Ardagh Group S.A.

EDGAR

96 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2016-11-17 to 2021-09-27. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest fiscal year

Revenue

6.73 billion Unit1

2020 · Unit1

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 6731000000 Unit1 Source

Operating margin

6.08%

2020 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 409000000 Unit1 Source
  • Revenue: 6731000000 Unit1 Source

Operating cash flow

692 million Unit1

2020 · Unit1

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 692000000 Unit1 Source

Free cash flow

160 million Unit1

2020 · Unit1

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 692000000 Unit1 Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 532000000 Unit1 Source
Cash and cash equivalents
1.27 billion Unit1 Source
Exact value

1267000000 Unit1

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2021-09-27.

Financial data available through: 2020-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-12-31
  • Operating income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-12-31
  • Net income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-12-31
  • Total assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Current assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +1.1%

    Prior period

    Unit1 6.66 billion

    –

    Current period

    Unit1 6.73 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    6731000000 − 6660000000 = 71000000 Unit1

    6660000000 Unit1 · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    6731000000 Unit1 · 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -97.6%

    Prior period

    Unit1 1.46 billion

    –

    Current period

    Unit1 35 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    35000000 − 1458000000 = -1423000000 Unit1

    1458000000 Unit1 · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    35000000 Unit1 · 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -17.5%

    Prior period

    Unit1 839 million

    –

    Current period

    Unit1 692 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    692000000 − 839000000 = -147000000 Unit1

    839000000 Unit1 · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    692000000 Unit1 · 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +6.8%

    Prior period

    Unit1 498 million

    –

    Current period

    Unit1 532 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    532000000 − 498000000 = 34000000 Unit1

    498000000 Unit1 · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    532000000 Unit1 · 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2020 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31

  • Revenue Unit1 6.73 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived Unit1 6.32 billion 94% of revenue
  • Operating income Unit1 409 million 6.1% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unit1 374 million 5.6% of revenue
  • Net income Unit1 35 million 0.5% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow Unit1 692 million 10% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unit1 532 million 7.9% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived Unit1 160 million 2.4% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2015 Net loss: net income was −2.7% of revenue.
  • 2016 Net loss: net income was −1.1% of revenue.
  • 2017 93%
  • 2018 Net loss: net income was −1.4% of revenue.
  • 2019 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2020 94%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-315795000000 5292000000 Derived 503000000 660000000 Derived -157000000 294000000 Derived
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-317014000000 6439000000 Derived 575000000 649000000 Derived -74000000 172000000 Derived
Source
2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-316390000000 5955000000 Derived 435000000 372000000 Derived 63000000 571000000 Derived
Source
2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-316676000000 6471000000 Derived 205000000 299000000 Derived -94000000 390000000 Derived
Source
2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-316660000000 6192000000 Derived 468000000 -990000000 Derived 1458000000 341000000 Derived
Source
2020 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-316731000000 6322000000 Derived 409000000 374000000 Derived 35000000 160000000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in Unit1.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

Unit1 6.7B 2020
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.6B5.7B3.8B1.9B0.0201520182020
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(Unit1)Source evidence
2015Revenue5795000000
2016Revenue7014000000
2017Revenue6390000000
2018Revenue6676000000
2019Revenue6660000000
2020Revenue6731000000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

1.1% 2020
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.23.4%14.7%6.1%-2.6%-11.3%201520182020
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2015Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2016Year over year21%
2017Year over year-8.9%
2018Year over year4.5%
2019Year over year-0.2%
2020Year over year1.1%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 6.1% 2020
Net margin 0.5% 2020
Free cash flow margin 2.4% 2020
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.23.9%16.7%9.6%2.5%-4.7%201520182020
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2015Operating margin8.7%
2016Operating margin8.2%
2017Operating margin6.8%
2018Operating margin3.1%
2019Operating margin7%
2020Operating margin6.1%
2015Net margin-2.7%
2016Net margin-1.1%
2017Net margin1%
2018Net margin-1.4%
2019Net margin21.9%
2020Net margin0.5%
2015Free cash flow margin5.1%
2016Free cash flow margin2.5%
2017Free cash flow margin8.9%
2018Free cash flow margin5.8%
2019Free cash flow margin5.1%
2020Free cash flow margin2.4%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

