Allied World Assurance Co Holdings, AG

EDGAR

46 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2006-08-14 to 2017-04-27. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

639 million USD

2017 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

0.58%

2017 Q1 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 3700000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 639200000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

195 million USD

2017 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 195400000 USD Source

Free cash flow

194 million USD

2017 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 195400000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 1000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
1.28 billion USD Source
Exact value

1284900000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
822 million USD Source
Exact value

822000000 USD

Shares outstanding
87.5 million shares Source
Exact value

87483715 shares

Reported share-count change

-2.62% · -2.36 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 89840448 shares · 2016-03-31· Source
  • 87483715 shares · 2017-03-31· Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2017-04-27.

Financial data available through: 2016-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Operating income: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Net income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Total assets: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • current assets: No compatible figures in this window
  • current liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31
  • Shares outstanding: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +1.2%

    Prior period

    USD 2.55 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.58 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2576400000 − 2546400000 = 30000000 USD

    2546400000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2576400000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +204.3%

    Prior period

    USD 83.9 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 255.3 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    255300000 − 83900000 = 171400000 USD

    83900000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    255300000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -22.1%

    Prior period

    USD 512.8 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 399.3 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    399300000 − 512800000 = -113500000 USD

    512800000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    399300000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -89%

    Prior period

    USD 31.8 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 3.5 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    3500000 − 31800000 = -28300000 USD

    31800000 USD · 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    3500000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

  • Revenue USD 2.58 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 2.48 billion 96% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 96.6 million 3.7% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −USD 158.7 million −6.2% of revenue
  • Net income USD 255.3 million 9.9% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 399.3 million 15% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 3.5 million 0.1% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 395.8 million 15% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2010 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2011 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2012 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2013 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2014 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2015 95%
  • 2016 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-311890048000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable665005000 441688000 Derived
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-311764761000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable274548000 538289000 Derived
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-312222475000 2125884000 Derived 96591000 -396416000 Derived 493007000 626224000 Derived
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-312223000000 1945300000 Derived 277700000 -140300000 Derived 418000000 109200000 Derived
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-312450700000 2134500000 Derived 316200000 -174100000 Derived 490300000 357200000 Derived
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-312546400000 2428700000 Derived 117700000 33800000 Derived 83900000 481000000 Derived
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-312576400000 2479800000 Derived 96600000 -158700000 Derived 255300000 395800000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 2.6B 2016
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.8B2.1B1.4B695.6M0.0201020132016
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Revenue1890048000
2011Revenue1764761000
2012Revenue2222475000
2013Revenue2223000000
2014Revenue2450700000
2015Revenue2546400000
2016Revenue2576400000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

1.2% 2016
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.28.5%19.1%9.7%0.2%-9.2%201020132016
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2011Year over year-6.6%
2012Year over year25.9%
2013Year over year0%
2014Year over year10.2%
2015Year over year3.9%
2016Year over year1.2%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 3.7% 2016
Net margin 9.9% 2016
Free cash flow margin 15.4% 2016
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.38.0%28.5%19.0%9.5%0.0%2010-12-3120132016
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2011-12-31Operating marginNot reported
2012Operating margin4.3%
2013Operating margin12.5%
2014Operating margin12.9%
2015Operating margin4.6%
2016Operating margin3.7%
2010Net margin35.2%
2011Net margin15.6%
2012Net margin22.2%
2013Net margin18.8%
2014Net margin20%
2015Net margin3.3%
2016Net margin9.9%
2010Free cash flow margin23.4%
2011Free cash flow margin30.5%
2012Free cash flow margin28.2%
2013Free cash flow margin4.9%
2014Free cash flow margin14.6%
2015Free cash flow margin18.9%
2016Free cash flow margin15.4%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 399.3M 2016
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.679.8M509.8M339.9M169.9M0.0201020132016
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Operating cash flow451264000
2011Operating cash flow548108000
2012Operating cash flow629438000
2013Operating cash flow114500000
2014Operating cash flow416900000
2015Operating cash flow512800000
2016Operating cash flow399300000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 395.8M 2016
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.676.3M507.2M338.2M169.1M0.0201020132016
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Free cash flow441688000
2011Free cash flow538289000
2012Free cash flow626224000
2013Free cash flow109200000
2014Free cash flow357200000
2015Free cash flow481000000
2016Free cash flow395800000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

73% 2016
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.80%60%40%20%0%2010-12-3120132016
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2011Liabilities / assets71.7%
2012Liabilities / assets72.3%
2013Liabilities / assets70.5%
2014Liabilities / assets69.6%
2015Liabilities / assets73.9%
2016Liabilities / assets73%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2011-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2012-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2013-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2014-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2015-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2016-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31
USD 665.01 million
Exact value

Exact value: 665005000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 665005000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 451.26 million
Exact value

Exact value: 451264000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 451264000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 9.58 million
Exact value

Exact value: 9576000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 9576000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 441.69 million
Calculation and evidence

451264000 − 9576000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 441688000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
USD 274.55 million
Exact value

Exact value: 274548000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 274548000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 548.11 million
Exact value

Exact value: 548108000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 548108000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 9.82 million
Exact value

Exact value: 9819000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 9819000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 538.29 million
Calculation and evidence

548108000 − 9819000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 538289000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
USD 493.01 million
Exact value

Exact value: 493007000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 493007000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 629.44 million
Exact value

Exact value: 629438000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 629438000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.21 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3214000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 3214000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 626.22 million
Calculation and evidence

629438000 − 3214000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 626224000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
USD 418 million
Exact value

Exact value: 418000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 418000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 114.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 114500000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 114500000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 5.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 5300000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 5300000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 109.2 million
Calculation and evidence

114500000 − 5300000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 109200000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
USD 490.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 490300000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 490300000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 416.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 416900000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 416900000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 59.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 59700000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 59700000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 357.2 million
Calculation and evidence

416900000 − 59700000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 357200000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
USD 83.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 83900000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 83900000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 512.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 512800000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 512800000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 31.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 31800000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 31800000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 481 million
Calculation and evidence

512800000 − 31800000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 481000000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
USD 255.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 255300000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 255300000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 399.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 399300000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 399300000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.5 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3500000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 3500000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 395.8 million
Calculation and evidence

399300000 − 3500000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 395800000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

46 filings · 2,333 latest values · 2,333 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001163348, 1163348, AWH, awh, edgar:1163348

Also known as ALLIED WORLD ASSURANCE CO HOLDINGS LTD, ALLIED WORLD ASSURANCE HOLDINGS LTD, Allied World Assurance Co Holdings, AG, Allied World Assurance Co Holdings, GmbH