VWR Funding, Inc.

EDGAR

45 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2005-08-12 to 2015-08-14. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

1.08 billion USD

2015 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 1081200000 USD Source

Operating margin

7.18%

2015 Q2 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 77600000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 1081200000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

107 million USD

2015 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 97100000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -9900000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
130 million USD Source
Exact value

129900000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
2.6 billion USD Source
Exact value

2600000000 USD

Shares outstanding
131 million shares Source
Exact value

131400000 shares

Reported share-count change

13,139,900.00% · 131 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 1000 shares · 2014-06-30· Source
  • 131400000 shares · 2015-06-30· Source

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

4.33 billion USD

2014-07-01 – 2015-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 1114400000 USD · 2014-07-01 – 2014-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 1101600000 USD · 2014-10-01 – 2014-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 1029600000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 1081200000 USD · 2015-04-01 – 2015-06-30 Source

Net income

208 million USD

2014-07-01 – 2015-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 69800000 USD · 2014-07-01 – 2014-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 48800000 USD · 2014-10-01 – 2014-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 71500000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 18300000 USD · 2015-04-01 – 2015-06-30 Source

Operating cash flow

220 million USD

2014-07-01 – 2015-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 87200000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 68500000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 191100000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 87200000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -9900000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 97100000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -9900000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-03-31 Source

Capital expenditure

40.4 million USD

2010-10-01 – 2011-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 41600000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 26300000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 6600000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 16100000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 6600000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 25100000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 16100000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-06-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2015-08-14.

Financial data available through: 2014-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Operating income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Net income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2010-12-31
  • Total assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Current assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 2012-12-31
  • Shares outstanding: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +4.5%

    Prior period

    USD 4.19 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 4.38 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    4375300000 − 4187800000 = 187500000 USD

    4187800000 USD · 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    4375300000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +982.3%

    Prior period

    USD 14.1 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 152.6 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    152600000 − 14100000 = 138500000 USD

    14100000 USD · 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    152600000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -4.9%

    Prior period

    USD 200.9 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 191.1 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    191100000 − 200900000 = -9800000 USD

    200900000 USD · 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    191100000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

  • Revenue USD 4.38 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 4.06 billion 93% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 317.9 million 7.3% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 165.3 million 3.8% of revenue
  • Net income USD 152.6 million 3.5% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 191.1 million 4.4% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2005 95%
  • 2006 94%
  • 2007 Net loss: net income was −2.7% of revenue.
  • 2008 Operating loss: operating costs were 105% of revenue.
  • 2009 Net loss: net income was −0.4% of revenue.
  • 2010 95%
  • 2011 94%
  • 2012 94%
  • 2013 94%
  • 2014 93%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-313138200000 2995100000 Derived 143100000 121600000 Derived 21500000 51700000 Derived
Source
2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-313257600000 3066600000 Derived 191000000 144600000 Derived 46400000 149600000 Derived
Source
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-311822700000 1719800000 Derived 102900000 151900000 Derived -49000000 3100000 Derived
Source
2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-313759200000 3947500000 Derived -188300000 146300000 Derived -334600000 -21000000 Derived
Source
2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-313561200000 3352400000 Derived 208800000 222900000 Derived -14100000 145100000 Derived
Source
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-313638700000 3453300000 Derived 185400000 163900000 Derived 21500000 80700000 Derived
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-314161100000 3895200000 Derived 265900000 208200000 Derived 57700000 Unavailable
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-314129400000 3877400000 Derived 252000000 248200000 Derived 3800000 Unavailable
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-314187800000 3933800000 Derived 254000000 239900000 Derived 14100000 Unavailable
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-314375300000 4057400000 Derived 317900000 165300000 Derived 152600000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 4.4B 2014
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.4.7B3.5B2.4B1.2B0.0200520102014
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2005Revenue3138200000
2006Revenue3257600000
2007Revenue1822700000
2008Revenue3759200000
2009Revenue3561200000
2010Revenue3638700000
2011Revenue4161100000
2012Revenue4129400000
2013Revenue4187800000
2014Revenue4375300000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

