MERRIMACK PHARMACEUTICALS INC

EDGAR

57 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2011-07-08 to 2024-05-15. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

61.2 million USD

2016 Q4 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-67.82%

2016 Q4 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -147327000 USD Source
  • Operating Income: -105791000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 144273000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 83033000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-30.9 million USD

2016 Q4 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -170241000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -139344000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
234 million USD Source
Exact value

234160000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
15 million USD Source
Exact value

15000000 USD

Shares outstanding
14.5 million shares Source
Exact value

14532000 shares

Reported share-count change

1.94% · 277 thousand shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 14255000 shares · 2023-03-31· Source
  • 14532000 shares · 2024-03-31· Source

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

144 million USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 21281000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 33681000 USD · 2016-04-01 – 2016-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 28071000 USD · 2016-07-01 – 2016-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 144273000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 83033000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-09-30 Source

Net income

-3.05 million USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 249000 USD · 2020-01-01 – 2020-03-31 Source
  • Net income: -1163000 USD · 2020-04-01 – 2020-06-30 Source
  • Net income: -1006000 USD · 2020-07-01 – 2020-09-30 Source
  • Net income: -3028000 USD · 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31 Source
  • Net income: -1900000 USD · 2020-01-01 – 2020-09-30 Source

Operating cash flow

-2.44 million USD

2023-04-01 – 2024-03-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: -1000000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -356000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -1200000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -1000000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -1500000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -1200000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -1300000 USD · 2024-01-01 – 2024-03-31 Source

Capital expenditure

118 thousand USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 16000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 118000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 16000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 118000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 118000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 118000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 118000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-09-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2024-05-15.

Financial data available through: 2023-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Operating income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2023-12-31
  • Net income: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2023-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Total assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2023-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2023-12-31
  • Current assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2023-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2023-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2023-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Shares outstanding: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2023-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Operating cash flow

    +USD 242,000

    Prior period

    −USD 1.74 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 1.5 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -1500000 − -1742000 = 242000 USD

    -1742000 USD · 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -1500000 USD · 2023-01-01 – 2023-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Revenue, Net income, Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

  • Revenue USD 144.27 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 6.91 million 4.8% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 190.29 million 132% of revenue
  • Other operating costs Derived USD 94.39 million 65% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 147.33 million −102% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 4.41 million 3.1% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 151.74 million −105% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow −USD 170.24 million −118% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 2.64 million 1.8% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 172.88 million −120% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2014 Operating loss: operating costs were 164% of revenue.
  • 2015 Operating loss: operating costs were 263% of revenue.
  • 2016 Operating loss: operating costs were 202% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31102756000 169012000 Derived -66256000 17035000 Derived -83291000 -40843000 Derived
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-3189258000 234339000 Derived -145081000 2876000 Derived -147957000 -117258000 Derived
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31144273000 291600000 Derived -147327000 4413000 Derived -151740000 -172881000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 144.3M 2016
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.155.8M116.9M77.9M39.0M0.02013201420152016
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2013Revenue47786000
2014Revenue102756000
2015Revenue89258000
2016Revenue144273000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

61.6% 2016
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.125%88%51%14%-23%2013201420152016
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2013Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2014Year over year115%
2015Year over year-13.1%
2016Year over year61.6%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -102.1% 2016
Net margin -105.2% 2016
Free cash flow margin -119.8% 2016
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.22%-58%-137%-216%-296%2013201420152016
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2013Operating margin-252.2%
2014Operating margin-64.5%
2015Operating margin-162.5%
2016Operating margin-102.1%
2013Net margin-274%
2014Net margin-81.1%
2015Net margin-165.8%
2016Net margin-105.2%
2013Free cash flow marginNot reported
2014Free cash flow margin-39.7%
2015Free cash flow margin-131.4%
2016Free cash flow margin-119.8%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD -170.2M 2016
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.13.6M-35.8M-85.1M-134.5M-183.9M2013201420152016
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2013Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2014Operating cash flow-34808000
2015Operating cash flow-105356000
2016Operating cash flow-170241000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -172.9M 2016
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.13.8M-36.3M-86.4M-136.6M-186.7M2013201420152016
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2013Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2014Free cash flow-40843000
2015Free cash flow-117258000
2016Free cash flow-172881000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

410.1% 2016
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.443%332%221%111%0%2013201420152016
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2013Liabilities / assets122.4%
2014Liabilities / assets164.4%
2015Liabilities / assets178.2%
2016Liabilities / assets410.1%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.65× 2016
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.12×2.34×1.56×0.78×0.00×2013201420152016
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2013Current assets / current liabilities2.89×
2014Current assets / current liabilities1.19×
2015Current assets / current liabilities1.94×
2016Current assets / current liabilities0.65×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
−USD 83.29 million
Exact value

Exact value: -83291000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: -83291000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 34.81 million
Exact value

Exact value: -34808000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: -34808000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 6.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6035000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 6035000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 40.84 million
Calculation and evidence

-34808000 − 6035000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -40843000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
−USD 147.96 million
Exact value

Exact value: -147957000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: -147957000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 105.36 million
Exact value

Exact value: -105356000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: -105356000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 11.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 11902000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 11902000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 117.26 million
Calculation and evidence

-105356000 − 11902000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -117258000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
−USD 151.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: -151740000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: -151740000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 170.24 million
Exact value

Exact value: -170241000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: -170241000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2640000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 2640000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 172.88 million
Calculation and evidence

-170241000 − 2640000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -172881000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
USD 472.03 million
Exact value

Exact value: 472028000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 472028000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 125.81 million
Exact value

Exact value: -125811000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: -125811000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 915,000
Exact value

Exact value: 915000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 915000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 126.73 million
Calculation and evidence

-125811000 − 915000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -126726000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
−USD 40.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: -40506000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: -40506000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 65.59 million
Exact value

Exact value: -65588000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: -65588000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 118,000
Exact value

Exact value: 118000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 118000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 65.71 million
Calculation and evidence

-65588000 − 118000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -65706000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31
−USD 17.33 million
Exact value

Exact value: -17332000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: -17332000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 31.37 million
Exact value

Exact value: -31368000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: -31368000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2020 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31
−USD 3.03 million
Exact value

Exact value: -3028000 USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: -3028000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 4.63 million
Exact value

Exact value: -4625000 USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: -4625000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2021 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
−USD 218,000
Exact value

Exact value: -218000 USD

2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31: -218000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2022 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
−USD 1.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: -1742000 USD

2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31: -1742000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2023 2023-01-01 – 2023-12-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
−USD 1.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: -1500000 USD

2023-01-01 – 2023-12-31: -1500000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

57 filings · 2,914 latest values · 2,914 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001274792, 1274792, MACK, edgar:1274792

Also known as MERRIMACK PHARMACEUTICALS INC, MERRIMACK PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.