Unit1 692M 2020
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.0B779.2M519.5M259.7M0.0201520182020
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(Unit1)Source evidence
2015Operating cash flow633000000
2016Operating cash flow515000000
2017Operating cash flow962000000
2018Operating cash flow855000000
2019Operating cash flow839000000
2020Operating cash flow692000000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Unit1 160M 2020
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.616.7M462.5M308.3M154.2M0.0201520182020
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(Unit1)Source evidence
2015Free cash flow294000000
2016Free cash flow172000000
2017Free cash flow571000000
2018Free cash flow390000000
2019Free cash flow341000000
2020Free cash flow160000000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

149% 2018
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.161%121%80%40%0%201520182020-12-31
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2015Liabilities / assets129.4%
2016Liabilities / assets120.1%
2017Liabilities / assets145.2%
2018Liabilities / assets149%
2019-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2020-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.26× 2018
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.40×1.80×1.20×0.60×0.00×201520182020-12-31
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2015Current assets / current liabilities2.22×
2016Current assets / current liabilities1.63×
2017Current assets / current liabilities1.49×
2018Current assets / current liabilities1.26×
2019-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2020-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
−Unit1 157 million
Exact value

Exact value: -157000000 Unit1

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: -157000000 Unit1 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 633 million
Exact value

Exact value: 633000000 Unit1

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 633000000 Unit1 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 339 million
Exact value

Exact value: 339000000 Unit1

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 339000000 Unit1 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 294 million
Calculation and evidence

633000000 − 339000000 Unit1

Exact free cash flow: 294000000 Unit1

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
−Unit1 74 million
Exact value

Exact value: -74000000 Unit1

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: -74000000 Unit1 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 515 million
Exact value

Exact value: 515000000 Unit1

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 515000000 Unit1 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 343 million
Exact value

Exact value: 343000000 Unit1

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 343000000 Unit1 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 172 million
Calculation and evidence

515000000 − 343000000 Unit1

Exact free cash flow: 172000000 Unit1

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
Unit1 63 million
Exact value

Exact value: 63000000 Unit1

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 63000000 Unit1 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 962 million
Exact value

Exact value: 962000000 Unit1

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 962000000 Unit1 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 391 million
Exact value

Exact value: 391000000 Unit1

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 391000000 Unit1 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 571 million
Calculation and evidence

962000000 − 391000000 Unit1

Exact free cash flow: 571000000 Unit1

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
−Unit1 94 million
Exact value

Exact value: -94000000 Unit1

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: -94000000 Unit1 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 855 million
Exact value

Exact value: 855000000 Unit1

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 855000000 Unit1 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 465 million
Exact value

Exact value: 465000000 Unit1

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 465000000 Unit1 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 390 million
Calculation and evidence

855000000 − 465000000 Unit1

Exact free cash flow: 390000000 Unit1

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31
Unit1 1.46 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1458000000 Unit1

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 1458000000 Unit1 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 839 million
Exact value

Exact value: 839000000 Unit1

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 839000000 Unit1 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 498 million
Exact value

Exact value: 498000000 Unit1

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 498000000 Unit1 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 341 million
Calculation and evidence

839000000 − 498000000 Unit1

Exact free cash flow: 341000000 Unit1

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2020 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31
Unit1 35 million
Exact value

Exact value: 35000000 Unit1

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: 35000000 Unit1 Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 692 million
Exact value

Exact value: 692000000 Unit1

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: 692000000 Unit1 Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 532 million
Exact value

Exact value: 532000000 Unit1

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: 532000000 Unit1 Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unit1 160 million
Calculation and evidence

692000000 − 532000000 Unit1

Exact free cash flow: 160000000 Unit1

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

96 filings · 466 latest values · 466 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001689662, 1689662, edgar:1689662

Also known as Ardagh Finance Holdings S.A., Ardagh Group S.A.