FREESCALE SEMICONDUCTOR INC

EDGAR

27 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2004-08-11 to 2011-07-01. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

1.02 billion USD

2010-04-02 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 1020000000 USD Source

Operating margin

-5.88%

2010-04-02 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -60000000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 1020000000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

26 million USD

2010-04-02 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 26000000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-16 million USD

2010-04-02 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 26000000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 42000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
1.19 billion USD Source
Exact value

1187000000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2011-07-01.

Financial data available through: 2009-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Operating income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Net income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Total assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Current assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2009-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -32.9%

    Prior period

    USD 5.23 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 3.51 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    3508000000 − 5226000000 = -1718000000 USD

    5226000000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    3508000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +USD 8.67 billion

    Prior period

    −USD 7.91 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 753 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    753000000 − -7913000000 = 8666000000 USD

    -7913000000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    753000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -81.5%

    Prior period

    USD 410 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 76 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    76000000 − 410000000 = -334000000 USD

    410000000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    76000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -64.4%

    Prior period

    USD 239 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 85 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    85000000 − 239000000 = -154000000 USD

    239000000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    85000000 USD · 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31

  • Revenue USD 3.51 billion 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 2.56 billion 73% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 1.33 billion 38% of revenue
  • Other operating costs Derived USD 831 million 24% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 1.21 billion −35% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −USD 1.97 billion −56% of revenue
  • Net income USD 753 million 21% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 76 million 2.2% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 85 million 2.4% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 9 million −0.3% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2003 Operating loss: operating costs were 106% of revenue.
  • 2004 95%
  • 2005 9.6%90%
  • 2007 Operating loss: operating costs were 130% of revenue.
  • 2008 Operating loss: operating costs were 249% of revenue.
  • 2009 Operating loss: operating costs were 135% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-314864000000 5168000000 Derived -304000000 62000000 Derived -366000000 248000000 Derived
Source
2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-315715000000 5449000000 Derived 266000000 55000000 Derived 211000000 750000000 Derived
Source
2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-315843000000 5243000000 Derived 600000000 37000000 Derived 563000000 781000000 Derived
Source
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-315722000000 7435000000 Derived -1713000000 -106000000 Derived -1607000000 99000000 Derived
Source
2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-315226000000 13027000000 Derived -7801000000 112000000 Derived -7913000000 171000000 Derived
Source
2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-313508000000 4721000000 Derived -1213000000 -1966000000 Derived 753000000 -9000000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 3.5B 2009
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.6.3B4.7B3.2B1.6B0.0200320072009
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2003Revenue4864000000
2004Revenue5715000000
2005Revenue5843000000
2007Revenue5722000000
2008Revenue5226000000
2009Revenue3508000000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-32.9% 2009
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.22%7%-8%-22%-37%200320072009
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2004Year over year17.5%
2005Year over year2.2%
2007Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2008Year over year-8.7%
2009Year over year-32.9%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -34.6% 2009
Net margin 21.5% 2009
Free cash flow margin -0.3% 2009
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.35%-15%-65%-115%-165%200320072009
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003Operating margin-6.3%
2004Operating margin4.7%
2005Operating margin10.3%
2007Operating margin-29.9%
2008Operating margin-149.3%
2009Operating margin-34.6%
2003Net margin-7.5%
2004Net margin3.7%
2005Net margin9.6%
2007Net margin-28.1%
2008Net margin-151.4%
2009Net margin21.5%
2003Free cash flow margin5.1%
2004Free cash flow margin13.1%
2005Free cash flow margin13.4%
2007Free cash flow margin1.7%
2008Free cash flow margin3.3%
2009Free cash flow margin-0.3%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 76M 2009
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.4B1.0B686.9M343.4M0.0200320072009
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2003Operating cash flow558000000
2004Operating cash flow1272000000
2005Operating cash flow1272000000
2007Operating cash flow426000000
2008Operating cash flow410000000
2009Operating cash flow76000000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -9M 2009
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.844.2M615.1M386.0M156.9M-72.2M200320072009
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2003Free cash flow248000000
2004Free cash flow750000000
2005Free cash flow781000000
2007Free cash flow99000000
2008Free cash flow171000000
2009Free cash flow-9000000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

175.8% 2009
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.190%142%95%47%0%2003-12-3120072009
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2004-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2005-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2007Liabilities / assets79%
2008Liabilities / assets170.1%
2009Liabilities / assets175.8%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

3.01× 2009
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.71×2.78×1.85×0.93×0.00×200320072009
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003Current assets / current liabilities2.28×
2004Current assets / current liabilities3.43×
2005Current assets / current liabilities2.61×
2007Current assets / current liabilities2.65×
2008Current assets / current liabilities2.99×
2009Current assets / current liabilities3.01×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2002 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31
−USD 1.77 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -1767000000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: -1767000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 36 million
Exact value

Exact value: -36000000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: -36000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 220 million
Exact value

Exact value: 220000000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: 220000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 256 million
Calculation and evidence

-36000000 − 220000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -256000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31
−USD 366 million
Exact value

Exact value: -366000000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: -366000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 558 million
Exact value

Exact value: 558000000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 558000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 310 million
Exact value

Exact value: 310000000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 310000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 248 million
Calculation and evidence

558000000 − 310000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 248000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31
USD 211 million
Exact value

Exact value: 211000000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 211000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.27 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1272000000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 1272000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 522 million
Exact value

Exact value: 522000000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 522000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 750 million
Calculation and evidence

1272000000 − 522000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 750000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2005 2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31
USD 563 million
Exact value

Exact value: 563000000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 563000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.27 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1272000000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 1272000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 491 million
Exact value

Exact value: 491000000 USD

2005-01-01 – 2005-12-31: 491000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 781 million
Calculation and evidence

1272000000 − 491000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 781000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31
−USD 1.61 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -1607000000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: -1607000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 426 million
Exact value

Exact value: 426000000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 426000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 327 million
Exact value

Exact value: 327000000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 327000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 99 million
Calculation and evidence

426000000 − 327000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 99000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31
−USD 7.91 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -7913000000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: -7913000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 410 million
Exact value

Exact value: 410000000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 410000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 239 million
Exact value

Exact value: 239000000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 239000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 171 million
Calculation and evidence

410000000 − 239000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 171000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31
USD 753 million
Exact value

Exact value: 753000000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 753000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 76000000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 76000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 85 million
Exact value

Exact value: 85000000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 85000000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 9 million
Calculation and evidence

76000000 − 85000000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -9000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

27 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001272547, 1272547, edgar:1272547

Also known as SPS SPINCO INC