IMS Health Holdings, Inc.

EDGAR

11 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2014-01-02 to 2016-07-28. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

802 million USD

2016 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

9.85%

2016 Q2 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 79000000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 802000000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

111 million USD

2016 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 96000000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -15000000 USD Source

Free cash flow

92 million USD

2016 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 96000000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -15000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 32000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 13000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
368 million USD Source
Exact value

368000000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
4.5 billion USD Source
Exact value

4499000000 USD

Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

3.12 billion USD

2015-07-01 – 2016-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 735000000 USD · 2015-07-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 2921000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 2109000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 774000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 802000000 USD · 2016-04-01 – 2016-06-30 Source

Net income

139 million USD

2015-07-01 – 2016-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 43000000 USD · 2015-07-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 417000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 388000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 43000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 24000000 USD · 2016-04-01 – 2016-06-30 Source

Operating cash flow

371 million USD

2015-07-01 – 2016-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 326000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 215000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 490000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 326000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -15000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 96000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -15000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source

Capital expenditure

59 million USD

2015-07-01 – 2016-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 29000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 25000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 52000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 29000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 13000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 32000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 13000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source

Free cash flow

312 million USD

2015-07-01 – 2016-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 326000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 215000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 490000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 326000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -15000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 96000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -15000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 29000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 25000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 52000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 29000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 13000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 32000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 13000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2016-07-28.

Financial data available through: 2015-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Operating income: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Net income: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Total assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Current assets: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +10.6%

    Prior period

    USD 2.64 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.92 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2921000000 − 2641000000 = 280000000 USD

    2641000000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2921000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +USD 606 million

    Prior period

    −USD 189 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 417 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    417000000 − -189000000 = 606000000 USD

    -189000000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    417000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +345.5%

    Prior period

    USD 110 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 490 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    490000000 − 110000000 = 380000000 USD

    110000000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    490000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -27.8%

    Prior period

    USD 72 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 52 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    52000000 − 72000000 = -20000000 USD

    72000000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    52000000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

  • Revenue USD 2.92 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 2.56 billion 88% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 364 million 12% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −USD 53 million −1.8% of revenue
  • Net income USD 417 million 14% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 490 million 17% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 52 million 1.8% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 438 million 15% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2012 Net loss: net income was −1.7% of revenue.
  • 2013 11%86%
  • 2014 Net loss: net income was −7.2% of revenue.
  • 2015 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-312443000000 2204000000 Derived 239000000 281000000 Derived -42000000 355000000 Derived
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-312544000000 2190000000 Derived 354000000 272000000 Derived 82000000 373000000 Derived
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-312641000000 2433000000 Derived 208000000 397000000 Derived -189000000 38000000 Derived
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-312921000000 2557000000 Derived 364000000 -53000000 Derived 417000000 438000000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 2.9B 2015
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.2B2.4B1.6B788.7M0.02012201320142015
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2012Revenue2443000000
2013Revenue2544000000
2014Revenue2641000000
2015Revenue2921000000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

10.6% 2015
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.11.5%8.6%5.7%2.9%0.0%2012201320142015
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2012Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2013Year over year4.1%
2014Year over year3.8%
2015Year over year10.6%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 12.5% 2015
Net margin 14.3% 2015
Free cash flow margin 15% 2015
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.16.8%10.3%3.9%-2.5%-8.9%2012201320142015
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2012Operating margin9.8%
2013Operating margin13.9%
2014Operating margin7.9%
2015Operating margin12.5%
2012Net margin-1.7%
2013Net margin3.2%
2014Net margin-7.2%
2015Net margin14.3%
2012Free cash flow margin14.5%
2013Free cash flow margin14.7%
2014Free cash flow margin1.4%
2015Free cash flow margin15%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 490M 2015
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.529.2M396.9M264.6M132.3M0.02012201320142015
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2012Operating cash flow399000000
2013Operating cash flow414000000
2014Operating cash flow110000000
2015Operating cash flow490000000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 438M 2015
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.473.0M354.8M236.5M118.3M0.02012201320142015
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2012Free cash flow355000000
2013Free cash flow373000000
2014Free cash flow38000000
2015Free cash flow438000000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

78.9% 2015
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.97%73%49%24%0%2012-12-31201320142015
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2012-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2013Liabilities / assets90%
2014Liabilities / assets78.3%
2015Liabilities / assets78.9%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.06× 2015
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.54×1.15×0.77×0.38×0.00×2012-12-31201320142015
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2012-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2013Current assets / current liabilities1.42×
2014Current assets / current liabilities1.29×
2015Current assets / current liabilities1.06×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
−USD 42 million
Exact value

Exact value: -42000000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: -42000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 399 million
Exact value

Exact value: 399000000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 399000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 44 million
Exact value

Exact value: 44000000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 44000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 355 million
Calculation and evidence

399000000 − 44000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 355000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
USD 82 million
Exact value

Exact value: 82000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 82000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 414 million
Exact value

Exact value: 414000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 414000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 41 million
Exact value

Exact value: 41000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 41000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 373 million
Calculation and evidence

414000000 − 41000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 373000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
−USD 189 million
Exact value

Exact value: -189000000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: -189000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 110 million
Exact value

Exact value: 110000000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 110000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 72 million
Exact value

Exact value: 72000000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 72000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 38 million
Calculation and evidence

110000000 − 72000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 38000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
USD 417 million
Exact value

Exact value: 417000000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 417000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 490 million
Exact value

Exact value: 490000000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 490000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 52 million
Exact value

Exact value: 52000000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 52000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 438 million
Calculation and evidence

490000000 − 52000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 438000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

11 filings · 965 latest values · 965 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001595262, 1595262, IMS, edgar:1595262

Also known as IMS Health Holdings, Inc.