4.5% 2014
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.118%75%31%-12%-56%200520102014
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Year over year41.9%
2006Year over year3.8%
2007Year over year-44%
2008Year over year106.2%
2009Year over year-5.3%
2010Year over year2.2%
2011Year over year14.4%
2012Year over year-0.8%
2013Year over year1.4%
2014Year over year4.5%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 7.3% 2014
Net margin 3.5% 2014
Free cash flow margin 2.2% 2010
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.8.6%3.9%-0.8%-5.5%-10.2%200520102014
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Operating margin4.6%
2006Operating margin5.9%
2007Operating margin5.6%
2008Operating margin-5%
2009Operating margin5.9%
2010Operating margin5.1%
2011Operating margin6.4%
2012Operating margin6.1%
2013Operating margin6.1%
2014Operating margin7.3%
2005Net margin0.7%
2006Net margin1.4%
2007Net margin-2.7%
2008Net margin-8.9%
2009Net margin-0.4%
2010Net margin0.6%
2011Net margin1.4%
2012Net margin0.1%
2013Net margin0.3%
2014Net margin3.5%
2005Free cash flow margin1.6%
2006Free cash flow margin4.6%
2007Free cash flow margin0.2%
2008Free cash flow margin-0.6%
2009Free cash flow margin4.1%
2010Free cash flow margin2.2%
2011Free cash flow marginNot reported
2012Free cash flow marginNot reported
2013Free cash flow marginNot reported
2014Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 191.1M 2014
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.217.0M162.7M108.5M54.2M0.0200520102014
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2005Operating cash flow70100000
2006Operating cash flow173200000
2007Operating cash flow19400000
2008Operating cash flow8700000
2009Operating cash flow169000000
2010Operating cash flow122300000
2011Operating cash flow139300000
2012Operating cash flow34700000
2013Operating cash flow200900000
2014Operating cash flow191100000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 80.7M 2010
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.163.2M113.8M64.3M14.8M-34.6M200520102014
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2005Free cash flow51700000
2006Free cash flow149600000
2007Free cash flow3100000
2008Free cash flow-21000000
2009Free cash flow145100000
2010Free cash flow80700000
2011Free cash flowUnavailable
2012Free cash flowUnavailable
2013Free cash flowUnavailable
2014Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

72.1% 2014
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.105%79%53%26%0%200520102014
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Liabilities / assets87.2%
2006Liabilities / assets97.6%
2007Liabilities / assets74.2%
2008Liabilities / assets79.3%
2009Liabilities / assets78.8%
2010Liabilities / assets79.7%
2011Liabilities / assets80.4%
2012Liabilities / assets80.9%
2013Liabilities / assets79%
2014Liabilities / assets72.1%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.53× 2014
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.76×1.32×0.88×0.44×0.00×200520102014
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Current assets / current liabilities1.53×
2006Current assets / current liabilities1.54×
2007Current assets / current liabilities1.46×
2008Current assets / current liabilities1.36×
2009Current assets / current liabilities1.48×
2010Current assets / current liabilities1.52×
2011Current assets / current liabilities1.46×
2012Current assets / current liabilities1.4×
2013Current assets / current liabilities1.63×
2014Current assets / current liabilities1.53×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31
USD 21.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 21500000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 21500000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 70.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 70100000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 70100000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 18.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 18400000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 18400000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 51.7 million
Calculation and evidence

70100000 − 18400000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 51700000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31
USD 46.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 46400000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 46400000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 173.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 173200000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 173200000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 23.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 23600000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 23600000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 149.6 million
Calculation and evidence

173200000 − 23600000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 149600000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31
−USD 49 million
Exact value

Exact value: -49000000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: -49000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 19.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 19400000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 19400000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 16.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 16300000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 16300000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.1 million
Calculation and evidence

19400000 − 16300000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 3100000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31
−USD 334.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: -334600000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: -334600000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 8.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8700000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 8700000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 29.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 29700000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 29700000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 21 million
Calculation and evidence

8700000 − 29700000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -21000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31
−USD 14.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: -14100000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: -14100000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 169 million
Exact value

Exact value: 169000000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 169000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 23.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 23900000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 23900000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 145.1 million
Calculation and evidence

169000000 − 23900000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 145100000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31
USD 21.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 21500000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 21500000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 122.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 122300000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 122300000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 41.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 41600000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 41600000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 80.7 million
Calculation and evidence

122300000 − 41600000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 80700000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
USD 57.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 57700000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 57700000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 139.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 139300000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 139300000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
USD 3.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3800000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 3800000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 34.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 34700000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 34700000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
USD 14.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 14100000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 14100000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 200.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 200900000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 200900000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
USD 152.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 152600000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 152600000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 191.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 191100000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 191100000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

45 filings · 2,147 latest values · 2,147 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001319764, 1319764, VWR, edgar:1319764

Also known as CDRV Investors, Inc., VWR Funding, Inc.