Spire Inc

EDGAR

118 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2001-12-21 to 2026-08-05. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

814 million USD

2023 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

18.45%

2023 Q1 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 150200000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 814000000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-171 million USD

2023 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -170800000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-326 million USD

2023 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -170800000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 154800000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
4.8 million USD Source
Exact value

4800000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
52.5 million shares Source
Exact value

52500000 shares

Reported share-count change

1.55% · 800 thousand shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 51700000 shares · 2021-12-31· Source
  • 52500000 shares · 2022-12-31· Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2026-08-05.

Financial data available through: 2013-09-30.

Financial coverage is incomplete. Newer filings are recorded, but comparable financial figures for those periods are not available here yet.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-09-30
  • Operating income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-09-30
  • Net income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-09-30
  • Operating cash flow: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-09-30
  • Capital expenditure: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-09-30
  • Total assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-09-30
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-09-30
  • Current liabilities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-09-30
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-09-30
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -9.6%

    Prior period

    USD 1.13 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.02 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1017019000 − 1125475000 = -108456000 USD

    1125475000 USD · 2011-10-01 – 2012-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1017019000 USD · 2012-10-01 – 2013-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -15.8%

    Prior period

    USD 62.64 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 52.76 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    52758000 − 62640000 = -9882000 USD

    62640000 USD · 2011-10-01 – 2012-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    52758000 USD · 2012-10-01 – 2013-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +28%

    Prior period

    USD 128.1 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 163.91 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    163914000 − 128101000 = 35813000 USD

    128101000 USD · 2011-10-01 – 2012-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    163914000 USD · 2012-10-01 – 2013-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +20.2%

    Prior period

    USD 108.84 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 130.79 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    130788000 − 108843000 = 21945000 USD

    108843000 USD · 2011-10-01 – 2012-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    130788000 USD · 2012-10-01 – 2013-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2013 2012-10-01 – 2013-09-30

  • Revenue USD 1.02 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 920.53 million 91% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 96.49 million 9.5% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 43.74 million 4.3% of revenue
  • Net income USD 52.76 million 5.2% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 163.91 million 16% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 130.79 million 13% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 33.13 million 3.3% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2004 94%
  • 2005 94%
  • 2006 95%
  • 2007 95%
  • 2011 92%
  • 2012 90%
  • 2013 91%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2004 2003-10-01 – 2004-09-301250320000 1169759000 Derived 80561000 44443000 Derived 36118000 32808000 Derived
Source
2005 2004-10-01 – 2005-09-301597032000 1507203000 Derived 89829000 49759000 Derived 40070000 42834000 Derived
Source
2006 2005-10-01 – 2006-09-301997551000 1894276000 Derived 103275000 54286000 Derived 48989000 -71682000 Derived
Source
2007 2006-10-01 – 2007-09-302021594000 1916328000 Derived 105266000 55495000 Derived 49771000 22421000 Derived
Source
2011 2010-10-01 – 2011-09-301576360000 1458113000 Derived 118247000 54422000 Derived 63825000 99549000 Derived
Source
2012 2011-10-01 – 2012-09-301125475000 1014873000 Derived 110602000 47962000 Derived 62640000 19258000 Derived
Source
2013 2012-10-01 – 2013-09-301017019000 920525000 Derived 96494000 43736000 Derived 52758000 33126000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 1B 2013
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.2B1.6B1.1B545.8M0.0200420072013
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2004Revenue1250320000
2005Revenue1597032000
2006Revenue1997551000
2007Revenue2021594000
2011Revenue1576360000
2012Revenue1125475000
2013Revenue1017019000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-9.6% 2013
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.32%16%-0%-17%-33%200420072013
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2005Year over year27.7%
2006Year over year25.1%
2007Year over year1.2%
2011Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2012Year over year-28.6%
2013Year over year-9.6%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 9.5% 2013
Net margin 5.2% 2013
Free cash flow margin 3.3% 2013
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.10.9%7.0%3.1%-0.8%-4.7%200420072013
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004Operating margin6.4%
2005Operating margin5.6%
2006Operating margin5.2%
2007Operating margin5.2%
2011Operating margin7.5%
2012Operating margin9.8%
2013Operating margin9.5%
2004Net margin2.9%
2005Net margin2.5%
2006Net margin2.5%
2007Net margin2.5%
2011Net margin4%
2012Net margin5.6%
2013Net margin5.2%
2004Free cash flow margin2.6%
2005Free cash flow margin2.7%
2006Free cash flow margin-3.6%
2007Free cash flow margin1.1%
2011Free cash flow margin6.3%
2012Free cash flow margin1.7%
2013Free cash flow margin3.3%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 163.9M 2013
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.181.2M130.3M79.5M28.6M-22.3M200420072013
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2004Operating cash flow84117000
2005Operating cash flow103037000
2006Operating cash flow-8266000
2007Operating cash flow81291000
2011Operating cash flow167187000
2012Operating cash flow128101000
2013Operating cash flow163914000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 33.1M 2013
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.113.2M63.6M13.9M-35.7M-85.4M200420072013
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2004Free cash flow32808000
2005Free cash flow42834000
2006Free cash flow-71682000
2007Free cash flow22421000
2011Free cash flow99549000
2012Free cash flow19258000
2013Free cash flow33126000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2005-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2006-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2007-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2011-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2012-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2013-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.35× 2013
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.47×1.10×0.73×0.37×0.00×2004-09-3020072013
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004-09-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2005Current assets / current liabilities1.16×
2006Current assets / current liabilities1.07×
2007Current assets / current liabilities0.99×
2011-09-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2012Current assets / current liabilities1.36×
2013Current assets / current liabilities1.35×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2004 2003-10-01 – 2004-09-30
USD 36.12 million
Exact value

