SILVER SPRING NETWORKS INC

EDGAR

97 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2011-07-07 to 2017-12-22. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

47.6 million USD

2017 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-56.3%

2017 Q3 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -26781000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 47568000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

7.51 million USD

2017 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 12040000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 4533000 USD Source

Free cash flow

6.77 million USD

2017 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 12040000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 4533000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 2491000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 1750000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
58.9 million USD Source
Exact value

58865000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
54.1 million shares Source
Exact value

54127000 shares

Reported share-count change

4.34% · 2.25 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 51878000 shares · 2016-09-30· Source
  • 54127000 shares · 2017-09-30· Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2017-12-22.

Financial data available through: 2016-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Operating income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Net income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Total assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Current assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • Shares outstanding: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -36.5%

    Prior period

    USD 489.56 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 311.01 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    311008000 − 489559000 = -178551000 USD

    489559000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    311008000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -127%

    Prior period

    USD 79.99 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 21.63 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -21629000 − 79986000 = -101615000 USD

    79986000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -21629000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +5.5%

    Prior period

    USD 19.69 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 20.76 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    20762000 − 19687000 = 1075000 USD

    19687000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    20762000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +363.9%

    Prior period

    USD 5.35 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 24.82 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    24816000 − 5350000 = 19466000 USD

    5350000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    24816000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

  • Revenue USD 311.01 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 172.81 million 56% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 158.12 million 51% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 19.92 million −6.4% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 1.71 million 0.5% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 21.63 million −7% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 20.76 million 6.7% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 24.82 million 8% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 4.05 million −1.3% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2011 Operating loss: operating costs were 140% of revenue.
  • 2012 Operating loss: operating costs were 145% of revenue.
  • 2013 Operating loss: operating costs were 113% of revenue.
  • 2014 Operating loss: operating costs were 146% of revenue.
  • 2015 16%83%
  • 2016 Operating loss: operating costs were 106% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31237050000 332280000 Derived -95230000 -2871000 Derived -92359000 -32580000 Derived
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31196737000 285381000 Derived -88644000 1073000 Derived -89717000 -29132000 Derived
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31326858000 368613000 Derived -41755000 25052000 Derived -66807000 -3936000 Derived
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31191288000 279159000 Derived -87871000 1299000 Derived -89170000 -14838000 Derived
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31489559000 406606000 Derived 82953000 2967000 Derived 79986000 14337000 Derived
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31311008000 330932000 Derived -19924000 1705000 Derived -21629000 -4054000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 311M 2016
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.528.7M396.5M264.4M132.2M0.0201120142016
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2011Revenue237050000
2012Revenue196737000
2013Revenue326858000
2014Revenue191288000
2015Revenue489559000
2016Revenue311008000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-36.5% 2016
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.172%114%57%-0%-57%201120142016
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2011Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2012Year over year-17%
2013Year over year66.1%
2014Year over year-41.5%
2015Year over year155.9%
2016Year over year-36.5%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -6.4% 2016
Net margin -7% 2016
Free cash flow margin -1.3% 2016
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.22%4%-15%-33%-52%201120142016
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2011Operating margin-40.2%
2012Operating margin-45.1%
2013Operating margin-12.8%
2014Operating margin-45.9%
2015Operating margin16.9%
2016Operating margin-6.4%
2011Net margin-39%
2012Net margin-45.6%
2013Net margin-20.4%
2014Net margin-46.6%
2015Net margin16.3%
2016Net margin-7%
2011Free cash flow margin-13.7%
2012Free cash flow margin-14.8%
2013Free cash flow margin-1.2%
2014Free cash flow margin-7.8%
2015Free cash flow margin2.9%
2016Free cash flow margin-1.3%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 20.8M 2016
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.24.7M10.4M-3.9M-18.1M-32.4M201120142016
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2011Operating cash flow-28492000
2012Operating cash flow-24278000
2013Operating cash flow14000
2014Operating cash flow-8765000
2015Operating cash flow19687000
2016Operating cash flow20762000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -4.1M 2016
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.18.1M4.5M-9.1M-22.7M-36.3M201120142016
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2011Free cash flow-32580000
2012Free cash flow-29132000
2013Free cash flow-3936000
2014Free cash flow-14838000
2015Free cash flow14337000
2016Free cash flow-4054000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

107.1% 2016
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.134%101%67%34%0%2011-12-3120142016
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2011-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2012-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2013-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2014Liabilities / assets124.4%
2015Liabilities / assets107.4%
2016Liabilities / assets107.1%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.04× 2016
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.70×1.27×0.85×0.42×0.00×2011-12-3120142016
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2011-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2012Current assets / current liabilities1.3×
2013Current assets / current liabilities1.57×
2014Current assets / current liabilities1.54×
2015Current assets / current liabilities1.01×
2016Current assets / current liabilities1.04×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
−USD 92.36 million
Exact value

Exact value: -92359000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: -92359000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 28.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: -28492000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: -28492000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.09 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4088000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 4088000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 32.58 million
Calculation and evidence

-28492000 − 4088000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -32580000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
−USD 89.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: -89717000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: -89717000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 24.28 million
Exact value

Exact value: -24278000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: -24278000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.85 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4854000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 4854000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 29.13 million
Calculation and evidence

-24278000 − 4854000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -29132000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
−USD 66.81 million
Exact value

Exact value: -66807000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: -66807000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 14,000
Exact value

Exact value: 14000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 14000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.95 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3950000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 3950000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 3.94 million
Calculation and evidence

14000 − 3950000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -3936000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
−USD 89.17 million
Exact value

Exact value: -89170000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: -89170000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 8.77 million
Exact value

Exact value: -8765000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: -8765000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 6.07 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6073000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 6073000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 14.84 million
Calculation and evidence

-8765000 − 6073000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -14838000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
USD 79.99 million
Exact value

Exact value: 79986000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 79986000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 19.69 million
Exact value

Exact value: 19687000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 19687000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 5.35 million
Exact value

Exact value: 5350000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 5350000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 14.34 million
Calculation and evidence

19687000 − 5350000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 14337000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
−USD 21.63 million
Exact value

Exact value: -21629000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: -21629000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 20.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 20762000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 20762000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 24.82 million
Exact value

Exact value: 24816000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 24816000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 4.05 million
Calculation and evidence

20762000 − 24816000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -4054000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

97 filings · 2,378 latest values · 2,378 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001180079, 1180079, SSNI, edgar:1180079, ssni

Also known as Itron Networked Solutions, Inc., REAL TIME TECHCOMM INC, SILVER SPRING NETWORKS INC