Changyou.com Ltd

EDGAR

88 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2009-03-17 to 2020-04-17. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest fiscal year

Revenue

486 million USD

2018 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

20.58%

2018 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 99981000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 485763000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

200 million USD

2018 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 199512000 USD Source

Free cash flow

197 million USD

2018 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 199512000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 2611000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
455 million USD Source
Exact value

454534000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2020-04-17.

Financial data available through: 2018-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Operating income: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Net income: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2012-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Total assets: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Current assets: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -16.3%

    Prior period

    USD 580.26 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 485.76 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    485763000 − 580261000 = -94498000 USD

    580261000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    485763000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -0.6%

    Prior period

    USD 200.8 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 199.51 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    199512000 − 200795000 = -1283000 USD

    200795000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    199512000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +8.2%

    Prior period

    USD 2.41 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.61 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2611000 − 2414000 = 197000 USD

    2414000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2611000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Net income.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

  • Revenue USD 485.76 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 160.83 million 33% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 224.95 million 46% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 99.98 million 21% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 199.51 million 41% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 2.61 million 0.5% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 196.9 million 41% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2010 55%37%
  • 2011 51%42%
  • 2012 45%11%44%
  • 2013 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2014 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2015 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2016 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2017 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2018 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31354106000 131668000 Derived 222438000 27755000 Derived 194683000 197140000 Derived
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31484576000 204747000 Derived 279829000 34373000 Derived 245456000 255982000 Derived
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31623429000 275336000 Derived 348093000 65693000 Derived 282400000 328720000 Derived
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31737875000 432367000 Derived 305508000 UnavailableUnavailable297061000 Derived
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31755266000 797015000 Derived -41749000 UnavailableUnavailable26075000 Derived
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31761636000 600314000 Derived 161322000 UnavailableUnavailable200901000 Derived
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31525385000 394532000 Derived 130853000 UnavailableUnavailable201630000 Derived
Source
2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31580261000 489780000 Derived 90481000 UnavailableUnavailable198381000 Derived
Source
2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31485763000 385782000 Derived 99981000 UnavailableUnavailable196901000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 485.8M 2018
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.822.6M616.9M411.3M205.6M0.0201020142018
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Revenue354106000
2011Revenue484576000
2012Revenue623429000
2013Revenue737875000
2014Revenue755266000
2015Revenue761636000
2016Revenue525385000
2017Revenue580261000
2018Revenue485763000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-16.3% 2018
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.42%23%3%-17%-36%201020142018
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2011Year over year36.8%
2012Year over year28.7%
2013Year over year18.4%
2014Year over year2.4%
2015Year over year0.8%
2016Year over year-31%
2017Year over year10.4%
2018Year over year-16.3%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 20.6% 2018
Net margin 45.3% 2012
Free cash flow margin 40.5% 2018
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.68%48%29%9%-11%201020142018
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010Operating margin62.8%
2011Operating margin57.7%
2012Operating margin55.8%
2013Operating margin41.4%
2014Operating margin-5.5%
2015Operating margin21.2%
2016Operating margin24.9%
2017Operating margin15.6%
2018Operating margin20.6%
2010Net margin55%
2011Net margin50.7%
2012Net margin45.3%
2013-12-31Net marginNot reported
2014-12-31Net marginNot reported
2015-12-31Net marginNot reported
2016-12-31Net marginNot reported
2017-12-31Net marginNot reported
2018-12-31Net marginNot reported
2010Free cash flow margin55.7%
2011Free cash flow margin52.8%
2012Free cash flow margin52.7%
2013Free cash flow margin40.3%
2014Free cash flow margin3.5%
2015Free cash flow margin26.4%
2016Free cash flow margin38.4%
2017Free cash flow margin34.2%
2018Free cash flow margin40.5%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 199.5M 2018
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.387.3M290.5M193.7M96.8M0.0201020142018
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Operating cash flow207259000
2011Operating cash flow276602000
2012Operating cash flow340436000
2013Operating cash flow358643000
2014Operating cash flow50316000
2015Operating cash flow213344000
2016Operating cash flow205662000
2017Operating cash flow200795000
2018Operating cash flow199512000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 196.9M 2018
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.355.0M266.3M177.5M88.8M0.0201020142018
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Free cash flow197140000
2011Free cash flow255982000
2012Free cash flow328720000
2013Free cash flow297061000
2014Free cash flow26075000
2015Free cash flow200901000
2016Free cash flow201630000
2017Free cash flow198381000
2018Free cash flow196901000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

57.7% 2018
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.62%47%31%16%0%2010-12-3120142018
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2011Liabilities / assets24%
2012Liabilities / assets39.9%
2013Liabilities / assets42.4%
2014Liabilities / assets39.1%
2015Liabilities / assets40.5%
2016Liabilities / assets32.8%
2017Liabilities / assets31.6%
2018Liabilities / assets57.7%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.75× 2018
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.52×2.64×1.76×0.88×0.00×2010-12-3120142018
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2011Current assets / current liabilities2.39×
2012Current assets / current liabilities1.97×
2013Current assets / current liabilities1.61×
2014Current assets / current liabilities3.26×
2015Current assets / current liabilities1.84×
2016Current assets / current liabilities2.84×
2017Current assets / current liabilities2.87×
2018Current assets / current liabilities1.75×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31
USD 194.68 million
Exact value

Exact value: 194683000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 194683000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 207.26 million
Exact value

Exact value: 207259000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 207259000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 10.12 million
Exact value

Exact value: 10119000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 10119000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 197.14 million
Calculation and evidence

207259000 − 10119000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 197140000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
USD 245.46 million
Exact value

Exact value: 245456000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 245456000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 276.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 276602000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 276602000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 20.62 million
Exact value

Exact value: 20620000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 20620000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 255.98 million
Calculation and evidence

276602000 − 20620000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 255982000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
USD 282.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 282400000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 282400000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 340.44 million
Exact value

Exact value: 340436000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 340436000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 11.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: 11716000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 11716000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 328.72 million
Calculation and evidence

340436000 − 11716000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 328720000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 358.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: 358643000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 358643000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 61.58 million
Exact value

Exact value: 61582000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 61582000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 297.06 million
Calculation and evidence

358643000 − 61582000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 297061000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 50.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 50316000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 50316000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 24.24 million
Exact value

Exact value: 24241000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 24241000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 26.08 million
Calculation and evidence

50316000 − 24241000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 26075000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 213.34 million
Exact value

Exact value: 213344000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 213344000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 12.44 million
Exact value

Exact value: 12443000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 12443000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 200.9 million
Calculation and evidence

213344000 − 12443000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 200901000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 205.66 million
Exact value

Exact value: 205662000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 205662000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.03 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4032000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 4032000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 201.63 million
Calculation and evidence

205662000 − 4032000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 201630000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 200.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 200795000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 200795000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.41 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2414000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 2414000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 198.38 million
Calculation and evidence

200795000 − 2414000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 198381000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 199.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: 199512000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 199512000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.61 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2611000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 2611000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 196.9 million
Calculation and evidence

199512000 − 2611000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 196901000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

88 filings · 1,015 latest values · 1,015 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001458696, 1458696, CYOU, edgar:1458696

Also known as Changyou.com Ltd