CHAPARRAL RESOURCES INC

EDGAR

53 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1995-10-11 to 2006-08-08. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

61.3 million USD

2006-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

51.1%

2006-06-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 31325000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 61306000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

31.7 million USD

2006-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 53187000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 21467000 USD Source

Free cash flow

31.5 million USD

2006-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 53187000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 21467000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 480000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 220000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
24 million USD Source
Exact value

23959000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2006-08-08.

Financial data available through: 2004-12-31.

Financial coverage is incomplete. Newer filings are recorded, but comparable financial figures for those periods are not available here yet.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Operating income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Net income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Total assets: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 2002-12-31
  • Current assets: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +36.2%

    Prior period

    USD 57.62 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 78.45 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    78451000 − 57615000 = 20836000 USD

    57615000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    78451000 USD · 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +313.5%

    Prior period

    USD 2.06 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 8.52 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    8522000 − 2061000 = 6461000 USD

    2061000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    8522000 USD · 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +81.3%

    Prior period

    USD 24.87 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 45.09 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    45091000 − 24871000 = 20220000 USD

    24871000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    45091000 USD · 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +34.4%

    Prior period

    USD 24.8 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 33.32 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    33324000 − 24800000 = 8524000 USD

    24800000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    33324000 USD · 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31

  • Revenue USD 78.45 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 50.28 million 64% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 28.17 million 36% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 19.65 million 25% of revenue
  • Net income USD 8.52 million 11% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 45.09 million 57% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 33.32 million 42% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 11.77 million 15% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1997 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1998 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1999 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2000 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2001 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2002 9.1%83%
  • 2003 21%76%
  • 2004 11%25%64%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-310 1661000 Derived -1661000 942000 Derived -2603000 Unavailable
Source
1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-310 3031000 Derived -3031000 1235000 Derived -4266000 Unavailable
Source
1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-310 2423000 Derived -2423000 2740000 Derived -5163000 Unavailable
Source
2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-310 4596000 Derived -4596000 22207000 Derived -26803000 -10487000 Derived
Source
2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-310 5320000 Derived -5320000 10895000 Derived -16215000 1654000 Derived
Source
2002 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-3145133000 37685000 Derived 7448000 3331000 Derived 4117000 -3122000 Derived
Source
2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-3157615000 43562000 Derived 14053000 11992000 Derived 2061000 71000 Derived
Source
2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-3178451000 50280000 Derived 28171000 19649000 Derived 8522000 11767000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 78.5M 2004
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.84.7M63.5M42.4M21.2M0.0199720012004
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1997Revenue0
1998Revenue0
1999Revenue0
2000Revenue0
2001Revenue0
2002Revenue45133000
2003Revenue57615000
2004Revenue78451000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

36.2% 2004
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.39.1%29.3%19.5%9.8%0.0%199720012004
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1998Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1999Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2000Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2001Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2002Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2003Year over year27.7%
2004Year over year36.2%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 35.9% 2004
Net margin 10.9% 2004
Free cash flow margin 15% 2004
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.39%27%14%2%-10%199720012004
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997Operating marginNot reported
1998Operating marginNot reported
1999Operating marginNot reported
2000Operating marginNot reported
2001Operating marginNot reported
2002Operating margin16.5%
2003Operating margin24.4%
2004Operating margin35.9%
1997Net marginNot reported
1998Net marginNot reported
1999Net marginNot reported
2000Net marginNot reported
2001Net marginNot reported
2002Net margin9.1%
2003Net margin3.6%
2004Net margin10.9%
1997Free cash flow marginNot reported
1998Free cash flow marginNot reported
1999Free cash flow marginNot reported
2000Free cash flow marginNot reported
2001Free cash flow marginNot reported
2002Free cash flow margin-6.9%
2003Free cash flow margin0.1%
2004Free cash flow margin15%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 45.1M 2004
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.49.5M33.4M17.3M1.2M-14.9M199720012004
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1997Operating cash flow-1374000
1998Operating cash flow-2847000
1999Operating cash flow-1786000
2000Operating cash flow-10469000
2001Operating cash flow1672000
2002Operating cash flow8712000
2003Operating cash flow24871000
2004Operating cash flow45091000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 11.8M 2004
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.13.5M7.1M640.0K-5.8M-12.3M199720012004
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1997Free cash flowUnavailable
1998Free cash flowUnavailable
1999Free cash flowUnavailable
2000Free cash flow-10487000
2001Free cash flow1654000
2002Free cash flow-3122000
2003Free cash flow71000
2004Free cash flow11767000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

49.5% 2002
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.53%40%27%13%0%1997-12-312001-12-312004-12-31
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1998-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1999-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2000-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2001-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2002Liabilities / assets49.5%
2003-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2004-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.41× 2004
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.16.77×12.58×8.39×4.19×0.00×199720012004
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997Current assets / current liabilities15.53×
1998Current assets / current liabilities0.83×
1999Current assets / current liabilities0.2×
2000Current assets / current liabilities0.65×
2001Current assets / current liabilities0.01×
2002Current assets / current liabilities0.83×
2003Current assets / current liabilities0.42×
2004Current assets / current liabilities0.41×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
USD 1.94 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1942174 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 1942174 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1997 1996-03-01 – 1997-02-28
−USD 2.42 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2416000 USD

1996-03-01 – 1997-02-28: -2416000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.99 million
Exact value

Exact value: -1990000 USD

1996-03-01 – 1997-02-28: -1990000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 208,000
Exact value

Exact value: 208000 USD

1996-03-01 – 1997-02-28: 208000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 2.2 million
Calculation and evidence

-1990000 − 208000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -2198000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
−USD 2.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2603000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: -2603000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.37 million
Exact value

Exact value: -1374000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: -1374000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31
−USD 4.27 million
Exact value

Exact value: -4266000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: -4266000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 2.85 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2847000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: -2847000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31
−USD 5.16 million
Exact value

Exact value: -5163000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: -5163000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.79 million
Exact value

Exact value: -1786000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: -1786000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31
−USD 26.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: -26803000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: -26803000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 10.47 million
Exact value

Exact value: -10469000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: -10469000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 18,000
Exact value

Exact value: 18000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: 18000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 10.49 million
Calculation and evidence

-10469000 − 18000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -10487000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31
−USD 16.22 million
Exact value

Exact value: -16215000 USD

2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31: -16215000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.67 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1672000 USD

2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31: 1672000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 18,000
Exact value

Exact value: 18000 USD

2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31: 18000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.65 million
Calculation and evidence

1672000 − 18000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 1654000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2002 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31
USD 4.12 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4117000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: 4117000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 8.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8712000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: 8712000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 11.83 million
Exact value

Exact value: 11834000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: 11834000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 3.12 million
Calculation and evidence

8712000 − 11834000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -3122000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31
USD 2.06 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2061000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 2061000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 24.87 million
Exact value

Exact value: 24871000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 24871000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 24.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 24800000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 24800000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 71,000
Calculation and evidence

24871000 − 24800000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 71000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31
USD 8.52 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8522000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 8522000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 45.09 million
Exact value

Exact value: 45091000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 45091000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 33.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 33324000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 33324000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 11.77 million
Calculation and evidence

45091000 − 33324000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 11767000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

53 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000019252, 19252, edgar:19252