KERYX BIOPHARMACEUTICALS INC

EDGAR

129 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2000-09-11 to 2018-11-13. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

28 million USD

2018 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-52.38%

2018 Q3 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -14686000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 28036000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-23.4 million USD

2018 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -78178000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -54793000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-23.4 million USD

2018 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -78178000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -54793000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 52000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 52000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
41.1 million USD Source
Exact value

41146000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
120 million shares Source
Exact value

120384764 shares

Reported share-count change

1.04% · 1.24 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 119144790 shares · 2017-09-30· Source
  • 120384764 shares · 2018-09-30· Source

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

94.2 million USD

2017-10-01 – 2018-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 18682000 USD · 2017-10-01 – 2017-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 21751000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 25749000 USD · 2018-04-01 – 2018-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 28036000 USD · 2018-07-01 – 2018-09-30 Source

Net income

-90.8 million USD

2017-10-01 – 2018-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: -30429000 USD · 2017-10-01 – 2017-12-31 Source
  • Net income: -21896000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-03-31 Source
  • Net income: -21518000 USD · 2018-04-01 – 2018-06-30 Source
  • Net income: -16995000 USD · 2018-07-01 – 2018-09-30 Source

Operating cash flow

-98.4 million USD

2017-10-01 – 2018-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: -93489000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -73313000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -33430000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -54793000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -33430000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -78178000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -54793000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-06-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2018-11-13.

Financial data available through: 2017-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Operating income: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Net income: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Total assets: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Current assets: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 9 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • Shares outstanding: 8 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +89.6%

    Prior period

    USD 31.98 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 60.64 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    60641000 − 31983000 = 28658000 USD

    31983000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    60641000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    −USD 2.35 million

    Prior period

    −USD 161.1 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 163.44 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -163440000 − -161095000 = -2345000 USD

    -161095000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -163440000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    −USD 6.89 million

    Prior period

    −USD 86.6 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 93.49 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -93489000 − -86604000 = -6885000 USD

    -86604000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -93489000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -39.4%

    Prior period

    USD 2.07 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.26 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1257000 − 2074000 = -817000 USD

    2074000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1257000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

  • Revenue USD 60.64 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 162.33 million 268% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 101.69 million −168% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 61.75 million 102% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 163.44 million −270% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow −USD 93.49 million −154% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 1.26 million 2.1% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 94.75 million −156% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2009 Net income was higher than operating income, so the split is not drawn.
  • 2010 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2011 Operating loss: operating costs were 675% of revenue.
  • 2012 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2013 Operating loss: operating costs were 773% of revenue.
  • 2014 Operating loss: operating costs were 1,128% of revenue.
  • 2015 Operating loss: operating costs were 912% of revenue.
  • 2016 Operating loss: operating costs were 484% of revenue.
  • 2017 Operating loss: operating costs were 268% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-3125191000 15376000 Derived 9815000 -670000 Derived 10485000 -5520000 Derived
Source
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-310 21215000 Derived -21215000 -884000 Derived -20331000 -16231000 Derived
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-315000000 33749000 Derived -28749000 -626000 Derived -28123000 -22879000 Derived
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-310 27079000 Derived -27079000 -4358000 Derived -22721000 -24787000 Derived
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-317000000 54083000 Derived -47083000 -351000 Derived -46732000 -34665000 Derived
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-3110825000 122054000 Derived -111229000 289000 Derived -111518000 -82490000 Derived
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-3113680000 124748000 Derived -111068000 12077000 Derived -123145000 -130234000 Derived
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-3131983000 154746000 Derived -122763000 38332000 Derived -161095000 -88678000 Derived
Source
2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-3160641000 162332000 Derived -101691000 61749000 Derived -163440000 -94746000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 60.6M 2017
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.65.5M49.1M32.7M16.4M0.0200920132017
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2009Revenue25191000
2010Revenue0
2011Revenue5000000
2012Revenue0
2013Revenue7000000
2014Revenue10825000
2015Revenue13680000
2016Revenue31983000
2017Revenue60641000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

