REX ENERGY CORP

EDGAR

92 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2007-09-05 to 2018-08-08. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

75.2 million USD

2018 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

14.74%

2018 Q2 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 11079000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 75158000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

5.19 million USD

2018 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 31111000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 25918000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
28.8 million USD Source
Exact value

28780000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
811 million USD Source
Exact value

810739000 USD

Shares outstanding
10.7 million shares Source
Exact value

10707788 shares

Reported share-count change

7.59% · 755 thousand shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 9952861 shares · 2017-06-30· Source
  • 10707788 shares · 2018-06-30· Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2018-08-08.

Financial data available through: 2017-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Operating income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Net income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • capital expenditure: No compatible figures in this window
  • Total assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Current assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2015-12-31
  • Shares outstanding: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +47.7%

    Prior period

    USD 139.02 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 205.27 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    205266000 − 139017000 = 66249000 USD

    139017000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    205266000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +USD 112.47 million

    Prior period

    −USD 176.72 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 64.24 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -64242000 − -176715000 = 112473000 USD

    -176715000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -64242000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +USD 42.89 million

    Prior period

    −USD 4.4 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 38.49 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    38488000 − -4404000 = 42892000 USD

    -4404000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    38488000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

  • Revenue USD 205.27 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 218.77 million 107% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 13.51 million −6.6% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 50.74 million 25% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 64.24 million −31% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 38.49 million 19% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2007 Net loss: net income was −28% of revenue.
  • 2008 Operating loss: operating costs were 191% of revenue.
  • 2010 87%
  • 2011 Net loss: net income was −13% of revenue.
  • 2012 Operating loss: operating costs were 105% of revenue.
  • 2013 Net loss: net income was −1% of revenue.
  • 2014 Net loss: net income was −21% of revenue.
  • 2015 Operating loss: operating costs were 358% of revenue.
  • 2016 Operating loss: operating costs were 195% of revenue.
  • 2017 Operating loss: operating costs were 107% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-3158234000 49184000 Derived 9050000 25261000 Derived -16211000 Unavailable
Source
2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-3184136000 160678000 Derived -76542000 -27860000 Derived -48682000 Unavailable
Source
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-3168763000 59752000 Derived 9011000 2975000 Derived 6036000 Unavailable
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31114606000 104817000 Derived 9789000 25158000 Derived -15369000 Unavailable
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31134792000 141590000 Derived -6798000 -52277000 Derived 45479000 Unavailable
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31214119000 201049000 Derived 13070000 15200000 Derived -2130000 Unavailable
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31225629000 194849000 Derived 30780000 77469000 Derived -46689000 Unavailable
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31138749000 497354000 Derived -358605000 4673000 Derived -363278000 Unavailable
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31139017000 271624000 Derived -132607000 44108000 Derived -176715000 Unavailable
Source
2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31205266000 218773000 Derived -13507000 50735000 Derived -64242000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 205.3M 2017
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.243.7M182.8M121.8M60.9M0.0200720132017
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2007Revenue58234000
2008Revenue84136000
2010Revenue68763000
2011Revenue114606000
2012Revenue134792000
2013Revenue214119000
2014Revenue225629000
2015Revenue138749000
2016Revenue139017000
2017Revenue205266000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

47.7% 2017
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.75%45%14%-16%-47%200720132017
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2007Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2008Year over year44.5%
2010Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2011Year over year66.7%
2012Year over year17.6%
2013Year over year58.9%
2014Year over year5.4%
2015Year over year-38.5%
2016Year over year0.2%
2017Year over year47.7%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -6.6% 2017
Net margin -31.3% 2017
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.57%-28%-114%-200%-285%200720132017
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2007Operating margin15.5%
2008Operating margin-91%
2010Operating margin13.1%
2011Operating margin8.5%
2012Operating margin-5%
2013Operating margin6.1%
2014Operating margin13.6%
2015Operating margin-258.5%
2016Operating margin-95.4%
2017Operating margin-6.6%
2007Net margin-27.8%
2008Net margin-57.9%
2010Net margin8.8%
2011Net margin-13.4%
2012Net margin33.7%
2013Net margin-1%
2014Net margin-20.7%
2015Net margin-261.8%
2016Net margin-127.1%
2017Net margin-31.3%
2007Free cash flow marginNot reported
2008Free cash flow marginNot reported
2010Free cash flow marginNot reported
2011Free cash flow marginNot reported
2012Free cash flow marginNot reported
2013Free cash flow marginNot reported
2014Free cash flow marginNot reported
2015Free cash flow marginNot reported
2016Free cash flow marginNot reported
2017Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 38.5M 2017
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.176.1M127.6M79.2M30.7M-17.8M200720132017
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2007Operating cash flow17555000
2008Operating cash flow32428000
2010Operating cash flow34102000
2011Operating cash flow64507000
2012Operating cash flow45705000
2013Operating cash flow108316000
2014Operating cash flow162706000
2015Operating cash flow30885000
2016Operating cash flow-4404000
2017Operating cash flow38488000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2007Free cash flowUnavailable
2008Free cash flowUnavailable
2010Free cash flowUnavailable
2011Free cash flowUnavailable
2012Free cash flowUnavailable
2013Free cash flowUnavailable
2014Free cash flowUnavailable
2015Free cash flowUnavailable
2016Free cash flowUnavailable
2017Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

105.7% 2017
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.114%86%57%29%0%200720132017
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2007Liabilities / assets38.7%
2008Liabilities / assets23.2%
2010-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2011Liabilities / assets51.4%
2012Liabilities / assets46.6%
2013Liabilities / assets57.9%
2014Liabilities / assets62.1%
2015Liabilities / assets85.1%
2016Liabilities / assets98.9%
2017Liabilities / assets105.7%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.06× 2017
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.75×1.31×0.88×0.44×0.00×200720132017
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2007Current assets / current liabilities0.78×
2008Current assets / current liabilities1.39×
2010-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2011Current assets / current liabilities1.04×
2012Current assets / current liabilities1.62×
2013Current assets / current liabilities0.68×
2014Current assets / current liabilities0.87×
2015Current assets / current liabilities0.93×
2016Current assets / current liabilities0.33×
2017Current assets / current liabilities0.06×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31
−USD 16.21 million
Exact value

Exact value: -16211000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: -16211000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 17.56 million
Exact value

Exact value: 17555000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 17555000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31
−USD 48.68 million
Exact value

Exact value: -48682000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: -48682000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 32.43 million
Exact value

Exact value: 32428000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 32428000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31
USD 6.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6036000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 6036000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 34.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 34102000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 34102000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
−USD 15.37 million
Exact value

Exact value: -15369000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: -15369000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 64.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: 64507000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 64507000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
USD 45.48 million
Exact value

Exact value: 45479000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 45479000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 45.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 45705000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 45705000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
−USD 2.13 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2130000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: -2130000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 108.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 108316000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 108316000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
−USD 46.69 million
Exact value

Exact value: -46689000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: -46689000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 162.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 162706000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 162706000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
−USD 363.28 million
Exact value

Exact value: -363278000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: -363278000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 30.89 million
Exact value

Exact value: 30885000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 30885000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
−USD 176.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: -176715000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: -176715000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 4.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: -4404000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: -4404000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
−USD 64.24 million
Exact value

Exact value: -64242000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: -64242000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 38.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 38488000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 38488000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

92 filings · 3,365 latest values · 3,365 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001397516, 1397516, REXX, edgar:1397516

Also known as REX ENERGY CORP