 1247439000 |
|
| 2009 | Operating cash flow | 1175616000 |
|
| 2010 | Operating cash flow | 710254000 |
|
| 2011 | Operating cash flow | 620613000 |
|
| 2012 | Operating cash flow | 692083000 |
|
| 2013 | Operating cash flow | 499550000 |
|
| 2015 | Operating cash flow | 355628000 |
|
| 2016 | Operating cash flow | 249638000 |
|
| 2017 | Operating cash flow | 195272000 |
|
| 2018 | Operating cash flow | -144129000 |
|
Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.
| Period | Series | Value(USD) | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 | Free cash flow | 1241887000 |
|
| 2009 | Free cash flow | 1167373000 |
|
| 2010 | Free cash flow | 699520000 |
|
| 2011 | Free cash flow | 602946000 |
|
| 2012 | Free cash flow | 685835000 |
|
| 2013 | Free cash flow | 487929000 |
|
| 2015 | Free cash flow | 346766000 |
|
| 2016 | Free cash flow | 244343000 |
|
| 2017 | Free cash flow | 157739000 |
|
| 2018 | Free cash flow | -236398000 |
|
Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.
Total liabilities as a share of total assets.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 | Liabilities / assets | 98.1% |
|
| 2009 | Liabilities / assets | 94.1% |
|
| 2010 | Liabilities / assets | 93% |
|
| 2011 | Liabilities / assets | 92.9% |
|
| 2012 | Liabilities / assets | 92% |
|
| 2013 | Liabilities / assets | 94.6% |
|
| 2015-12-31 | Liabilities / assets | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2016 | Liabilities / assets | 92.7% |
|
| 2017 | Liabilities / assets | 91% |
|
| 2018 | Liabilities / assets | 93.6% |
|
Current assets divided by current liabilities.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2008-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2009-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2010-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2011-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2012-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2013-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2015-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2016-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2017-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 2018-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.
| Period | Net income | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditure | Free cash flow |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31 | −USD 41.86 million Exact valueExact value: -41855000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 1.25 billion Exact valueExact value: 1247439000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 5.55 million Exact valueExact value: 5552000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 1.24 billion Calculation and evidence1247439000 − 5552000 USD Exact free cash flow: 1241887000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31 | USD 271.49 million Exact valueExact value: 271488000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 1.18 billion Exact valueExact value: 1175616000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 8.24 million Exact valueExact value: 8243000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 1.17 billion Calculation and evidence1175616000 − 8243000 USD Exact free cash flow: 1167373000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31 | USD 225.31 million Exact valueExact value: 225314000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 710.25 million Exact valueExact value: 710254000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 10.73 million Exact valueExact value: 10734000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 699.52 million Calculation and evidence710254000 − 10734000 USD Exact free cash flow: 699520000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31 | USD 315.39 million Exact valueExact value: 315392000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 620.61 million Exact valueExact value: 620613000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 17.67 million Exact valueExact value: 17667000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 602.95 million Calculation and evidence620613000 − 17667000 USD Exact free cash flow: 602946000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31 | USD 302.45 million Exact valueExact value: 302452000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 692.08 million Exact valueExact value: 692083000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 6.25 million Exact valueExact value: 6248000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 685.84 million Calculation and evidence692083000 − 6248000 USD Exact free cash flow: 685835000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31 | USD 393.46 million Exact valueExact value: 393464000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 499.55 million Exact valueExact value: 499550000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 11.62 million Exact valueExact value: 11621000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 487.93 million Calculation and evidence499550000 − 11621000 USD Exact free cash flow: 487929000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2015 2015-02-01 – 2015-12-31 | USD 268.3 million Exact valueExact value: 268299000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 355.63 million Exact valueExact value: 355628000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 8.86 million Exact valueExact value: 8862000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 346.77 million Calculation and evidence355628000 − 8862000 USD Exact free cash flow: 346766000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31 | USD 393.03 million Exact valueExact value: 393029000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 249.64 million Exact valueExact value: 249638000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 5.3 million Exact valueExact value: 5295000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 244.34 million Calculation and evidence249638000 − 5295000 USD Exact free cash flow: 244343000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31 | USD 1.11 billion Exact valueExact value: 1106532000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 195.27 million Exact valueExact value: 195272000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 37.53 million Exact valueExact value: 37533000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 157.74 million Calculation and evidence195272000 − 37533000 USD Exact free cash flow: 157739000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
| 2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31 | USD 302.36 million Exact valueExact value: 302361000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | −USD 144.13 million Exact valueExact value: -144129000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 92.27 million Exact valueExact value: 92269000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | −USD 236.4 million Calculation and evidence-144129000 − 92269000 USD Exact free cash flow: -236398000 USD
Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. |
Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.
Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.
115 filings · 5,106 latest values · 5,106 originally reported values
Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.
Identifiers: 0000355429, 355429, edgar:355429
Also known as PROTECTIVE LIFE CORP, PROTECTIVE LIFE CORPORATION