Alpha Natural Resources, Inc.

EDGAR

51 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2005-03-31 to 2015-08-03. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

765 million USD

2015 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-62.52%

2015 Q2 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -478290000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 765067000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-217 million USD

2015 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -276293000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -59784000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-253 million USD

2015 Q2 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -276293000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -59784000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 36832000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
698 million USD Source
Exact value

698236000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
4.02 billion USD Source
Exact value

4019065000 USD

Shares outstanding
223 million shares Source
Exact value

222500000 shares

Reported share-count change

0.50% · 1.1 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 221400000 shares · 2014-06-30· Source
  • 222500000 shares · 2015-06-30· Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2015-08-03.

Financial data available through: 2014-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Operating income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Net income: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2010-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Total assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Current assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31
  • Shares outstanding: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2014-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -13.5%

    Prior period

    USD 4.95 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 4.29 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    4287078000 − 4953508000 = -666430000 USD

    4953508000 USD · 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    4287078000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -360.4%

    Prior period

    USD 109.02 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 283.86 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -283859000 − 109018000 = -392877000 USD

    109018000 USD · 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -283859000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -14.2%

    Prior period

    USD 215.66 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 185.04 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    185038000 − 215661000 = -30623000 USD

    215661000 USD · 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    185038000 USD · 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Net income.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31

  • Revenue USD 4.29 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 5.2 billion 121% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 917.86 million −21% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Cash

  • Operating cash flow −USD 283.86 million −6.6% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 185.04 million 4.3% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 468.9 million −11% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2005 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2006 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2007 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2008 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2009 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2010 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2011 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2012 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2013 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2014 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-311316929000 1123331000 Derived 193598000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source
2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-311470321000 1373445000 Derived 96876000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-311806154000 1725123000 Derived 81031000 UnavailableUnavailable99360000 Derived
Source
2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-312468753000 2223230000 Derived 245523000 UnavailableUnavailable320292000 Derived
Source
2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-312495507000 2378212000 Derived 117295000 UnavailableUnavailable169127000 Derived
Source
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-313917156000 3743545000 Derived 173611000 UnavailableUnavailable384737000 Derived
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-317107681000 7726802000 Derived -619121000 UnavailableUnavailable158051000 Derived
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-316974884000 9771333000 Derived -2796449000 UnavailableUnavailable116042000 Derived
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-314953508000 6023514000 Derived -1070006000 UnavailableUnavailable-106643000 Derived
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-314287078000 5204939000 Derived -917861000 UnavailableUnavailable-468897000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 4.3B 2014
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.7B5.8B3.8B1.9B0.0200520102014
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2005Revenue1316929000
2006Revenue1470321000
2007Revenue1806154000
2008Revenue2468753000
2009Revenue2495507000
2010Revenue3917156000
2011Revenue7107681000
2012Revenue6974884000
2013Revenue4953508000
2014Revenue4287078000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-13.5% 2014
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.90%58%26%-6%-38%200520102014
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2006Year over year11.6%
2007Year over year22.8%
2008Year over year36.7%
2009Year over year1.1%
2010Year over year57%
2011Year over year81.5%
2012Year over year-1.9%
2013Year over year-29%
2014Year over year-13.5%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -21.4% 2014
Free cash flow margin -10.9% 2014
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.19%3%-13%-29%-44%200520102014
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Operating margin14.7%
2006Operating margin6.6%
2007Operating margin4.5%
2008Operating margin9.9%
2009Operating margin4.7%
2010Operating margin4.4%
2011Operating margin-8.7%
2012Operating margin-40.1%
2013Operating margin-21.6%
2014Operating margin-21.4%
2005-12-31Net marginNot reported
2006-12-31Net marginNot reported
2007-12-31Net marginNot reported
2008-12-31Net marginNot reported
2009-12-31Net marginNot reported
2010-12-31Net marginNot reported
2011-12-31Net marginNot reported
2012-12-31Net marginNot reported
2013-12-31Net marginNot reported
2014-12-31Net marginNot reported
2005Free cash flow marginNot reported
2006Free cash flow marginNot reported
2007Free cash flow margin5.5%
2008Free cash flow margin13%
2009Free cash flow margin6.8%
2010Free cash flow margin9.8%
2011Free cash flow margin2.2%
2012Free cash flow margin1.7%
2013Free cash flow margin-2.2%
2014Free cash flow margin-10.9%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD -283.9M 2014
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.771.8M488.3M204.9M-78.6M-362.1M200520102014
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2005Operating cash flow184205000
2006Operating cash flow225666000
2007Operating cash flow225741000
2008Operating cash flow458043000
2009Operating cash flow356220000
2010Operating cash flow693601000
2011Operating cash flow686637000
2012Operating cash flow518419000
2013Operating cash flow109018000
2014Operating cash flow-283859000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -468.9M 2014
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.453.0M205.5M-42.1M-289.6M-537.2M200520102014
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2005Free cash flowUnavailable
2006Free cash flowUnavailable
2007Free cash flow99360000
2008Free cash flow320292000
2009Free cash flow169127000
2010Free cash flow384737000
2011Free cash flow158051000
2012Free cash flow116042000
2013Free cash flow-106643000
2014Free cash flow-468897000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

