Credit Suisse (USA) LLC

EDGAR

53 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-05-15 to 2023-06-06. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

2.11 billion USD

2006-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 2105000000 USD Source

Net margin

8.5%

2006-09-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net Income: 179000000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 2105000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
1.74 billion USD Source
Exact value

1739000000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
40.4 billion USD Source
Exact value

40398000000 USD

Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

9.38 billion USD

2005-10-01 – 2006-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 7025000000 USD · 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 5140000000 USD · 2005-01-01 – 2005-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 2930000000 USD · 2006-01-01 – 2006-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 2460000000 USD · 2006-04-01 – 2006-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 2105000000 USD · 2006-07-01 – 2006-09-30 Source

Net income

984 million USD

2005-10-01 – 2006-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 127000000 USD · 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 123000000 USD · 2005-01-01 – 2005-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 317000000 USD · 2006-01-01 – 2006-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 484000000 USD · 2006-04-01 – 2006-06-30 Source
  • Net income: 179000000 USD · 2006-07-01 – 2006-09-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2023-06-06.

Financial data available through: 2005-12-31.

Financial coverage is incomplete. Newer filings are recorded, but comparable financial figures for those periods are not available here yet.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • operating income: No compatible figures in this window
  • Net income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 1996-12-31
  • Total assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • current assets: No compatible figures in this window
  • current liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2005-12-31
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +10.8%

    Prior period

    USD 6.34 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 7.03 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    7025000000 − 6341000000 = 684000000 USD

    6341000000 USD · 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    7025000000 USD · 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -83.9%

    Prior period

    USD 787 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 127 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    127000000 − 787000000 = -660000000 USD

    787000000 USD · 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    127000000 USD · 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Operating cash flow, Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31

  • Revenue USD 7.03 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Operating income Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income USD 127 million 1.8% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1996 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1997 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1998 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1999 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2000 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2001 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2002 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2003 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2004 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2005 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-313490756000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable291300000 -1667744000 Derived
Source
1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-314640469000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable408250000 Unavailable
Source
1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-313951191000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable349490000 Unavailable
Source
1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-315531000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable601000000 Unavailable
Source
2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-314768000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-1076000000 Unavailable
Source
2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-316482000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-215000000 Unavailable
Source
2002 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31-187000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable-257000000 Unavailable
Source
2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-314997000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable1192000000 Unavailable
Source
2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-316341000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable787000000 Unavailable
Source
2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-317025000000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable127000000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 7B 2005
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.6B5.5B3.4B1.3B-764.0M199620012005
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1996Revenue3490756000
1997Revenue4640469000
1998Revenue3951191000
1999Revenue5531000000
2000Revenue4768000000
2001Revenue6482000000
2002Revenue-187000000
2003Revenue4997000000
2004Revenue6341000000
2005Revenue7025000000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

10.8% 2005
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.265%-551%-1,366%-2,182%-2,997%199620012005
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996Year over year26.5%
1997Year over year32.9%
1998Year over year-14.9%
1999Year over year40%
2000Year over year-13.8%
2001Year over year35.9%
2002Year over year-102.9%
2003Year over year-2,772.2%
2004Year over year26.9%
2005Year over year10.8%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Net margin 1.8% 2005
Free cash flow margin -47.8% 1996
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.152%99%45%-9%-63%1996-12-312001-12-312005-12-31
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1997-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1998-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1999-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2000-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2001-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2002-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2003-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2004-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2005-12-31Operating marginNot reported
1996Net margin8.3%
1997Net margin8.8%
1998Net margin8.8%
1999Net margin10.9%
2000Net margin-22.6%
2001Net margin-3.3%
2002Net margin137.4%
2003Net margin23.9%
2004Net margin12.4%
2005Net margin1.8%
1996Free cash flow margin-47.8%
1997Free cash flow marginNot reported
1998Free cash flow marginNot reported
1999Free cash flow marginNot reported
2000Free cash flow marginNot reported
2001Free cash flow marginNot reported
2002Free cash flow marginNot reported
2003Free cash flow marginNot reported
2004Free cash flow marginNot reported
2005Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 1.6B 2004
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.2B199.2M-1.8B-3.9B-5.9B199620012005
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1996Operating cash flow-1525147000
1997Operating cash flow-5318929000
1998Operating cash flow544785000
1999Operating cash flow784864000
2000Operating cash flow-1981000000
2001Operating cash flow-1637000000
2002Operating cash flow1666000000
2003Operating cash flow592000000
2004Operating cash flow1599000000
2005Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -1.7B 1996
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.133.4M-350.2M-833.9M-1.3B-1.8B199620012005
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1996Free cash flow-1667744000
1997Free cash flowUnavailable
1998Free cash flowUnavailable
1999Free cash flowUnavailable
2000Free cash flowUnavailable
2001Free cash flowUnavailable
2002Free cash flowUnavailable
2003Free cash flowUnavailable
2004Free cash flowUnavailable
2005Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

96% 2005
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.105%78%52%26%0%199620012005
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996Liabilities / assets96.7%
1997Liabilities / assets96.8%
1998Liabilities / assets95.7%
1999-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2000-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2001Liabilities / assets96.8%
2002Liabilities / assets96.7%
2003Liabilities / assets96%
2004Liabilities / assets96%
2005Liabilities / assets96%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1996-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1997-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1998-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1999-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2000-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2001-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2002-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2003-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2004-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2005-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
USD 291.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 291300000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 291300000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.53 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -1525147000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: -1525147000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 142.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 142597000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 142597000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.67 billion
Calculation and evidence

-1525147000 − 142597000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -1667744000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
USD 408.25 million
Exact value

Exact value: 408250000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 408250000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 5.32 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -5318929000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: -5318929000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31
USD 349.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 349490000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 349490000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 544.79 million
Exact value

Exact value: 544785000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 544785000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31
USD 601 million
Exact value

Exact value: 601000000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: 601000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 784.86 million
Exact value

Exact value: 784864000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: 784864000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31
−USD 1.08 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -1076000000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: -1076000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.98 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -1981000000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: -1981000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31
−USD 215 million
Exact value

Exact value: -215000000 USD

2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31: -215000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.64 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -1637000000 USD

2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31: -1637000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2002 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31
−USD 257 million
Exact value

Exact value: -257000000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: -257000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.67 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1666000000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: 1666000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31
USD 1.19 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1192000000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 1192000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 592 million
Exact value

Exact value: 592000000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 592000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31
USD 787 million
Exact value

Exact value: 787000000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 787000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.6 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1599000000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 1599000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31
USD 127 million
Exact value

Exact value: 127000000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 127000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

53 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000029646, 29646, edgar:29646

Also known as CREDIT SUISSE (USA) INC, CREDIT SUISSE FIRST BOSTON USA INC, DONALDSON LUFKIN & JENRETTE INC /NY/