CENTRAL ILLINOIS LIGHT CO

EDGAR

71 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-22 to 2010-11-08. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

2.25 billion USD

2010-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 2254000000 USD Source

Operating margin

3.95%

2010-09-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 89000000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 2254000000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

732 million USD

2010-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 1504000000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 772000000 USD Source

Free cash flow

526 million USD

2010-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 1504000000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 772000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 746000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 540000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
608 million USD Source
Exact value

608000000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

7.55 billion USD

2009-10-01 – 2010-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 7090000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 5415000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 1916000000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 1704000000 USD · 2010-04-01 – 2010-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 2254000000 USD · 2010-07-01 – 2010-09-30 Source

Net income

166 million USD

2009-10-01 – 2010-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 612000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 533000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 102000000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 152000000 USD · 2010-04-01 – 2010-06-30 Source
  • Net income: -167000000 USD · 2010-07-01 – 2010-09-30 Source

Capital expenditure

1.16 billion USD

2009-10-01 – 2010-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 1704000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 1295000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 289000000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 540000000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 289000000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 746000000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 540000000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-06-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2010-11-08.

Financial data available through: 2009-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Operating income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Net income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Total assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -9.6%

    Prior period

    USD 7.84 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 7.09 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    7090000000 − 7839000000 = -749000000 USD

    7839000000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    7090000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +1.2%

    Prior period

    USD 605 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 612 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    612000000 − 605000000 = 7000000 USD

    605000000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    612000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +29.7%

    Prior period

    USD 1.52 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.98 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1977000000 − 1524000000 = 453000000 USD

    1524000000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1977000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -10.1%

    Prior period

    USD 1.9 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.7 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1704000000 − 1896000000 = -192000000 USD

    1896000000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1704000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31

  • Revenue USD 7.09 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 5.67 billion 80% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 1.42 billion 20% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 804 million 11% of revenue
  • Net income USD 612 million 8.6% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 1.98 billion 28% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 1.7 billion 24% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 273 million 3.9% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2003 94%
  • 2004 92%
  • 2005 92%
  • 2007 9.8%82%
  • 2008 9.7%83%
  • 2009 11%80%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31839000000 786000000 Derived 53000000 8000000 Derived 45000000 16000000 Derived
Source
2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31688000000 630000000 Derived 58000000 26000000 Derived 32000000 12000000 Derived
Source
2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31742000000 679000000 Derived 63000000 37000000 Derived 26000000 -60000000 Derived
Source
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-317562000000 6203000000 Derived 1359000000 741000000 Derived 618000000 -273000000 Derived
Source
2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-317839000000 6477000000 Derived 1362000000 757000000 Derived 605000000 -372000000 Derived
Source
2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-317090000000 5674000000 Derived 1416000000 804000000 Derived 612000000 273000000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 7.1B 2009
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.8.5B6.3B4.2B2.1B0.0200320072009
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2003Revenue839000000
2004Revenue688000000
2005Revenue742000000
2007Revenue7562000000
2008Revenue7839000000
2009Revenue7090000000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-9.6% 2009
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.9.9%2.4%-5.1%-12.6%-20.1%200320072009
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2004Year over year-18%
2005Year over year7.8%
2007Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2008Year over year3.7%
2009Year over year-9.6%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 20% 2009
Net margin 8.6% 2009
Free cash flow margin 3.9% 2009
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.22.2%14.1%5.9%-2.2%-10.3%200320072009
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003Operating margin6.3%
2004Operating margin8.4%
2005Operating margin8.5%
2007Operating margin18%
2008Operating margin17.4%
2009Operating margin20%
2003Net margin5.4%
2004Net margin4.7%
2005Net margin3.5%
2007Net margin8.2%
2008Net margin7.7%
2009Net margin8.6%
2003Free cash flow margin1.9%
2004Free cash flow margin1.7%
2005Free cash flow margin-8.1%
2007Free cash flow margin-3.6%
2008Free cash flow margin-4.7%
2009Free cash flow margin3.9%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 2B 2009
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.1B1.6B1.1B533.8M0.0200320072009
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2003Operating cash flow103000000
2004Operating cash flow137000000
2005Operating cash flow47000000
2007Operating cash flow1108000000
2008Operating cash flow1524000000
2009Operating cash flow1977000000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 273M 2009
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.324.6M137.6M-49.5M-236.6M-423.6M200320072009
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2003Free cash flow16000000
2004Free cash flow12000000
2005Free cash flow-60000000
2007Free cash flow-273000000
2008Free cash flow-372000000
2009Free cash flow273000000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2004-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2005-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2007-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2008-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2009-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.66× 2009
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.79×1.35×0.90×0.45×0.00×200320072009
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003Current assets / current liabilities0.9×
2004Current assets / current liabilities0.53×
2005Current assets / current liabilities0.84×
2007Current assets / current liabilities0.85×
2008Current assets / current liabilities0.85×
2009Current assets / current liabilities1.66×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31
USD 45 million
Exact value

Exact value: 45000000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 45000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 103 million
Exact value

Exact value: 103000000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 103000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 87 million
Exact value

Exact value: 87000000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 87000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 16 million
Calculation and evidence

103000000 − 87000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 16000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31
USD 32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 32000000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 32000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 137 million
Exact value

Exact value: 137000000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 137000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 125 million
Exact value

Exact value: 125000000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 125000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 12 million
Calculation and evidence

137000000 − 125000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 12000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31
USD 26 million
Exact value

Exact value: 26000000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 26000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 47 million
Exact value

Exact value: 47000000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 47000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 107 million
Exact value

Exact value: 107000000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 107000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 60 million
Calculation and evidence

47000000 − 107000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -60000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31
USD 618 million
Exact value

Exact value: 618000000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 618000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.11 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1108000000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 1108000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.38 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1381000000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 1381000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 273 million
Calculation and evidence

1108000000 − 1381000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -273000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31
USD 605 million
Exact value

Exact value: 605000000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 605000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.52 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1524000000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 1524000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.9 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1896000000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 1896000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 372 million
Calculation and evidence

1524000000 − 1896000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -372000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31
USD 612 million
Exact value

Exact value: 612000000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 612000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.98 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1977000000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 1977000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.7 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1704000000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 1704000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 273 million
Calculation and evidence

1977000000 − 1704000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 273000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

71 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000018651, 18651, edgar:18651