89.6% 2017
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.152%85%17%-51%-119%200920132017
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2010Year over year-100%
2011Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2012Year over year-100%
2013Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2014Year over year54.6%
2015Year over year26.4%
2016Year over year133.8%
2017Year over year89.6%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -167.7% 2017
Net margin -269.5% 2017
Free cash flow margin -156.2% 2017
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.127%-183%-494%-805%-1,116%200920132017
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009Operating margin39%
2010Operating marginNot reported
2011Operating margin-575%
2012Operating marginNot reported
2013Operating margin-672.6%
2014Operating margin-1,027.5%
2015Operating margin-811.9%
2016Operating margin-383.8%
2017Operating margin-167.7%
2009Net margin41.6%
2010Net marginNot reported
2011Net margin-562.5%
2012Net marginNot reported
2013Net margin-667.6%
2014Net margin-1,030.2%
2015Net margin-900.2%
2016Net margin-503.7%
2017Net margin-269.5%
2009Free cash flow margin-21.9%
2010Free cash flow marginNot reported
2011Free cash flow margin-457.6%
2012Free cash flow marginNot reported
2013Free cash flow margin-495.2%
2014Free cash flow margin-762%
2015Free cash flow margin-952%
2016Free cash flow margin-277.3%
2017Free cash flow margin-156.2%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD -93.5M 2017
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.10.2M-26.8M-63.7M-100.7M-137.7M200920132017
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2009Operating cash flow-5516000
2010Operating cash flow-16208000
2011Operating cash flow-22822000
2012Operating cash flow-24763000
2013Operating cash flow-34319000
2014Operating cash flow-81001000
2015Operating cash flow-127457000
2016Operating cash flow-86604000
2017Operating cash flow-93489000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -94.7M 2017
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.10.4M-27.3M-65.1M-102.9M-140.7M200920132017
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2009Free cash flow-5520000
2010Free cash flow-16231000
2011Free cash flow-22879000
2012Free cash flow-24787000
2013Free cash flow-34665000
2014Free cash flow-82490000
2015Free cash flow-130234000
2016Free cash flow-88678000
2017Free cash flow-94746000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

108.9% 2017
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.118%88%59%29%0%200920132017
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009Liabilities / assets21.4%
2010Liabilities / assets27.6%
2011Liabilities / assets28.6%
2012Liabilities / assets43.5%
2013Liabilities / assets25.3%
2014Liabilities / assets29.1%
2015Liabilities / assets66.4%
2016Liabilities / assets105.9%
2017Liabilities / assets108.9%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

3.12× 2017
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.6.66×4.99×3.33×1.66×0.00×200920132017
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2009Current assets / current liabilities5.89×
2010Current assets / current liabilities4.64×
2011Current assets / current liabilities4.1×
2012Current assets / current liabilities1.88×
2013Current assets / current liabilities3.71×
2014Current assets / current liabilities3.36×
2015Current assets / current liabilities3.21×
2016Current assets / current liabilities6.17×
2017Current assets / current liabilities3.12×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31
USD 10.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 10485000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 10485000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 5.52 million
Exact value

Exact value: -5516000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: -5516000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4,000
Exact value

Exact value: 4000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 4000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 5.52 million
Calculation and evidence

-5516000 − 4000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -5520000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31
−USD 20.33 million
Exact value

Exact value: -20331000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: -20331000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 16.21 million
Exact value

Exact value: -16208000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: -16208000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 23,000
Exact value

Exact value: 23000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 23000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 16.23 million
Calculation and evidence

-16208000 − 23000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -16231000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
−USD 28.12 million
Exact value

Exact value: -28123000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: -28123000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 22.82 million
Exact value

Exact value: -22822000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: -22822000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 57,000
Exact value

Exact value: 57000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 57000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 22.88 million
Calculation and evidence

-22822000 − 57000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -22879000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
−USD 22.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: -22721000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: -22721000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 24.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: -24763000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: -24763000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 24,000
Exact value

Exact value: 24000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 24000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 24.79 million
Calculation and evidence

-24763000 − 24000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -24787000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
−USD 46.73 million
Exact value

Exact value: -46732000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: -46732000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 34.32 million
Exact value

Exact value: -34319000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: -34319000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 346,000
Exact value

Exact value: 346000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 346000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 34.67 million
Calculation and evidence

-34319000 − 346000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -34665000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
−USD 111.52 million
Exact value

Exact value: -111518000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: -111518000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 81 million
Exact value

Exact value: -81001000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: -81001000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1489000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 1489000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 82.49 million
Calculation and evidence

-81001000 − 1489000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -82490000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
−USD 123.15 million
Exact value

Exact value: -123145000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: -123145000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 127.46 million
Exact value

Exact value: -127457000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: -127457000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.78 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2777000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 2777000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 130.23 million
Calculation and evidence

-127457000 − 2777000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -130234000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
−USD 161.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: -161095000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: -161095000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 86.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: -86604000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: -86604000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.07 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2074000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 2074000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 88.68 million
Calculation and evidence

-86604000 − 2074000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -88678000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
−USD 163.44 million
Exact value

Exact value: -163440000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: -163440000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 93.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: -93489000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: -93489000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.26 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1257000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 1257000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 94.75 million
Calculation and evidence

-93489000 − 1257000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -94746000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

129 filings · 2,121 latest values · 2,121 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001114220, 1114220, KERX, edgar:1114220

Also known as KERYX BIOPHAMAEUTICALS INC, KERYX BIOPHARMACEUTICALS INC