Weatherford International Ltd./Switzerland

EDGAR

35 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2009-05-07 to 2014-04-29. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

3.6 billion USD

2014 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 3596000000 USD Source

Operating margin

3.62%

2014 Q1 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 130000000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 3596000000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-406 million USD

2014 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -406000000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-692 million USD

2014 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -406000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 286000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
367 million USD Source
Exact value

367000000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
768 million shares Source
Exact value

768000000 shares

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2014-04-29.

Financial data available through: 2013-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31
  • Operating income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31
  • Net income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31
  • Total assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31
  • Current assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • Shares outstanding: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +0.3%

    Prior period

    USD 15.22 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 15.26 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    15263000000 − 15215000000 = 48000000 USD

    15215000000 USD · 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    15263000000 USD · 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +USD 433 million

    Prior period

    −USD 778 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 345 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -345000000 − -778000000 = 433000000 USD

    -778000000 USD · 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -345000000 USD · 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +0.7%

    Prior period

    USD 1.22 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.23 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1229000000 − 1221000000 = 8000000 USD

    1221000000 USD · 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1229000000 USD · 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -27.7%

    Prior period

    USD 2.18 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.58 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1575000000 − 2177000000 = -602000000 USD

    2177000000 USD · 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1575000000 USD · 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

  • Revenue USD 15.26 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 14.74 billion 97% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 523 million 3.4% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 868 million 5.7% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 345 million −2.3% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 1.23 billion 8.1% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 1.58 billion 10% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 346 million −2.3% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2007 14%79%
  • 2008 15%79%
  • 2009 92%
  • 2011 90%
  • 2012 Net loss: net income was −5.1% of revenue.
  • 2013 Net loss: net income was −2.3% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-317832062000 6207726000 Derived 1624336000 553730000 Derived 1070606000 -762535000 Derived
Source
2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-319600564000 7622015000 Derived 1978549000 585396000 Derived 1393153000 -1379595000 Derived
Source
2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-318826933000 8123078000 Derived 703855000 450089000 Derived 253766000 -955155000 Derived
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-3112988000000 11681000000 Derived 1307000000 1118000000 Derived 189000000 -672000000 Derived
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-3115215000000 14917000000 Derived 298000000 1076000000 Derived -778000000 -956000000 Derived
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-3115263000000 14740000000 Derived 523000000 868000000 Derived -345000000 -346000000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 15.3B 2013
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.16.5B12.4B8.2B4.1B0.0200720112013
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2007Revenue7832062000
2008Revenue9600564000
2009Revenue8826933000
2011Revenue12988000000
2012Revenue15215000000
2013Revenue15263000000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

0.3% 2013
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.25.0%16.1%7.3%-1.6%-10.5%200720112013
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2007Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2008Year over year22.6%
2009Year over year-8.1%
2011Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2012Year over year17.1%
2013Year over year0.3%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 3.4% 2013
Net margin -2.3% 2013
Free cash flow margin -2.3% 2013
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.24%13%3%-7%-17%200720112013
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2007Operating margin20.7%
2008Operating margin20.6%
2009Operating margin8%
2011Operating margin10.1%
2012Operating margin2%
2013Operating margin3.4%
2007Net margin13.7%
2008Net margin14.5%
2009Net margin2.9%
2011Net margin1.5%
2012Net margin-5.1%
2013Net margin-2.3%
2007Free cash flow margin-9.7%
2008Free cash flow margin-14.4%
2009Free cash flow margin-10.8%
2011Free cash flow margin-5.2%
2012Free cash flow margin-6.3%
2013Free cash flow margin-2.3%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 1.2B 2013
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.3B995.5M663.7M331.8M0.0200720112013
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2007Operating cash flow872506000
2008Operating cash flow1104568000
2009Operating cash flow614322000
2011Operating cash flow852000000
2012Operating cash flow1221000000
2013Operating cash flow1229000000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -346M 2013
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.110.4M-289.7M-689.8M-1.1B-1.5B200720112013
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2007Free cash flow-762535000
2008Free cash flow-1379595000
2009Free cash flow-955155000
2011Free cash flow-672000000
2012Free cash flow-956000000
2013Free cash flow-346000000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

62.7% 2013
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.68%51%34%17%0%2007-12-312011-12-312013
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2007-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2008Liabilities / assets49%
2009Liabilities / assets48.1%
2011-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2012Liabilities / assets61.3%
2013Liabilities / assets62.7%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.54× 2013
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.37×1.78×1.19×0.59×0.00×2007-12-312011-12-312013
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2007-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2008Current assets / current liabilities1.84×
2009Current assets / current liabilities2.2×
2011-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2012Current assets / current liabilities1.58×
2013Current assets / current liabilities1.54×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31
USD 1.07 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1070606000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 1070606000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 872.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: 872506000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 872506000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.64 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1635041000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 1635041000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 762.54 million
Calculation and evidence

872506000 − 1635041000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -762535000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31
USD 1.39 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1393153000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 1393153000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.1 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1104568000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 1104568000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.48 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 2484163000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 2484163000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.38 billion
Calculation and evidence

1104568000 − 2484163000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -1379595000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31
USD 253.77 million
Exact value

Exact value: 253766000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 253766000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 614.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 614322000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 614322000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.57 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1569477000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 1569477000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 955.16 million
Calculation and evidence

614322000 − 1569477000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -955155000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
USD 189 million
Exact value

Exact value: 189000000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 189000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 852 million
Exact value

Exact value: 852000000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 852000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.52 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1524000000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 1524000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 672 million
Calculation and evidence

852000000 − 1524000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -672000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
−USD 778 million
Exact value

Exact value: -778000000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: -778000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.22 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1221000000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 1221000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.18 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 2177000000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 2177000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 956 million
Calculation and evidence

1221000000 − 2177000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -956000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
−USD 345 million
Exact value

Exact value: -345000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: -345000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.23 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1229000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 1229000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.58 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1575000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 1575000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 346 million
Calculation and evidence

1229000000 − 1575000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -346000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

35 filings · 3,932 latest values · 3,932 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001453090, 1453090, edgar:1453090

Also known as Weatherford International Ltd./Switzerland