71.9% 2014
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.92%69%46%23%0%200520102014
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Liabilities / assets83.1%
2006Liabilities / assets84.7%
2007Liabilities / assets82.4%
2008Liabilities / assets53.5%
2009Liabilities / assets49.4%
2010Liabilities / assets48.7%
2011Liabilities / assets55.6%
2012Liabilities / assets62%
2013Liabilities / assets65.5%
2014Liabilities / assets71.9%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.86× 2014
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.4.09×3.07×2.04×1.02×0.00×200520102014
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2005Current assets / current liabilities1.19×
2006Current assets / current liabilities1.18×
2007Current assets / current liabilities1.19×
2008Current assets / current liabilities3.79×
2009Current assets / current liabilities2.42×
2010Current assets / current liabilities3.08×
2011Current assets / current liabilities1.33×
2012Current assets / current liabilities1.91×
2013Current assets / current liabilities1.6×
2014Current assets / current liabilities1.86×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 184.21 million
Exact value

Exact value: 184205000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 184205000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2006 2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 225.67 million
Exact value

Exact value: 225666000 USD

2006-01-01 – 2006-12-31: 225666000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 225.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: 225741000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 225741000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 126.38 million
Exact value

Exact value: 126381000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 126381000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 99.36 million
Calculation and evidence

225741000 − 126381000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 99360000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 458.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 458043000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 458043000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 137.75 million
Exact value

Exact value: 137751000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 137751000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 320.29 million
Calculation and evidence

458043000 − 137751000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 320292000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 356.22 million
Exact value

Exact value: 356220000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 356220000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 187.09 million
Exact value

Exact value: 187093000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 187093000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 169.13 million
Calculation and evidence

356220000 − 187093000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 169127000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 693.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 693601000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 693601000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 308.86 million
Exact value

Exact value: 308864000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 308864000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 384.74 million
Calculation and evidence

693601000 − 308864000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 384737000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 686.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: 686637000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 686637000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 528.59 million
Exact value

Exact value: 528586000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 528586000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 158.05 million
Calculation and evidence

686637000 − 528586000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 158051000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 518.42 million
Exact value

Exact value: 518419000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 518419000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 402.38 million
Exact value

Exact value: 402377000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 402377000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 116.04 million
Calculation and evidence

518419000 − 402377000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 116042000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 109.02 million
Exact value

Exact value: 109018000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 109018000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 215.66 million
Exact value

Exact value: 215661000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 215661000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 106.64 million
Calculation and evidence

109018000 − 215661000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -106643000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
−USD 283.86 million
Exact value

Exact value: -283859000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: -283859000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 185.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 185038000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 185038000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 468.9 million
Calculation and evidence

-283859000 − 185038000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -468897000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

51 filings · 3,113 latest values · 3,113 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001301063, 1301063, edgar:1301063

Also known as Alpha Natural Resources, Inc., Foundation Coal Holdings, Inc.