Exact value: 36118000 USD

2003-10-01 – 2004-09-30: 36118000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 84.12 million
Exact value

Exact value: 84117000 USD

2003-10-01 – 2004-09-30: 84117000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 51.31 million
Exact value

Exact value: 51309000 USD

2003-10-01 – 2004-09-30: 51309000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 32.81 million
Calculation and evidence

84117000 − 51309000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 32808000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2005 2004-10-01 – 2005-09-30
USD 40.07 million
Exact value

Exact value: 40070000 USD

2004-10-01 – 2005-09-30: 40070000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 103.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 103037000 USD

2004-10-01 – 2005-09-30: 103037000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 60.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 60203000 USD

2004-10-01 – 2005-09-30: 60203000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 42.83 million
Calculation and evidence

103037000 − 60203000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 42834000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2006 2005-10-01 – 2006-09-30
USD 48.99 million
Exact value

Exact value: 48989000 USD

2005-10-01 – 2006-09-30: 48989000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 8.27 million
Exact value

Exact value: -8266000 USD

2005-10-01 – 2006-09-30: -8266000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 63.42 million
Exact value

Exact value: 63416000 USD

2005-10-01 – 2006-09-30: 63416000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 71.68 million
Calculation and evidence

-8266000 − 63416000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -71682000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2007 2006-10-01 – 2007-09-30
USD 49.77 million
Exact value

Exact value: 49771000 USD

2006-10-01 – 2007-09-30: 49771000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 81.29 million
Exact value

Exact value: 81291000 USD

2006-10-01 – 2007-09-30: 81291000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 58.87 million
Exact value

Exact value: 58870000 USD

2006-10-01 – 2007-09-30: 58870000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 22.42 million
Calculation and evidence

81291000 − 58870000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 22421000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2010-10-01 – 2011-09-30
USD 63.83 million
Exact value

Exact value: 63825000 USD

2010-10-01 – 2011-09-30: 63825000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 167.19 million
Exact value

Exact value: 167187000 USD

2010-10-01 – 2011-09-30: 167187000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 67.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: 67638000 USD

2010-10-01 – 2011-09-30: 67638000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 99.55 million
Calculation and evidence

167187000 − 67638000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 99549000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2011-10-01 – 2012-09-30
USD 62.64 million
Exact value

Exact value: 62640000 USD

2011-10-01 – 2012-09-30: 62640000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 128.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 128101000 USD

2011-10-01 – 2012-09-30: 128101000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 108.84 million
Exact value

Exact value: 108843000 USD

2011-10-01 – 2012-09-30: 108843000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 19.26 million
Calculation and evidence

128101000 − 108843000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 19258000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2012-10-01 – 2013-09-30
USD 52.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 52758000 USD

2012-10-01 – 2013-09-30: 52758000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 163.91 million
Exact value

Exact value: 163914000 USD

2012-10-01 – 2013-09-30: 163914000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 130.79 million
Exact value

Exact value: 130788000 USD

2012-10-01 – 2013-09-30: 130788000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 33.13 million
Calculation and evidence

163914000 − 130788000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 33126000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

118 filings · 2,107 latest values · 2,107 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001126956, 1126956, SR, SRJN, edgar:1126956

Also known as LACLEDE GROUP INC, Laclede Group Inc, Laclede Group Inc., SPIRE INC, Spire Inc, Spire Inc.