PZENA INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT, INC.

EDGAR

73 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2007-12-05 to 2022-11-04. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

39.6 million USD

2018 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

50.87%

2018 Q3 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 20136000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 39580000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

28.8 million USD

2018 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 28806000 USD Source

Free cash flow

28.7 million USD

2018 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 28806000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 87000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
75 million USD Source
Exact value

74951000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2022-11-04.

Financial data available through: 2021-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Operating income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2021-12-31
  • Net income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2021-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2021-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2021-12-31
  • Total assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2021-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2021-12-31
  • current assets: No compatible figures in this window
  • current liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2021-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Net income

    +110.5%

    Prior period

    USD 8.87 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 18.68 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    18679000 − 8874000 = 9805000 USD

    8874000 USD · 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    18679000 USD · 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +49.7%

    Prior period

    USD 51.33 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 76.83 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    76827000 − 51329000 = 25498000 USD

    51329000 USD · 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    76827000 USD · 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +1,041.9%

    Prior period

    USD 43,000

    –

    Current period

    USD 491,000

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    491000 − 43000 = 448000 USD

    43000 USD · 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    491000 USD · 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Revenue.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

  • Revenue USD 141.3 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 72.24 million 51% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 69.05 million 49% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 62.15 million 44% of revenue
  • Net income USD 6.91 million 4.9% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 68.95 million 49% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 324,000 0.2% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 68.63 million 49% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2012 44%51%
  • 2013 46%47%
  • 2014 47%46%
  • 2015 41%52%
  • 2016 15%29%56%
  • 2017 44%51%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-3176280000 39101000 Derived 37179000 33339000 Derived 3840000 31884000 Derived
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-3195769000 44921000 Derived 50848000 44178000 Derived 6670000 44223000 Derived
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31112511000 51558000 Derived 60953000 52853000 Derived 8100000 53251000 Derived
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31116607000 61190000 Derived 55417000 47738000 Derived 7679000 51082000 Derived
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31108336000 61118000 Derived 47218000 31039000 Derived 16179000 58452000 Derived
Source
2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31141295000 72241000 Derived 69054000 62146000 Derived 6908000 68628000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 141.3M 2017
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.152.6M114.4M76.3M38.1M0.0201120142017
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2011Revenue83045000
2012Revenue76280000
2013Revenue95769000
2014Revenue112511000
2015Revenue116607000
2016Revenue108336000
2017Revenue141295000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

30.4% 2017
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.34%22%11%-0%-11%201120142017
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2011Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2012Year over year-8.1%
2013Year over year25.5%
2014Year over year17.5%
2015Year over year3.6%
2016Year over year-7.1%
2017Year over year30.4%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 48.9% 2017
Net margin 4.9% 2017
Free cash flow margin 48.6% 2017
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.59%44%29%15%0%201120142017
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2011Operating margin45.6%
2012Operating margin48.7%
2013Operating margin53.1%
2014Operating margin54.2%
2015Operating margin47.5%
2016Operating margin43.6%
2017Operating margin48.9%
2011Net margin4.1%
2012Net margin5%
2013Net margin7%
2014Net margin7.2%
2015Net margin6.6%
2016Net margin14.9%
2017Net margin4.9%
2011Free cash flow marginNot reported
2012Free cash flow margin41.8%
2013Free cash flow margin46.2%
2014Free cash flow margin47.3%
2015Free cash flow margin43.8%
2016Free cash flow margin54%
2017Free cash flow margin48.6%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 69M 2017
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.74.5M55.9M37.2M18.6M0.0201120142017
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2011Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2012Operating cash flow31958000
2013Operating cash flow44457000
2014Operating cash flow55412000
2015Operating cash flow57430000
2016Operating cash flow58572000
2017Operating cash flow68952000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 68.6M 2017
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.74.1M55.6M37.1M18.5M0.0201120142017
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2011Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2012Free cash flow31884000
2013Free cash flow44223000
2014Free cash flow53251000
2015Free cash flow51082000
2016Free cash flow58452000
2017Free cash flow68628000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

41.3% 2017
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.59%44%29%15%0%2011-12-3120142017
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2011-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2012Liabilities / assets25.8%
2013Liabilities / assets27%
2014Liabilities / assets24%
2015Liabilities / assets25.2%
2016Liabilities / assets54.6%
2017Liabilities / assets41.3%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2011-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2012-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2013-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2014-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2015-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2016-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2017-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
USD 3.84 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3840000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 3840000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 31.96 million
Exact value

Exact value: 31958000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 31958000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 74,000
Exact value

Exact value: 74000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 74000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 31.88 million
Calculation and evidence

31958000 − 74000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 31884000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
USD 6.67 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6670000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 6670000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 44.46 million
Exact value

Exact value: 44457000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 44457000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 234,000
Exact value

Exact value: 234000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 234000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 44.22 million
Calculation and evidence

44457000 − 234000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 44223000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
USD 8.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8100000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 8100000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 55.41 million
Exact value

Exact value: 55412000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 55412000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.16 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2161000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 2161000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 53.25 million
Calculation and evidence

55412000 − 2161000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 53251000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
USD 7.68 million
Exact value

Exact value: 7679000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 7679000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 57.43 million
Exact value

Exact value: 57430000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 57430000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 6.35 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6348000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 6348000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 51.08 million
Calculation and evidence

57430000 − 6348000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 51082000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
USD 16.18 million
Exact value

Exact value: 16179000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 16179000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 58.57 million
Exact value

Exact value: 58572000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 58572000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 120,000
Exact value

Exact value: 120000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 120000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 58.45 million
Calculation and evidence

58572000 − 120000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 58452000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
USD 6.91 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6908000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 6908000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 68.95 million
Exact value

Exact value: 68952000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 68952000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 324,000
Exact value

Exact value: 324000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 324000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 68.63 million
Calculation and evidence

68952000 − 324000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 68628000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
USD 13.79 million
Exact value

Exact value: 13794000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 13794000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 87.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 87599000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 87599000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 166,000
Exact value

Exact value: 166000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 166000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 87.43 million
Calculation and evidence

87599000 − 166000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 87433000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31
USD 8.46 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8462000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 8462000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 78.58 million
Exact value

Exact value: 78579000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 78579000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.22 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1222000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 1222000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 77.36 million
Calculation and evidence

78579000 − 1222000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 77357000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2020 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31
USD 8.87 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8874000 USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: 8874000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 51.33 million
Exact value

Exact value: 51329000 USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: 51329000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 43,000
Exact value

Exact value: 43000 USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: 43000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 51.29 million
Calculation and evidence

51329000 − 43000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 51286000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2021 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31
USD 18.68 million
Exact value

Exact value: 18679000 USD

2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31: 18679000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 76.83 million
Exact value

Exact value: 76827000 USD

2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31: 76827000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 491,000
Exact value

Exact value: 491000 USD

2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31: 491000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 76.34 million
Calculation and evidence

76827000 − 491000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 76336000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

73 filings · 4,207 latest values · 4,207 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001399249, 1399249, PZN, edgar:1399249

Also known as PZENA INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT, INC., Pzena Investment Management, Inc., Pzena Investment Management, Inc.