Discovery Holding CO

EDGAR

16 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2005-08-10 to 2008-08-11. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

194 million USD

2008-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

0.29%

2008-06-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 573000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 194477000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

11.6 million USD

2008-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 9386000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -2171000 USD Source

Free cash flow

1.92 million USD

2008-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 9386000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -2171000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 18194000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 8552000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
226 million USD Source
Exact value

226007000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

954 million USD

2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 177913000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 2027906000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 2241238000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 794578000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 194477000 USD · 2008-04-01 – 2008-06-30 Source

Net income

97.2 million USD

2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 7507000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 184712000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 246090000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 105218000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 45879000 USD · 2008-04-01 – 2008-06-30 Source

Capital expenditure

49.1 million USD

2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 36310000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 25093000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 55965000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 36310000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 8552000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 18194000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 8552000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2008-08-11.

Financial data available through: 2007-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Operating income: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Net income: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Total assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Current assets: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -29.7%

    Prior period

    USD 2.88 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.03 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2027906000 − 2883671000 = -855765000 USD

    2883671000 USD · 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2027906000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -10.8%

    Prior period

    USD 207.18 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 184.71 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    184712000 − 207176000 = -22464000 USD

    207176000 USD · 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    184712000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -37.9%

    Prior period

    USD 90.14 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 55.97 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    55965000 − 90138000 = -34173000 USD

    90138000 USD · 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    55965000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Operating cash flow.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31

  • Revenue USD 2.03 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 1.57 billion 78% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 456.14 million 22% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 271.42 million 13% of revenue
  • Net income USD 184.71 million 9.1% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Capital expenditure USD 55.97 million 2.8% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2004 13%80%
  • 2005 13%81%
  • 2006 13%80%
  • 2007 9.1%13%78%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-312365346000 1881175000 Derived 484171000 316149000 Derived 168022000 35030000 Derived
Source
2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-312671754000 2157790000 Derived 513964000 354344000 Derived 159620000 -5235000 Derived
Source
2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-312883671000 2298175000 Derived 585496000 378320000 Derived 207176000 -16505000 Derived
Source
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-312027906000 1571770000 Derived 456136000 271424000 Derived 184712000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 2B 2007
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.1B2.3B1.6B778.6M0.02004200520062007
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2004Revenue2365346000
2005Revenue2671754000
2006Revenue2883671000
2007Revenue2027906000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-29.7% 2007
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.16%4%-8%-21%-33%2004200520062007
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2005Year over year13%
2006Year over year7.9%
2007Year over year-29.7%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 22.5% 2007
Net margin 9.1% 2007
Free cash flow margin -0.6% 2006
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.24.3%17.6%11.0%4.3%-2.4%2004200520062007
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004Operating margin20.5%
2005Operating margin19.2%
2006Operating margin20.3%
2007Operating margin22.5%
2004Net margin7.1%
2005Net margin6%
2006Net margin7.2%
2007Net margin9.1%
2004Free cash flow margin1.5%
2005Free cash flow margin-0.2%
2006Free cash flow margin-0.6%
2007Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 73.6M 2006
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.92.1M69.1M46.1M23.0M0.02004200520062007
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2004Operating cash flow84322000
2005Operating cash flow85291000
2006Operating cash flow73633000
2007Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -16.5M 2006
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.39.2M24.2M9.3M-5.7M-20.6M2004200520062007
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2004Free cash flow35030000
2005Free cash flow-5235000
2006Free cash flow-16505000
2007Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

23.4% 2007
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.113%85%57%28%0%2004200520062007
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004Liabilities / assets21.9%
2005Liabilities / assets21.4%
2006Liabilities / assets104.9%
2007Liabilities / assets23.4%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

3.09× 2007
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.4.61×3.46×2.31×1.15×0.00×2004200520062007
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004Current assets / current liabilities1.83×
2005Current assets / current liabilities4.27×
2006Current assets / current liabilities1.32×
2007Current assets / current liabilities3.09×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31
USD 168.02 million
Exact value

Exact value: 168022000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 168022000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 84.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: 84322000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 84322000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 49.29 million
Exact value

Exact value: 49292000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 49292000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 35.03 million
Calculation and evidence

84322000 − 49292000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 35030000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31
USD 159.62 million
Exact value

Exact value: 159620000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 159620000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 85.29 million
Exact value

Exact value: 85291000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 85291000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 90.53 million
Exact value

Exact value: 90526000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 90526000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 5.24 million
Calculation and evidence

85291000 − 90526000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -5235000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31
USD 207.18 million
Exact value

Exact value: 207176000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 207176000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 73.63 million
Exact value

Exact value: 73633000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 73633000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 90.14 million
Exact value

Exact value: 90138000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 90138000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 16.51 million
Calculation and evidence

73633000 − 90138000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -16505000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31
USD 184.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 184712000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 184712000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 55.97 million
Exact value

Exact value: 55965000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 55965000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

16 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001320482, 1320482, edgar:1320482